We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upgrade Needed for Nice Hotel in Great Location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel
Ranked #17 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Winter Haven, Florida
Level Contributor
111 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Upgrade Needed for Nice Hotel in Great Location.”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We stayed here 2 years ago when it was an Embassy Suites and felt it needed an upgrade then. I made reservations months ago when it was still Embassy but then it became LT Resort Hotel and I heard it was being renovated but was disappointed it hadn't happened yet. They say by Sept. so that will be a great change. It is a very nice hotel, great location and the outside of the building is beautiful. Rooms are spacious and comfortable. They kept the breakfast but no omlettes- happy hour is the same and is a great feature. Rooms desperately needed upgrade though-especially the TVs which are old tube type with no high def. Furniture & carpeting seem outdated. The atrium area was pretty warm everyday and the business area computers for guests were extremely slow. Still only offer $25 valet parking per day but you can park right next door at Harrahs for free. Concierge service is good but beware that they really work for a time share company but were not pushy about it at all. Front desk did not tell us about the beach passes even though I had read about them on their website. We didn't have time to use it anyway but should have been told to us.

Room Tip: Don't use valet parking at $25/night; park behind Harrahs, next door for free. Go in and out the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FLVisitors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    260
    112
    42
    34
See reviews for
275
230
6
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redwood City
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We checked in and the whole hotel had no water. We could not shower before our concert - it had been a hot day. The A/C in the room stopped working at night and we could not open the window. The beds were both old and sagged towards the middle. The front desk Supervisor did nothing to offset the cost. One of the worst nights spent in a hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ConnectRick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_MgrSLT, Guest Relations Manager at Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Thank you for your review. Unfortunately, the day you arrived, a boiler valve sprung a leak and needed to be replaced. The cold water for the property was turned off for approximately 20-30 minutes while it was being replaced, however, the hot water was not affected. We encourage all guests to let us know if there are any issues they experience in their suites so we can rectify the problem right away. Our window openings are to building code and we are not allowed to adjust the gap. We thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback on our property and team members. Should any readers have questions on our property, our team, or the Lake Tahoe area, please feel free to email me directly at info@tahoeresorthotel.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, dc
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Being a few minutes from the gondola and across the street from the grocery store made this hotel the right place for skiers at the southern tip of the lake, on California side. Walking distance to casinos. The 2 bedroom was large enough for 6 adults with equipment.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DupontTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We recently enjoyed a very nice visit at this hotel during the the last weekend in June. The staff was VERY helpful. The breakfast was delightful and the happy hour was very nice. The bar tenders were very good. I would say you can easily avoid parking at the resort hotel. You just have to drive past the valets and park in the back. The rooms were large and very modern. We were on the eight floor. The location is very centrally located so you can walk to many locations. We were able to enjoy a local beach courtesy of the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KathyP1392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montgomery, Alabama
Level Contributor
141 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

The Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel is still a lot like the Embassy Suites it once was. The rooms are a typical Embassy Suites layout, and the bedding appears to still be of Hilton family standards. Parking is overpriced and contrary to the web-site, the valets are able to park on-site (the garage is below the hotel). Room rates have not changed much since the hotel was an Embassy Suites, but the evening reception and morning breakfasts are now a little less robust in amenities. Fresh fruits were limited to watermelon and cantaloupe, and the juice selection was also limited at times. The front desk and housekeeping were superb, but the concierge showed a remarkable lack of knowledge of what was open and what was not. We were issued passes for facilities that were closed, including the beach with which the hotel has its new agreement. By the time I'm writing this, the beach will have opened, but it is closed for the first half of June. In summary, we had a good, but not great, stay. The facility is good, the rooms comfortable, but the prices, especially when parking is included, are remarkably high.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P0laris600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_MgrSLT, Guest Relations Manager at Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback. I'd like to address some of the concerns you outlined in your review. In regards to valet parking, all of our valet parking is in our covered and secure parking garage, with unlimited "in and out" privileges. Can you please let us know where you saw something contrary to that on our website? Also, the happy hours and breakfasts have actually not changed at all since the switch from our previous name. The only minor difference is that we offer a daily scrambled egg special instead of cooked to order omelet station. We have also added bakery items from local shops, including bagels from local favorite, Rude Brothers Bagels. I double checked regarding the beach, and it has been open for summer business since June 3rd, which is when we began giving out the passes, and has been open continuously since then. We apologize if our concierge was not able to provide you with all of the information that you were looking for, but we are happy to hear that you were satisfied with our front desk and housekeeping services. If you would like to provide more information or have any questions for us, please email us at info@tahoeresorthotel.com. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

I agree with the latest reviewer who said it looked great on the outside but when you step in you've stepped back through time. The place is really old and run down. Our room was NOT clean when we checked in; hair in the bathroom and don't even look in the corners where the vacuum doesn't reach. We tried to call downstairs to complain about the cleanliness and maybe get switched to another room but they never answered their phone! The bed was very old and soft and uncomfortable and we had a bad view of air conditioners on top of a rooftop. The complimentary breakfast was bad if you get the cooked stuff - the fruit and breads not so bad. The reason why I gave it 2 and not 1 star is for the location, which is wonderful and also their room they had for the wedding reception that we attended was also very nicely done. Also, disappointed that after we booked the hotel we found out that it is no longer part of the Hilton Hhonors rewards; so we didn't get points for staying here as originally planned.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MelindaN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

I had high hopes for this hotel but was disappointed as soon as I walked in the door. The location is great and it looks nice on the outside, but as soon as you enter it is like stepping back in time. The hotel is a former Embassy Suites and it looks like it has hardly changes since it was built in the early 90s. The room was clean and they had updated some of the furniture, but the bathroom was a hideous pink and the bed was horrible. I felt like I was constantly going to roll out of bed as it was so springy. The walls are paper thin and you can hear your neighbors conversations word for word, even we they're speaking in a normal casual volume. The only benefit of the place, besides the great location, is a daily free happy hour and a fairly decent free breakfast buffet. The down side to both is they're way overcrowded. Overall for the price I was very unsatisfied. If it was $99 a night I would not have minded as much, but not for $220 a night.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kloesch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_MgrSLT, Guest Relations Manager at Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Thank you for your recent review. We appreciate customer feedback and that you took the time to let us know about your recent stay. The hotel has begun the first phase of refurbishing the higher floor suites and will totally renovate the lower floor suites on Labor Day this year. We are glad that you enjoyed the free happy hour and free breakfast buffet, and we encourage you to come back and give us a try once our renovations are completed. Thank you again for your review and please feel free to contact us directly if you have any questions at info@tahoeresorthotel.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
1.6 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#13 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#15 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#4 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel

Property: Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel
Address: 4130 Lake Tahoe Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6965
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#5 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#14 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel is South Lake Tahoe's only all-suite lodging option. Located at the base of Heavenly Mountain Resort and moments from world-class gaming, dining, ice-skating, golf, shopping, hiking, biking, entertainment, and lake activities. Our stylish Lake Tahoe accommodations are perfect for families, corporate meetings & retreats, social functions, groups, Weddings, or an adventure vacation. Every hotel reservation at Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel includes a comfortable two-room suite, free breakfast buffet, and a nightly happy hour. Discover this outstanding Lake Tahoe lodging resort and destination, make your reservation today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Lake Tahoe Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Embassy Suites South Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing