We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely loved it!”
Review of Hotel Azure

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Azure
Ranked #13 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 June 2011

I had a business trip in Tahoe and wanted to stay in a place that the kids could enjoy with a pool and easy lake access. We were more than happy with all aspects of the Inn, including the great customer service, amazing lake views, and proximity to all the attractions. We will definitely be coming back. Oh yeah, the kids absolutely loved the hot tub... couldn't get enough of it.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorCalin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danmchael, General Manager at Hotel Azure, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2011

Thank you so much! You made our day.
Best Regards,
Dan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (909)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Azure
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

778 - 784 of 909 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2011

Very nice place, we were traveling for two weeks from Texas, and this place have a beautiful view of the Lake Tahoe, nice touch with my pet, in the room we found a bed and dish with snacks for him!! . The price excellent, the room so cozy and clean!!

Room Tip: always ask for second floor with lake view.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mitiam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danmchael, General Manager at Hotel Azure, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2011

Thank you so much!
Good point on our lake views. Some guests do like the views from the lake building's first floor. This building is closer to the lake and road that separates the Inn from El Dorado Beach. Located in our Pool Building are our 2nd and 3rd. floor King Great Rooms, Standard and Deluxe Suites which have very nice lake views from a distance of roughly 150 yards. When making reservations please note that we are very specific about which rooms have lake or property views. Keep in mind also that non-view rooms are less expensive and you can enjoy viewing the lake from our lobby, fitness room, pool area and extensive grounds.
Best Regards,
Dan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

Inn by the Lake calls itself a "boutique hotel," but it's just a hotel with a pool. It's above average, but dated in decor and quality. The room did have a new, nice fridge and microwave. The bathroom is showing its age, despite the attempts at trendy dark contrasting wall colors. The bed was comfy. The towels were thin.
The best thing about Inn by the Lake is its location. It is about a mile or so from the casino strip, so it is quiet (you would probably want to drive to get to the casinos). It is a block away from the Safeway (my fave grocery in South Lake Tahoe). It is across the main drag from the lake, with an unobstructed view from the lobby/check-in area (but not necessarily from your room).
Summer 2011 is scheduled for some major road work both in town (right across from the Inn), and on Hwy 59 (multiple delays during weekdays). The noise from the construction woke me up at 6:00 am on Monday. The drive up/down from Sacramento will be considerably longer this summer during the week, so plan accordingly.
We got a pre-paid deal on the room, but it was just a standard room with a larger-than average bathroom and a view of the parking lot. I'll choose another place next year.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Renaissance_Anna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danmchael, General Manager at Hotel Azure, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2011

Thanks for your constructive input. Sorry that you were apparently unable to utilize more of our various facilities. Caltrans has completed the safety improvements at Echo Summit but there are still periodic weekday one way road closures as they work on the highway. The project in town is moving along during the week causing some delays. The end result will be new curbs, drainage, sidewalks, street lights and landscaping from Trout Creek to Ski Run Blvd.
Best Regards,
Dan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2011

I booked King size room "with lake view" and I was very excited for my stay. The hotel room was very neat and clean, and it was huge with a nice ambiance. But the lake view was not so great.

I was on 3rd floor, so I was expecting even a better view. But what I see is a parking lot, a busy road, and whole bunch of trees. The lake was visible, but the view was nothing great to be excited for.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigoyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danmchael, General Manager at Hotel Azure, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2011

We were of course pleased that you found your accommodation huge with a nice ambiance. We regret that you were disappointed by your lake view and wish to apologize. Earlier this month we completed a project where we removed dead wood and cleaned up in general the 100+ year-old Jeffery Pine trees dispersed throughout our property. The side benefit of this fire and safety program was improved views. However, as you may appreciate the rating of views is highly subjective. We will be adding more view photos to our website so that you and others may judge for yourselves.
Best Regards,
Dan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2011

This was our 2nd time here in as many months, the your place to be clean and well priced, especially for the gorgeous location. We'll definitely be back!

The young lady that checked us inwas especially helpful, she took the time to find a room suitable for my wife and kids even though you were oversold in the category we reserved. She followed up her exemplary service when I ran into a BIG snag at work and required the use your lobby computer and fax, she was wonderfully accommodating and really helped me out. I can't say I've run into that level of customer service even at those big hotel chains. She was GREAT!

We'll definitely be back...shhh don't tell too many people.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marivic1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danmchael, General Manager at Hotel Azure, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2011

Thank you for singling out Rosie for having accommodated your family so nicely and assisted with your work related challenge. Since you shared your little secret, allow me to share one of my favorite travel tips. Nice people do finish first and are often rewarded with the same level of consideration they have shown others. Rosie, like many of us in the travel business truly enjoy serving guests, assisting with challenges and contributing to the success of their visit. Actually, it is very rewarding.

We are not perfect and sometimes we error or a visitor may have had a bad travel day. Recovering from our own fumble or brightening up an otherwise bleak travel experience can also be gratifying. My primary responsibility is to keep our team motivated and I sincerely appreciate it when nice people like you take the time to share your experience. It makes my job much easier.
Best Regards,
Dan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2011

Stayed there two days. We were in town to visit family. I was disappointed right when we got to our room. There were not too many people staying there, yet they put us on the 3rd floor, with a room facing the back end of the hotel which has a really disappointing view of some trailers where I suppose some of the employees stay at. The room was very small, and the only plus was a small private balcony. It was too cold to take advantage of the lake or the pool, but they seems small and quaint. The place is pretty close to a bowling alley and a small bar, but these spots also aren't too impressive. Overall we had a good time, and I didn't mind the area, it was just a tight claustrophobic room which was probably amplified by the facts that we had a crappy view of the parking lot and trailers.
By the way, this hotel has a paper left to please leave a positive review on tripadvisor. Not a big deal, but I got the impression that they have insiders right good reviews on this website to boost their image, because there is NO way this should be ranked as the #7 hotel in South Lake Tahoe.

Room Tip: Tell them you want a decent view.
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DanielSHernandez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danmchael, General Manager at Hotel Azure, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2011

We sincerely regret that you did not enjoy your recent stay at Inn by the Lake due to the size (250 sq. ft.) of the standard single queen non-view room you reserved. While we appreciate your post, we wish that you had followed the suggestion on the Guest Comment Card you referenced. Allow me to quote “Should you have a concern please contact our 24 hour front desk for assistance.” During periods when we are not at capacity we frequently upgrade guests from our minimum rated single queen rooms to King Great Rooms (500 sq. ft.).

In fact, Guest now calling our 800 number can receive a confirmed King Great Room upgrade on most days between now and June 23, 2011. I sincerely hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you to your complete satisfaction. We are in your debt for proving that we do not use “insiders” to post positive reviews. This is one of my pet peeves as I have seen them on other sites and you can always tell. They start with 5 and frequently end with a lie!
Best Regards,
Dan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2011

The room is very roomy and peaceful. There were no noise distractions or discomforts. It was also very clean and the bed was super comfortable. The hotel does need to upgrade and is a bit expensive. The location is perfect and the staff was very accommodating.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monichikie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danmchael, General Manager at Hotel Azure, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2011

Thank you for your very kind, constructive and candid review. We were of course delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay at Inn by the Lake. As you may know ski conditions were fantastic this past winter with well spaced multiple and on occasion harsh winter storms. This was great for skiers and boarders but always takes its toll on our buildings and grounds. With the spring shoulder period upon us we have completed the clean up process and are now moving into our painting and planting stages. We are always hesitant to remove our snow stakes because once we do it is sure to snow. We never plant our more delicate flowers until after Memorial Day as to not tempt Mother Nature whom we suspect of owning an interest in our local nursery. Thanks for your support, without which we would not be able to afford our constant programs of maintenance and upgrades.

Best Regards,
Dan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.3 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#11 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,089 reviews
1.7 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
900 reviews
1.7 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#5 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa
#17 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
515 reviews
0.9 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#7 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
486 reviews
1.8 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Azure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Azure

Address: 3300 Lake Tahoe Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-7907 (Formerly Inn by the Lake)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range: £84 - £237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Azure 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Azure has undergone an extensive remodel to elevate your stay during your next trip to South Lake Tahoe. Conveniently located across the street from Lake Tahoe's El Dorado Beach, a few minutes away from Heavenly Mountain and providing easy access to all that Tahoe has to offer there is something for everyone at Hotel Azure. We have a fully equipped fitness room, sauna, outdoor swimming pool (seasonal)and bi-level spa. Enjoy our family fun center, Tahoe Bowl - featuring Blue Dog Gourmet Pizza and Lane 17 Sports Bar. Bear Beach Cafe serves breakfast, lunch and dinner for your family dining pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Azure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn By The Lake Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Hotel By The Lake
By The Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing