We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel
Ranked #17 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great location and friendly staff”
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Hotel is ideally situated within walking distance to the Heavenly Gondolas. Housekeeping and the food service people are very nice and friendly and always have a smile on their face and are very polite and respectful. The breakfast buffet is quite plentiful in choices and hearty in nature. The Manager's Reception is quite the happy hour (complimentary drinks - alcoholic and non-alcoholic) with Ann the bartender, being quite the social and amicable person. She really epitomized friendly and great customer service.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MLTNRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    262
    112
    43
    34
See reviews for
276
232
6
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013

Stayed many times over the years. Sad it is not Embassy Suites. Poor breakfast, cooks arguing with manager in front of guests. Very cheap happy hour snacks. Got locked out of our room hours before checkout. Had to get new keys twice. Housekeeping very friendly and accomodating. Loved seeing the same bar tender whose been there for years. Such a perfect location. Hope they get it together.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank poobachubbs3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, California, Usa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

We booked this room when the hotel billed itself as an Embassy Suites, we have stayed at this location on numerous occassions over the past 20 years, always appreciating the quality offered by Embassy Suites/Hilton. Unfortunately this time we were sadly disappointed. The breakfast was very poorly presented, the muffins were stale, eggs, potatoes cold, fruit tasteless. The hotel manager actually lied to us when we checked in, just to make us take the room. The rooms are definitely on the decline, with promises they plan to remodel. There is no longer an option to self park, so plan on an extra $25 per day for valet if you plan on staying. I too would have appreciated the option of knowing in advance it was no longer part of the Hilton Honors program, failure to inform us of this information took away our right to choose.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Susan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_MgrSLT, Guest Relations Manager at Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review and let us know about issues you encountered during your stay. Thank you as well for being very loyal to our property during the past 20 years, we sincerely appreciate your past and future support. The transition necessitated a departure from the “Cooked-to-order Eggs / Omelets” since that is a branded item, the cooked to order concept also created numerous complaints from guests due to the amount of time to cook with limited burners / space and the amount of guests we have. We will continue to offer a breakfast buffet; however, we will continue to make modifications as we move forward to ensure our guests have the best experience. We are currently offering a daily scrambled egg option and utilizing local purveyors for bagels, muffins, and breads which started just after your departure. We agree the rooms on the lower floors are not to our expectations, which is why we are investing $7 million to renovate our suites effective September 2, 2013. Unfortunately, with land restriction in Lake Tahoe, we do not have a self-park option, though I highly recommend readers to take advantage of our “Easy Access” package, or, purchase the Parking / Wi-Fi package at check-in. My apologies you did not get the email of our transition which went out on April 23rd, we had approximately 10,000 names on the distribution. We work hard to provide the finest lodging experience possible in Lake Tahoe and take any issues our guests have very seriously. We sincerely appreciate your business and hope you'll decide to return in the future. If you, or any other readers, have any additional comments or concerns, please feel free to email me: info@tahoeresorthotel.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

I stayed here during April 4th thru the 9th. The hotel is right in between Harrahs and Heavenly Village. When I booked, it was still the Embassy suites, so even though I did not get my rewards points, the hotel still honored all the perks Embassy normally provides, ie(managers reception and buffet breakfast). So you might want to check what they offer now that some time has passed and the property is now owned by someone else. Pro's:hot tub, indoor pool, buffet breakfast, managers happy hour reception. Nice property, the towels were plush and there were extra towels by the indoor pool & hot tub. Walking distance to casinos, shopping, and restaurants. Room was spacious. CONS: breakfast scrambled eggs always runny, only watermelon and cantelope as breakfast fruit ALL week. There is ONLY Valet parking and it was $25 a day.(only PRO's to the valet is that it offers in and out parking all day, and your car isn't covered with snow on a snowy day.) Also they do not have extra luggage carts for your use, you can however use the concierge and they will take your bags up.(personally I did not feel comfortable leaving my luggage in the main lobby until one was available to take my stuff up). I will definately stay here in the future depending on what they offer at that time, it has a very nice location. I had a beautiful mountain view, the elevators did not take a long time. All the employees were great and helpful and nice, they all seemed to work long hours. The bartenders at the managers reception were very friendly, helpful, and entertaining. Also a gift shop and restaurant on the premises.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Modesto, CA
Level Contributor
266 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

I have stayed here numerous times over the years. I was curious to see how the hotel would change after the sale. I was pleased to find the same friendly and service oriented staff. The only change I noticed was the lack of made to order omelets in the breakfast buffet. They have added a specialty egg dish in its place. I really didn't miss the omelets and the line moved much faster. The rooms are still spacious and well appointed. The actual one bedroom suite configuration is really welcome. The refrigerator, microwave and dining table allow for simple cooking in the rooms. The bathroom is nicely appointed and had plenty of hot water. This place is perfect for families. There is lots of sleeping space in the rooms and the pool area is a kid's dream. The lobby area with all the real plants is very welcoming. All in all, a very good experience.

Room Tip: I've never had a bad room. This time I was on the 9th floor and it was very quiet and offered a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DrDadrwp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clayton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
167 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013 via mobile

We booked our room in Feb when the property was a Hilton Embassy Suites and were not aware that the owners are no longer associated with Hilton and had changed the name to the Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel. We would have appreciated an email notification of the change so that we would not have wasted time trying find a place that no longer existed.

The rooms are dark and outdated, the couch and bed are worn and the reception on the small CRT TVs is fuzzy.

On the plus side, the service was great, WIFI works well, happy hour was excellent and breakfast was above average.

This hotel is overpriced and in need of an upgrade

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank knukenc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Had an awesome time. Weather was amazing. Slow weekend so mgr reception was practically empty. Loved hearing about the possible changes to the breakfast and mgr reception to come. Enjoyed having the pool to ourselves.. can't wait to return and glad all the perks of embassy have rolled over and are being improved. Kids loved seeing the turtle and fish. Food at echo was great too especially since the mgr reception was being hosted there temporarily. Wish we were still there but will be back soon!

Room Tip: Balcony rooms are the best if you can get them for a good price. otherwise they are in the process...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vector74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,058 reviews
1.6 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#13 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#15 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#4 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel

Property: Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel
Address: 4130 Lake Tahoe Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6965
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#5 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#14 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel is South Lake Tahoe's only all-suite lodging option. Located at the base of Heavenly Mountain Resort and moments from world-class gaming, dining, ice-skating, golf, shopping, hiking, biking, entertainment, and lake activities. Our stylish Lake Tahoe accommodations are perfect for families, corporate meetings & retreats, social functions, groups, Weddings, or an adventure vacation. Every hotel reservation at Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel includes a comfortable two-room suite, free breakfast buffet, and a nightly happy hour. Discover this outstanding Lake Tahoe lodging resort and destination, make your reservation today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Lake Tahoe Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Embassy Suites South Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing