We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, nice having the space of a suite” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel
Ranked #16 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great location, nice having the space of a suite”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

This is our third 4th of July staying at the property. We love the location. There's a great view of the July 4th fireworks from right in front of the hotel. It's an easy walk to shops, restaurants and casinos. We like having the space of a suite when we're in hotel for more than one night. All of the staff was friendly and helpful. Free breakfast and PM cocktails and snacks.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms that has been refurbished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rpgiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    220
    253
    109
    42
    31
See reviews for
267
227
5
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sublimity, Oregon
Level Contributor
136 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

We stayed here simply because our time share gave it to us free. They had changed the name of the hotel on the outside, but our reservation retained the old name, so it was a little confusing to find. As we arrived we noted that it was $20 a day to park; as others have mentioned, parking is a nightmare due to the Harrah's parking lot, so valet is almost essential.
The service was exceptional at the front desk, during happy hour, and during breakfast. The employees delivered our requests speedily and with a smile. The happy hour and breakfast are always a treat at an Embassy because they are free, but the service here was exceptional (average institutionalized food but the drinks during happy hour were not skimpy).
The pool is inside which was a disappointment as we were there when it was warm enough to lay out, but we used their large patio and slipped into the pool if needed. The people staying at the time we were there were wonderfully friendly and kind (ie: when we jumped in the pool at 10pm-the so called "adult time"- everyone with kids left).
Our room was spacious but I don't believe it had been updated in awhile. It was clean.
They do have an arrangement with a lakeside area, but be sure to bring all your own beach towels, chairs, etc, and grab a pass from the front desk to avoid the fee to get into the area.
The resort is located in a central area that makes it easy to walk to watch a movie, take a ride on the gondola, gamble, eat a delicious meal, or shop.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank just1beth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portola, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

Extremely disappointed in our room, #709. Outdated and not clean. The vents and lighting in the bathroom were dirty. Unidentifiable stains on the carpet. It's a hotel room that you don't feel comfortable walking around without your shoes on. The breakfast was mediocre to say the least, very basic. If your going to charge top dollar, the quality of the rooms should match, we paid $240.00 for Saturday night. Just be aware that this hotel is in need of a huge facelift, I'm sure there are better properties in the area for the price. The only silver lining is the free open bar for two hours in the evening, that was great. Also, be prepared to pay $25 a night for valet parking or put on your walking shoes and hope for a close free parking spot in the adjacent property. Hopefully the hotel is planning a remodel, until then look elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Natheen73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_MgrSLT, Guest Relations Manager at Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Thank you for your review. We are sorry that you were not pleased with your suite and some of the common areas of the property. I will be certain to pass on your concerns regarding the vents and carpets in that particular suite to our Head of Housekeeping. She takes a lot of pride in the cleanliness of the suites and we know she will be very unhappy to hear that we may have missed something. We have received very high praises for our buffet breakfast recently and are surprised that you did not find it better than mediocre. Please let us know how we might improve the breakfast and what items you felt were missing. We have added items from some local vendors and have also added a daily scrambled egg special; please let us know what we missed by emailing us at: info@tahoeresorthotel.com. Regarding parking, the only hotel parking lot is far too small for the general public to park, which is why we valet park; this includes unlimited in / out service and protects your vehicle from wildlife, damage from uncaring drivers, etc… Keep in mind, we only charge for valet parking, which is a great service, other properties either charge a mandatory resort fee, or parking (not valet), or both. We hope you will choose to visit us again. Our suite renovations should be completed by mid-December.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
261 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

I stayed here recently during a basketball tournament in Tahoe. The place (formerly Embassy Suites) seemed nice enough..... HOWEVER - I was in a room (225) adjoining another room - Where to begin....

First of all, the entrance to my room was through the staging area of the kitchen - so it was actually a challenge to get to the door, because there were workers going back and forth - plus there were a lot of aromas coming from the kitchen....

But FAR WORSE, our room smelled horribly as if someone had been quite ill (think Bourbon Street in New Orleans after too many Hurricanes) We complained to the front desk. They were pleasant and sent someone to the room with air freshener spray. Seriously. So, the woman sprayed, then the room smelled sickly sweet of bad airspray AND vomit. Nice combo.

So we called the front desk again, and they sent some machine that was supposed to take all the smell out of the room. It did not. The good news/bad news, is that after being in the room for awhile, we sort of got used to it, but it was foul.

I will say that the bed was comfortable and that the breakfast was decent - one good thing being right off the eating area was our ability to bring the food back to our room.

It may be that in other rooms that our stay would have been dramatically different, but our rooms were AWFUL.

Room Tip: Do NOT stay in 224/225
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SFOglobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_MgrSLT, Guest Relations Manager at Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. We want to sincerely apologize for the discomfort you experienced during your stay with us. Since your visit, we have removed suite 225 from our inventory until our scheduled room renovations have been completed. The kitchen staff is also working on a plan for handling the breakfast and reception staging to avoid this in the future. Unfortunately, the weekend while you were with us we were completely sold out so we did not have an alternate suite to relocate you. We are terribly sorry for this inconvenience We would like to make it up to you so please contact us directly at info@tahoeresorthotel.com so that we can discuss this further. Again, thank you for your feedback and look forward to hearing from you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

Drove up to Lake Tahoe for a wedding June 22nd. Arrived, not shocked by the $25 cost to park as I had been there before but surprised by the front desk attitude. Ran into a Front Desk Clerk with the maturity of a 12 year old named Jeremy. He kept insisting that we had booked an access room in spite of being advised otherwise and visibly not needing it. After repeating himself several times and not even pretending to listen, insisting that he was the only Manager on duty, we were forced to take a room we did not book. We checked in early in the afternoon and this spoiled man/child still refused to accommodate us or offer even a sales pitch on the room. I told him that it was too bad that they were no longer Hilton because at least there would be some place to turn. So tiring of the insolence, we took the room.

Fortunately, the bellhop Ian tried to make up for the Front Desk's lack of customer service and did a great job. The rest of the weekend went well in spite of handrails in the bathroom. It is really hard to stay upset when you are in one of the most beautiful locations on earth.

Soccer teams every where, rules not enforced, children dive bombing the pool and running up and down the halls, and adult pool hours a joke. Breakfast good, happy hour mediocre, restaurant understaffed, location great, rooms ok, and rest of staff hard working and accommodating. $490 for two nights but location, location, location.

Hope they fix their only one real problem with some intense customer service training or replacing immature staff.

Room Tip: Call so that there is no confusion and bring a copy of your confirmation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Onebrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_MgrSLT, Guest Relations Manager at Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
Thank you for your recent review. We appreciate you bringing the issues you experienced to our attention so that we can address them directly with the team. We pride ourselves on providing great customer service and it is certainly not acceptable that you did not receive that while you stayed with us. We have spoken to all those involved and have taken actions to ensure that this will not occur in the future. If you have any other questions, please feel free to contact us directly at: info@tahoeresorthotel.com . We appreciate your business and hope you will decide to stay with us again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harker Heights, Texas
Level Contributor
230 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

Between the wonderful staff, the free cocktail hour(s) (4:30-6:30), the free breakfast, and wonderfully clean, spacious rooms, this is a traveler's delight. Especially helpful was a lady named Jean Gurley. She's very knowledgeable, and will answer whatever questions you may have about the Tahoe/Reno/Carson City area. Being located directly across the driveway/stateline from Harrah's is another plus.

Room Tip: They're all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TONY263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

The room was clean but it was very tired, The room was not stalked with coffee.

The hotel recently terminated its french relationship with Embassy Suites and you can tell.

The staff tries really hard and they are generally good. Management appears to be out of touch here and cant see that the quality is not present.

The restaurant is below average. Bland and overcooked. .

It is Tahoe, It is Heavenly. Throngs of people will come anyway. I suggest that you look elsewhere until this hotel gets it act together.

Room Tip: Pick another property
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PaddyMcGrath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_MgrSLT, Guest Relations Manager at Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
Thank you for offering your feedback on your recent stay which will help us to improve, though, your comments are quite vague. We pride ourselves on providing great customer service and our team members are truly outstanding. Additionally, our management team is the same as under the national brand and our ownership group is the same; if there was an issue with our team please let me know, I can be reached at: info@tahoeresorthotel.com . Since becoming and independent property, we have not changed the amount of coffee in our spacious suites and if a guest would like additional amounts of coffee, our team is more than happy to deliver. Our independent status has also allowed for flexibility to make positive changes to enhance a guests stay (brand new 42 inch TV’s (2 in each suite) for all suites on the 6th floor and higher; like the suite this post stayed in. September 2nd we will begin renovating the suites on floors 2 through 5), flexibility with promotions (visit our Facebook page), and flexibility to utilize our local vendors. For other readers, please keep in mind we also serve a complimentary full breakfast buffet daily (including daily scrambled egg specials) and a two hour Happy Hour daily. We are also very amenable to hear from you while on site, so please check with our manager on duty should there be any questions or concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
1.6 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#14 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#15 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
1.0 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#7 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel

Property: Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel
Address: 4130 Lake Tahoe Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6965
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#5 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#14 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel is South Lake Tahoe's only all-suite lodging option. Located at the base of Heavenly Mountain Resort and moments from world-class gaming, dining, ice-skating, golf, shopping, hiking, biking, entertainment, and lake activities. Our stylish Lake Tahoe accommodations are perfect for families, corporate meetings & retreats, social functions, groups, Weddings, or an adventure vacation. Every hotel reservation at Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel includes a comfortable two-room suite, free breakfast buffet, and a nightly happy hour. Discover this outstanding Lake Tahoe lodging resort and destination, make your reservation today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Lake Tahoe Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Embassy Suites South Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing