We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fine, but Not Spectacular Hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel
Ranked #16 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fine, but Not Spectacular Hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

The hotel is fine, but showing its age. Rooms are all suites, but are dated and a bit dark. They have not been updated in a number of years. The beds were comfortable. No room service for breakfast. staff are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole M, Sales Coordinator at Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Hi Elizabeth,
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you found our staff friendly and helpful and enjoyed the comfortable beds. The hotel recently underwent a $5 million renovation that included upgrades to the suites as well as a facelift in the lobby with a brand new fireplace and furniture so we're disappointed to hear that you felt the hotel was a bit dated. On property we provide a complimentary daily breakfast buffet to all of our guests, which is why there is no room service breakfast available. Thank you again for your comments and we hope you will decide to stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    220
    253
    109
    42
    31
See reviews for
267
227
5
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Room is basically OK - roomy and comfortable bed. There were housekeeping issues though. There was a dirty washcloth from a previous guest left over the shower bar - BROWN STAIN on it...Other issues - lengthy valet parking waits in the morning and do not rely on a wake up call. It might never come. Also they charge for wifi which is a bit nickle and dimey in this day and age. All in all though, OK and if you are interested in gambling, Harrah's is right across the street.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luludibbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole M, Sales Coordinator at Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Hi Meg and thank you for your comments following your recent stay with us. We apologize that you had an issue in your room upon check-in and sincerely hope that this issue was remedied for you quickly upon calling the front desk. This issue has also been brought to the attention of our housekeeping team as well. We also apologize that you had a lengthy wait for valet and recommend calling down to valet at least 15 minutes before you are ready to leave so that the team has time to pull your car around before you arrive in the lobby. Also, during your next stay consider taking advantage of our combined wi-fi and valet parking package for just $25/night. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you will decide to stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

The Lake Tahoe Resort was a excellent place to stay. They were very nice when we arrived. The rooms were clean and the bed was comfortable. I enjoyed the resort because you were close to everything. You could walk to small local shops, walk to harbour and enjoy the casinos next door. The breakfast was excellent every morning and a happy hour every day was great. The only thing I didn't like was the 25 dollar a day parking fee. You can just go and park at the Harrahs parking lot for free. Overall this was a great place to stay in Tahoe.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madera, CA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We recently spent four nights at Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel. It is at the perfect location next to Harrah's. It was so nice to have a separate living room and bedroom. The living room was a couch (very firm) and chair plus a dining table with four chairs. It also has a microwave, small refrigerator, sink and coffee maker and nice LG TV. An earlier review said that the coffee maker was a Keurig. Ours was a different kind that used coffee pods. It was really nice in the bedroom to have a small sink and counter to put my makeup on. You can given coupons for breakfast and happy hour when you arrive. Great choices at breakfast. You do need to know that valet parking is $25.00 per day and you have to pay for internet. The concierge does also encourage time shares, along with reservations. We would stay here again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Organic21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san francisco
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

I was not impressed with this hotel, especially since it was relatively expensive for what you got. First room they gave us had a bed I would not sleep in as the mattress cover was dirty. Breakfast was average...they have a lot of mouths to feed. Valet parking for $25 a night on top of the room rate! You gotta be kidding! And the clincher was we bought the $13 a day internet and then were told it was good for only one device! We will not stay here again.

Room Tip: All the rooms look out into the atrium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redheadtraveler08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole M, Sales Coordinator at Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Hello and thank you for your feedback. We are disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us and apologize for the inconvenience with the room when you first arrived. If you decide to stay with us again we would recommend to try our Parking & Internet bundle that combines both amenities into one for $25/night. Thank you again for your feedback and we sincerely hope you will decide to give us another try in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton, CA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Perfect location!! We were there for a concert at Harvey's and this location worked out well.

We were a little disappointed with some of the hotel amenities. When I brought our concerns to the attention of the management they were very responsive. Because of this we will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pkislas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

loved the room everyone was very nice everything was very clean. Was very happy with my visit until i woke up on my final day with a bill under my door charging me for internet and valet. When i arrived i was told internet and the parking of my car was included in the price of the room but they do charge $25 for
each additional vehicle.
At checkout they took off the charge for internet but not the $25 for each day i was there for valet. I was so very happy until then.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debby S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
1.6 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#14 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#15 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
1.0 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#7 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel

Property: Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel
Address: 4130 Lake Tahoe Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6965
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#5 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#14 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel is South Lake Tahoe's only all-suite lodging option. Located at the base of Heavenly Mountain Resort and moments from world-class gaming, dining, ice-skating, golf, shopping, hiking, biking, entertainment, and lake activities. Our stylish Lake Tahoe accommodations are perfect for families, corporate meetings & retreats, social functions, groups, Weddings, or an adventure vacation. Every hotel reservation at Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel includes a comfortable two-room suite, free breakfast buffet, and a nightly happy hour. Discover this outstanding Lake Tahoe lodging resort and destination, make your reservation today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Lake Tahoe Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Embassy Suites South Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing