We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do NOT stay in Room 225”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel
Ranked #18 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Reviewed 25 June 2013

I stayed here recently during a basketball tournament in Tahoe. The place (formerly Embassy Suites) seemed nice enough..... HOWEVER - I was in a room (225) adjoining another room - Where to begin....

First of all, the entrance to my room was through the staging area of the kitchen - so it was actually a challenge to get to the door, because there were workers going back and forth - plus there were a lot of aromas coming from the kitchen....

But FAR WORSE, our room smelled horribly as if someone had been quite ill (think Bourbon Street in New Orleans after too many Hurricanes) We complained to the front desk. They were pleasant and sent someone to the room with air freshener spray. Seriously. So, the woman sprayed, then the room smelled sickly sweet of bad airspray AND vomit. Nice combo.

So we called the front desk again, and they sent some machine that was supposed to take all the smell out of the room. It did not. The good news/bad news, is that after being in the room for awhile, we sort of got used to it, but it was foul.

I will say that the bed was comfortable and that the breakfast was decent - one good thing being right off the eating area was our ability to bring the food back to our room.

It may be that in other rooms that our stay would have been dramatically different, but our rooms were AWFUL.

Room Tip: Do NOT stay in 224/225
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SFOglobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_MgrSLT, Guest Relations Manager at Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2013

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. We want to sincerely apologize for the discomfort you experienced during your stay with us. Since your visit, we have removed suite 225 from our inventory until our scheduled room renovations have been completed. The kitchen staff is also working on a plan for handling the breakfast and reception staging to avoid this in the future. Unfortunately, the weekend while you were with us we were completely sold out so we did not have an alternate suite to relocate you. We are terribly sorry for this inconvenience We would like to make it up to you so please contact us directly at info@tahoeresorthotel.com so that we can discuss this further. Again, thank you for your feedback and look forward to hearing from you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (744)
There are newer reviews for Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

675 - 681 of 744 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2013

Drove up to Lake Tahoe for a wedding June 22nd. Arrived, not shocked by the $25 cost to park as I had been there before but surprised by the front desk attitude. Ran into a Front Desk Clerk with the maturity of a 12 year old named Jeremy. He kept insisting that we had booked an access room in spite of being advised otherwise and visibly not needing it. After repeating himself several times and not even pretending to listen, insisting that he was the only Manager on duty, we were forced to take a room we did not book. We checked in early in the afternoon and this spoiled man/child still refused to accommodate us or offer even a sales pitch on the room. I told him that it was too bad that they were no longer Hilton because at least there would be some place to turn. So tiring of the insolence, we took the room.

Fortunately, the bellhop Ian tried to make up for the Front Desk's lack of customer service and did a great job. The rest of the weekend went well in spite of handrails in the bathroom. It is really hard to stay upset when you are in one of the most beautiful locations on earth.

Soccer teams every where, rules not enforced, children dive bombing the pool and running up and down the halls, and adult pool hours a joke. Breakfast good, happy hour mediocre, restaurant understaffed, location great, rooms ok, and rest of staff hard working and accommodating. $490 for two nights but location, location, location.

Hope they fix their only one real problem with some intense customer service training or replacing immature staff.

Room Tip: Call so that there is no confusion and bring a copy of your confirmation.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Onebrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_MgrSLT, Guest Relations Manager at Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2013

Thank you for your recent review. We appreciate you bringing the issues you experienced to our attention so that we can address them directly with the team. We pride ourselves on providing great customer service and it is certainly not acceptable that you did not receive that while you stayed with us. We have spoken to all those involved and have taken actions to ensure that this will not occur in the future. If you have any other questions, please feel free to contact us directly at: info@tahoeresorthotel.com . We appreciate your business and hope you will decide to stay with us again in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Between the wonderful staff, the free cocktail hour(s) (4:30-6:30), the free breakfast, and wonderfully clean, spacious rooms, this is a traveler's delight. Especially helpful was a lady named Jean Gurley. She's very knowledgeable, and will answer whatever questions you may have about the Tahoe/Reno/Carson City area. Being located directly across the driveway/stateline from Harrah's is another plus.

Room Tip: They're all good!
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

The room was clean but it was very tired, The room was not stalked with coffee.

The hotel recently terminated its french relationship with Embassy Suites and you can tell.

The staff tries really hard and they are generally good. Management appears to be out of touch here and cant see that the quality is not present.

The restaurant is below average. Bland and overcooked. .

It is Tahoe, It is Heavenly. Throngs of people will come anyway. I suggest that you look elsewhere until this hotel gets it act together.

Room Tip: Pick another property
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaddyMcGrath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_MgrSLT, Guest Relations Manager at Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2013

Thank you for offering your feedback on your recent stay which will help us to improve, though, your comments are quite vague. We pride ourselves on providing great customer service and our team members are truly outstanding. Additionally, our management team is the same as under the national brand and our ownership group is the same; if there was an issue with our team please let me know, I can be reached at: info@tahoeresorthotel.com . Since becoming and independent property, we have not changed the amount of coffee in our spacious suites and if a guest would like additional amounts of coffee, our team is more than happy to deliver. Our independent status has also allowed for flexibility to make positive changes to enhance a guests stay (brand new 42 inch TV’s (2 in each suite) for all suites on the 6th floor and higher; like the suite this post stayed in. September 2nd we will begin renovating the suites on floors 2 through 5), flexibility with promotions (visit our Facebook page), and flexibility to utilize our local vendors. For other readers, please keep in mind we also serve a complimentary full breakfast buffet daily (including daily scrambled egg specials) and a two hour Happy Hour daily. We are also very amenable to hear from you while on site, so please check with our manager on duty should there be any questions or concerns.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We stayed four nights here and this hotel was great. You can save the $25 a day parking fee by parking at the casino next door. The staff was very friendly and accommodating for everything we needed. The rooms were clean and spacious. The breakfasts were wonderful, and the entrees changed daily. The indoor hot tub was never crowded. I found no fault with this hotel.
It is centrally located and within walking distance to the beach, casinos and shopping.

Room Tip: Park at the casino.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jcsaw203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

My wife and I spent the recent Memorial Day weekend at the Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel, taking advantage of their $99/night Facebook promo. It was a very disappointing experience.

It started when we checked in on Friday evening and found that we had to pay $25/night for parking -- a 25% addition to the cost of the room. The room itself was fine, but nothing special. There was a new flat panel TV in the living room, but an old CRT TV in the bedroom. We stayed there several years ago when it was an Embassy Suite and the room has improved since then, but not much.

The disappointments continued on Saturday. The quality of the free breakfasts was low. Few choices, and the eggs and potatoes were cold. The drinks at the Manager's reception were great, but snacks were limited to popcorn, or carrots, celery and broccoli.

What was really disappointing was that the hotel had booked a large number of youth basketball teams for a local weekend tournament. There were kids everywhere -- which in itself wouldn't necessarily be bad, but these kids were running up & down the halls, bumping into people, yelling across and up and down the open atriums, and dribbling basketballs down the hallways at all hours -- even at 10:30 at night. When we went to the hotel's dining room, there were kids throwing paper airplanes between tables. My wife is a teacher and her comment was that if kids at her school were behaving like most of these kids, they'd be in detention. The peak of the bad behavior was when my wife and I exited the elevator at 3 in the afternoon and encountered 3 boys laughing hysterically as one of them urinated in the garbage can in the hallway outside the elevator.

When we spoke to the "duty manager" about the behaviors, his response was that the hotel can't control the behavior of the guests. Clearly, the revenue from 100 rooms sold to the teams was more important than the enjoyment of the other guests. He even told us that we should expect the hotel to be full of kids on a holiday and that we shouldn't come on a holiday weekend!

The other big disappointment was our attempt to go to the beach on Sunday, one of the things we were looking forward to on this getaway and a key reason we picked Tahoe for our trip. The info book in the room says that there is complimentary access to Lakeside beach, with passes at the front desk. When I went to the desk to get the passes, we were told that they no longer had access to the beach, but were working on something for this year. Our plans for the day were out the window. Later that evening, I discovered a post on the hotel's Facebook page, posted the evening prior, that they now had access to a different beach at Zephyr Cove. But the person at the desk didn't know this and didn't offer us this option. Also, Lakeside beach is a walkable 4 blocks away, while Zephyr Cove is several miles away, definitely not a walkable trip to the beach.

Unfortunately for us, what we had hoped would be a fun weekend was a major disappointment. We will not be returning the Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Henry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_MgrSLT, Guest Relations Manager at Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write this review and let us know about issues you encountered during your stay over the Memorial Weekend. We appreciate you being a Facebook fan and taking advantage of the special offer we posted for the Memorial Weekend. I cannot say enough apologies for the way the basketball teams displayed such raucous and unruly behavior; we too were extremely disappointed. Of the many sports teams we have hosted over the past number of years, this group set a new low of poor behavior. I will say though we had a number of team members catching kids and discussing their behavior with their parents; unfortunately, we could not catch all. With regards to some of the other issues…we needed to change beach partners due to the business decision of Lakeside to not want to have a hotel program, which is why we are working with Round Hill Pines Beach. RHPB is located 2.8 miles north of our property in a very nicely secluded location with many amenities available to our guests. We have also revised how we handle the hot items with our complimentary buffet breakfast which should curb the “cold” aspects. We have addressed the snacks during the complementary bar to keep our guest pleased. With parking, due to local restrictions, we do not have external parking places for guest to utilize; we only offer valet parking with unlimited in / out service. Lastly, we are currently upgrading all our TV’s, though this will take a while; we anticipate half our suites will be completed by Labor Day and the other half will be completed when the lower floor suites begin the renovation phase at the end of summer. I encourage our guests and other readers of this post to please contact me should you have any questions or concerns, I can be reached at: info@tahoeresorthotel.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

As a Hilton Honors Member, I booked this hotel, to later find out it is no longer operated as an Embassy Suites. The staff did not seem overly friendly or helpful in my opinion except for the concierge. The breakfast was disappointing since they did not cook eggs to order and the staff has the equipment and capability behind them. The manager's reception is always nice but I think if they offered appetizers for sale- it would be nice too. Only popcorn and pretzels were available. A large selections of drinks and beers were available complimentary and as a guest- I would happily pay for appetizers but no one offered. Additionally, only two persons worked this and were not overly friendly and the line was very long to get your drinks.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
900 reviews
1.6 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#11 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,089 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#13 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
909 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#5 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,121 reviews
1.0 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#7 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel

Address: 4130 Lake Tahoe Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6965
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#5 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#14 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range: £112 - £253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel is South Lake Tahoe's only all-suite lodging option. Located at the base of Heavenly Mountain Resort and moments from world-class gaming, dining, ice-skating, golf, shopping, hiking, biking, entertainment, and lake activities. Our stylish Lake Tahoe accommodations are perfect for families, corporate meetings & retreats, social functions, groups, Weddings, or an adventure vacation. Every hotel reservation at Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel includes a comfortable two-room suite, free breakfast buffet, and a nightly happy hour. Discover this outstanding Lake Tahoe lodging resort and destination, make your reservation today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Lake Tahoe Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Embassy Suites South Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing