We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beach view at a fair price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Ranked #13 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Beach view at a fair price”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This is not a luxury resort but for the price we paid for 2 nights, it was still a good deal. The location is great - right on the beach, proximity to all the water activities you need, beautiful view. It also helped that the Safeway is directly across the street so we stocked up on snacks and saved some money buying cheap food and eating it on the beach vs. going out for every meal. They have great hammocks amongst the pine trees overlooking the lake, Starbucks coffee in your room, and updated decor and flat screen TV's, and every room has a porch (albeit you may be looking at the parking lot). Downsides? The parking was a little tight, the bathrooms a little "tired", and there were no mini fridges in the rooms. They also denied our late check out request (check out is 11:00am). But all in all, a perfect home base for budget summer travel to Tahoe.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank USAGirl33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

862 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    380
    276
    121
    47
    38
See reviews for
332
345
23
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Not worth $300+ a night! Our bathroom smelled terribly and was full of mosquitos. The carpet in the room was filthy dirty and in desperate need of replacement. The worst part of our stay was that there was a rat trap right outside of our room. Not a mouse trap, but a large rat trap. During our three days there the rat trap was tipped on its side, allowing all of the poison to fall out. Not one employee made any effort to clean it up and it was still sitting there when we checked out yesterday. I definitely would not stay here again. For conditions like this they should be charging $60 a night. There was not enough parking in the lot for guests of the hotel/users of the marina, so we were out of luck for a parking spot on Saturday afternoon. Also, when I checked in the hotel clerk didn't even greet me with a hello! This place is a total dive. I am very sorry we stayed there.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank erinlinnea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

We loved this hotel. The staff was very friendly, the location was fantastic and the rooms were very clean. We brought our dog and was very pet friendly. The only reason I gave room 4 stars was we had 4 people 2 queen beds was a bit crowded with the dog but, overall no complaints. Wake up roll right out of your room to the beach. We can not wait to go back! Highly recommend !!!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mytravelingfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san francisco
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

This place is horrible. Our king beach front view room was a view of the parking lot and pier restaurant. I literally have been staring a mans crack who was pulling in his kayak. Wonderful way to spend a romantic getaway. They only offered to lower the price by $20 then finally $40 which will make our room an average of $220 a night. We would have never booked if we knew our room could look like this. Now everywhere else is booked. I wouldn't stay here if hell froze over. Take a look at the photos I posted.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank koganya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Loved it!!! Wake and walk the beach for some exercise, breakfast in the Tavern was delicious, reasonably priced and service was fast and tentative as I enjoy my coffee. Headed down the pier for some fun with water sports, and enjoyed the beach. The evenings never disappoint with gorgeous sunsets, and no better place to enjoy a glass of wine and have dinner than at the Beach House.
There is live music around the property~ we were so lucky to have a Johnny Cash band with a bar overlooking the lake. Danced for two hours, it was so fun!! I really felt relaxed and there was plenty of fun to be had for the kids as well as the parents~ HUGE!!!
I never even left the property~ what for? LOVED IT!!
The rooms have improved so much since the last time I was there, the service was notably eager to help and make my stay really lovely. I am currently trying to swing another trip up there before the summer ends~ HEAVEN on EARTH!!!

Room Tip: Lake View is the way to go~ it starts and ends your day in tranquility!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bJN62166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here over the July 4th weekend. The bar had just opened but the onsite restaurant was not ready. Excellent location but beach is hardly private, many locals and pets. Facility is pet friendly which is great except for a few yappy dogs in adjoining rooms. Staff was Truly Awesome! Ice machines are very limited but bar staff had no problem in loading you up. We will Definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rocketjayy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I had a great time at the resort, they recently renovated and it was pretty obvious. The rooms were clean and cute, the blackout curtains are key, especially if you get a lakefront room (which I recommend because you can scope out how busy the beach is) They had rentals for everything you would want and the dock was so beautiful to walk out to.
The grocery store across the street was very convenient and and the coffee place cup o cherries was AMAZING which was helpful because the coffee makers in the room weren't clean and it made the free Starbucks coffee taste horrible. The ice machine nearest to our room was broken but we found one by the pool that worked.
The location of this place is key, everything is less than 10 min away and a lot is walking distance which I always love.
We went to Fallen Leaf lake, an art fair nearby, and some cool restaurants!
Overall, our stay was pleasant and we would totally come back here.

Room Tip: Most restaurants close at 9/10 so plan for early dinners!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Devi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#15 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
0.7 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#7 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
1.5 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
0.8 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
1.6 mi away
Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel
Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel
#17 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe

Property: Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Address: 3411 Lake Tahoe Boulevard, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-7919 (Formerly Timber Cove Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#7 On the Beach Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#16 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#17 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 262
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TravelClick, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Timber Cove Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Best Western Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing