We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old and Tired”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel
Ranked #17 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Auburn, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Old and Tired”
Reviewed 12 July 2013

I agree with the latest reviewer who said it looked great on the outside but when you step in you've stepped back through time. The place is really old and run down. Our room was NOT clean when we checked in; hair in the bathroom and don't even look in the corners where the vacuum doesn't reach. We tried to call downstairs to complain about the cleanliness and maybe get switched to another room but they never answered their phone! The bed was very old and soft and uncomfortable and we had a bad view of air conditioners on top of a rooftop. The complimentary breakfast was bad if you get the cooked stuff - the fruit and breads not so bad. The reason why I gave it 2 and not 1 star is for the location, which is wonderful and also their room they had for the wedding reception that we attended was also very nicely done. Also, disappointed that after we booked the hotel we found out that it is no longer part of the Hilton Hhonors rewards; so we didn't get points for staying here as originally planned.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MelindaN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    262
    112
    43
    34
See reviews for
276
232
6
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

I had high hopes for this hotel but was disappointed as soon as I walked in the door. The location is great and it looks nice on the outside, but as soon as you enter it is like stepping back in time. The hotel is a former Embassy Suites and it looks like it has hardly changes since it was built in the early 90s. The room was clean and they had updated some of the furniture, but the bathroom was a hideous pink and the bed was horrible. I felt like I was constantly going to roll out of bed as it was so springy. The walls are paper thin and you can hear your neighbors conversations word for word, even we they're speaking in a normal casual volume. The only benefit of the place, besides the great location, is a daily free happy hour and a fairly decent free breakfast buffet. The down side to both is they're way overcrowded. Overall for the price I was very unsatisfied. If it was $99 a night I would not have minded as much, but not for $220 a night.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kloesch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_MgrSLT, Guest Relations Manager at Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Thank you for your recent review. We appreciate customer feedback and that you took the time to let us know about your recent stay. The hotel has begun the first phase of refurbishing the higher floor suites and will totally renovate the lower floor suites on Labor Day this year. We are glad that you enjoyed the free happy hour and free breakfast buffet, and we encourage you to come back and give us a try once our renovations are completed. Thank you again for your review and please feel free to contact us directly if you have any questions at info@tahoeresorthotel.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We got bumped to this hotel because the timeshare we had reserved (Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort a couple of miles west of here) was overbooked. It seems they intentionally overbook and then send people to this hotel. We were on the top floor, far away from the elevators, so it was a long haul to get outdoors, and the one small window only opens a crack, so it wasn't the outdoor vacation we had traveled to Tahoe for. But the suite was roomy and clean, the beds were comfortable, the room was very quiet, and the free breakfast buffet was generous. We were told the valet parking was a mandatory extra expense, but that was not true; you can park anywhere in the adjacent casino lots & tell the desk not to bill you for the valet. They claim to have a "private beach", but they have an arrangement with a beach that is 2.8 miles away in Nevada. It's a decent beach, but it's a pain to have to drive there in summer traffic. The koi pond area smells really moldy. If you want to be right next door to all the Nevada casinos this might be your place.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank ClearSynergy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

This is our third 4th of July staying at the property. We love the location. There's a great view of the July 4th fireworks from right in front of the hotel. It's an easy walk to shops, restaurants and casinos. We like having the space of a suite when we're in hotel for more than one night. All of the staff was friendly and helpful. Free breakfast and PM cocktails and snacks.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms that has been refurbished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rpgiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sublimity, Oregon
Level Contributor
141 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We stayed here simply because our time share gave it to us free. They had changed the name of the hotel on the outside, but our reservation retained the old name, so it was a little confusing to find. As we arrived we noted that it was $20 a day to park; as others have mentioned, parking is a nightmare due to the Harrah's parking lot, so valet is almost essential.
The service was exceptional at the front desk, during happy hour, and during breakfast. The employees delivered our requests speedily and with a smile. The happy hour and breakfast are always a treat at an Embassy because they are free, but the service here was exceptional (average institutionalized food but the drinks during happy hour were not skimpy).
The pool is inside which was a disappointment as we were there when it was warm enough to lay out, but we used their large patio and slipped into the pool if needed. The people staying at the time we were there were wonderfully friendly and kind (ie: when we jumped in the pool at 10pm-the so called "adult time"- everyone with kids left).
Our room was spacious but I don't believe it had been updated in awhile. It was clean.
They do have an arrangement with a lakeside area, but be sure to bring all your own beach towels, chairs, etc, and grab a pass from the front desk to avoid the fee to get into the area.
The resort is located in a central area that makes it easy to walk to watch a movie, take a ride on the gondola, gamble, eat a delicious meal, or shop.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank just1beth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portola, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Extremely disappointed in our room, #709. Outdated and not clean. The vents and lighting in the bathroom were dirty. Unidentifiable stains on the carpet. It's a hotel room that you don't feel comfortable walking around without your shoes on. The breakfast was mediocre to say the least, very basic. If your going to charge top dollar, the quality of the rooms should match, we paid $240.00 for Saturday night. Just be aware that this hotel is in need of a huge facelift, I'm sure there are better properties in the area for the price. The only silver lining is the free open bar for two hours in the evening, that was great. Also, be prepared to pay $25 a night for valet parking or put on your walking shoes and hope for a close free parking spot in the adjacent property. Hopefully the hotel is planning a remodel, until then look elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natheen73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_MgrSLT, Guest Relations Manager at Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Thank you for your review. We are sorry that you were not pleased with your suite and some of the common areas of the property. I will be certain to pass on your concerns regarding the vents and carpets in that particular suite to our Head of Housekeeping. She takes a lot of pride in the cleanliness of the suites and we know she will be very unhappy to hear that we may have missed something. We have received very high praises for our buffet breakfast recently and are surprised that you did not find it better than mediocre. Please let us know how we might improve the breakfast and what items you felt were missing. We have added items from some local vendors and have also added a daily scrambled egg special; please let us know what we missed by emailing us at: info@tahoeresorthotel.com. Regarding parking, the only hotel parking lot is far too small for the general public to park, which is why we valet park; this includes unlimited in / out service and protects your vehicle from wildlife, damage from uncaring drivers, etc… Keep in mind, we only charge for valet parking, which is a great service, other properties either charge a mandatory resort fee, or parking (not valet), or both. We hope you will choose to visit us again. Our suite renovations should be completed by mid-December.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
269 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

I stayed here recently during a basketball tournament in Tahoe. The place (formerly Embassy Suites) seemed nice enough..... HOWEVER - I was in a room (225) adjoining another room - Where to begin....

First of all, the entrance to my room was through the staging area of the kitchen - so it was actually a challenge to get to the door, because there were workers going back and forth - plus there were a lot of aromas coming from the kitchen....

But FAR WORSE, our room smelled horribly as if someone had been quite ill (think Bourbon Street in New Orleans after too many Hurricanes) We complained to the front desk. They were pleasant and sent someone to the room with air freshener spray. Seriously. So, the woman sprayed, then the room smelled sickly sweet of bad airspray AND vomit. Nice combo.

So we called the front desk again, and they sent some machine that was supposed to take all the smell out of the room. It did not. The good news/bad news, is that after being in the room for awhile, we sort of got used to it, but it was foul.

I will say that the bed was comfortable and that the breakfast was decent - one good thing being right off the eating area was our ability to bring the food back to our room.

It may be that in other rooms that our stay would have been dramatically different, but our rooms were AWFUL.

Room Tip: Do NOT stay in 224/225
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SFOglobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_MgrSLT, Guest Relations Manager at Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. We want to sincerely apologize for the discomfort you experienced during your stay with us. Since your visit, we have removed suite 225 from our inventory until our scheduled room renovations have been completed. The kitchen staff is also working on a plan for handling the breakfast and reception staging to avoid this in the future. Unfortunately, the weekend while you were with us we were completely sold out so we did not have an alternate suite to relocate you. We are terribly sorry for this inconvenience We would like to make it up to you so please contact us directly at info@tahoeresorthotel.com so that we can discuss this further. Again, thank you for your feedback and look forward to hearing from you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,058 reviews
1.6 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#13 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#15 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#4 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel

Property: Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel
Address: 4130 Lake Tahoe Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6965
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#5 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#14 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel is South Lake Tahoe's only all-suite lodging option. Located at the base of Heavenly Mountain Resort and moments from world-class gaming, dining, ice-skating, golf, shopping, hiking, biking, entertainment, and lake activities. Our stylish Lake Tahoe accommodations are perfect for families, corporate meetings & retreats, social functions, groups, Weddings, or an adventure vacation. Every hotel reservation at Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel includes a comfortable two-room suite, free breakfast buffet, and a nightly happy hour. Discover this outstanding Lake Tahoe lodging resort and destination, make your reservation today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Lake Tahoe Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Embassy Suites South Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing