We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious, comfortable, and amenities.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel
Ranked #18 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Business trip with my wife and we were both pleased with the accommodations. It wasn't perfect but, the service was great, free breakfast buffet and happy hour were similar to other Embassy Suites I have stayed at. We were comfortable with the extra space provided and it is at the center of the Heavenly Resort Area. The hotel was clean and you can see that they are making strides to upgrade and maintain the place. Our room had an overlook of Lake Tahoe which was beautiful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has been recently upgraded. 7th floor and above will allow for a great view of L...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lovethebeach100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (744)
There are newer reviews for Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

641 - 647 of 744 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2013

The hotel recently changed the name (in the past it was an Embassy hotel of the Hilton group), so we had some extra efforts to find the hotel as our hotel voucher still mentioned the old name. The hotel is pretty big, but would need some renovation. The room was big (even with a little kitchen). The hotel offers a daily happy hour to its guest, but this is really overloaded. You also can get complimentary American breakfast. The location of the hotel is good, Lake Tahoe is just some minutes walk from the hotel and in the area of the hotel there are lots of restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christel8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We had booked this hotel this weekend. Due to a death in the family we had to cancel our reservation. Because it was the night before our stay, there was a 1 night fee that was attached to the cancellation. I called and spoke with the front desk and they graciously waived the fee. We will definitely be booking here again and are ecstatic with the customer service.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank Kristin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We stayed there over the weekend. Location is really good. Free breakfast is wonderful - with scrambled eggs, bacon, pancake and fresh food, and lots of tables.

But the rooms are really outdated, and carpet is old and smelly. The bed sheets are also old.

Valet parking only, for $25/night, but that you can get around by parking in the Harrah's literally next door.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

The hotel was formerly an Embassy Suites and I had not stayed here for a couple of years. The first mistake I made was attempting to make my reservation on what I thought was their website. This website appears to be the Embassy Suites website, however it is actually ReservationCounter.com. and this website is actually Expedia. When you make a reservation through this company it does not allow you to cancel unless you are three days before your reservation. The hotel can't help you and will tell you that you made the reservation through Expedia and their is nothing they can do for you. This hotel has dropped from the Embassy Suites chain and is now Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel of Heavenly. The other thing you will find out upon arrival is that it costs $25. per day to park your car at this hotel. You won't find anything on ReservationCounter.com about this. They do you give you option of parking in some remote parking area without a fee or so they said. I noted that the free breakfast has been downgraded from a fresh cooked breakfast to kitchen staff gingerly dishing out old scrambled eggs and little prefabbed sausages. I gave thought of going for their free cocktail in the evening, however upon looking a line of 30 or more people waiting for a drink, I thought better of it and went next door to Harrahs. The rooms appear to becoming dated with no real maintainenance. The carpet was old, the bathroom was is dire needed of recaulking around the bath tub. The toliet barely functioned. When the neighboring room used the shower or toliet it is loud enough that you have to turn up the television in your room. This will be the last time I stay at this hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rkickin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Use to be an Embassy suite so same layout, lobby is nice with plants and koi pond. Good location to walk to gambling, restaurants, spas and gondola up the mountain. Mix review of rooms, my first stay the room on 6th floor was a bit worn and sheets worn out. Second stay was 9th floor and room was fresh and linens fine. They have a really nice reception each night with free beer, wine or house well drinks and popcorn and pretzels. Breakfast each morning is full american and good. Gym is small but adequate with dumbells and 4 cardio machines. Pool area adjacent to gym on 2nd floor I would avoid this floor for a room since lots of traffic.

Room Tip: Definetly ask for 9th floor
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kenasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Stayed here for two days for a conference. The conference brought a hundred plus people to the hotel paying for rooms and banquet space.

I had to leave after two nights because business took me elsewhere. When I checked out, I was charged $75 for leaving after 2 nights. Huhh ? The management was insistent that I pay a $75 fee for leaving early. In 20+ years of business travel, I have never been charged to leave early. If the hotel was full, I might understand the managers insistence on charging me, but the hotel was not full and was unlikely to ever be full until ski season.

If I was planning event here, I would be really leery of their business practices.

With respect to my room... I was told it was renovated (6th floor). If it was renovated, clearly the renovation was low budget. The room had a tube TV, mold in the shower, drain cover was floating around the tub, handle was lose/falling off on the 1980 style glass doors.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wondering_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_MgrSLT, Guest Relations Manager at Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate you expressing your frustration so we may have the opportunity to better explain the situation. The group contract was negotiated with your meeting planner and involved many stipulations, one of which includes the early departure fee and is standard with hotels throughout the world. Many hotels will not only charge a fee for early departure, but will also increase the room rate since the contracted room rate was negotiated for a certain number of nights. In our case, we only charge the early departure fee. Other group attendees were understanding of the fee and made the business decision to pay it or to stay. Hotel group contracts can range from five pages of clauses to fifteen plus pages of clauses, all designed to protect both parties should something not go as planned; the early departure fee is but one of many, many clauses. Should you have further concerns, we would suggest that you contact your meeting planner regarding the hotel contracting process.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
900 reviews
1.6 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#11 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,088 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#13 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
909 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#5 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,121 reviews
1.0 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#7 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel

Address: 4130 Lake Tahoe Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6965
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#5 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#14 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range: £112 - £253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel is South Lake Tahoe's only all-suite lodging option. Located at the base of Heavenly Mountain Resort and moments from world-class gaming, dining, ice-skating, golf, shopping, hiking, biking, entertainment, and lake activities. Our stylish Lake Tahoe accommodations are perfect for families, corporate meetings & retreats, social functions, groups, Weddings, or an adventure vacation. Every hotel reservation at Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel includes a comfortable two-room suite, free breakfast buffet, and a nightly happy hour. Discover this outstanding Lake Tahoe lodging resort and destination, make your reservation today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Lake Tahoe Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Embassy Suites South Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing