We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, nice pool”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Azure

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Azure
Ranked #15 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great location, nice pool”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

I have to agree with some previous posters that the term "boutique hotel" is a misnomer and it would probably be better to just call it an inn (I agree it is not a "motel"). I have stayed at several "boutique hotels" and my husband worked at one, and if someone comes to this Inn expecting that type of place, they will be disappointed. But it is a very nice Inn and we were quite happy here.

The location is superb and the views are spectacular. Every morning we woke to a gorgeous view of the lake -- we could watch parasailers, kayakers, etc on the lake. The rooms were fine -- not overly modern but I understand the GM's comments that South Lake Tahoe is very strict about any modernization plans for properties. Driving through the rest of the town, every other motel/hotel/inn, other than the very pricey place near the casinos, look like Florida motels compared to this Inn. I would much prefer to stay at this Inn because I felt like I was on a true vacation, not stuffed in some tacky motel.

My kids loved the pool and jacuzzi. The jacuzzi is bilevel which was kind of neat. The laundry facilities were good too. My husband ate at the Black Bear Cafe and liked it -- another day we had pizza at the Tahoe Bowl which is adjacent to the hotel, and it was good. It is centrally located so you don't have to travel far to go to other restaurants either. We will stay here again!

Room Tip: 3rd floor lake view is tops!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gbunny64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danmchael, General Manager at Hotel Azure, responded to this review, 4 October 2011
Thank you! In the begining we were an INN, We are an INN and will always be an INN. We dropped the boutique tag line. No more French stuff. Although, I do love France, its food and its people. The description of your family's experience is what we are all about and what we strive for each and every day.
Best Regards,
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

800 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    285
    289
    134
    61
    31
See reviews for
261
347
27
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kiev
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights at the beginning of September just before the Labor day. And we were completely satisfied with the hotel itself, the front desk and a fascinating view from the room facing the lake. Have to say those rooms with lake view are the best and worth that money. Hotel doesn't serve complimentary breakfast but you will sure like the breakfasts at their Bear Cafe just steps from the hotel. The front desk told us about nearby beaches and as we were deciding which room to take - with the lake view, but facing the street or without lake view, but facing the pool, let us try room for one night with lake view and then decide if it's OK. That was nice :). But after looking inside the room with lake view we couldn't stand taking it for all 3 nights :)) and the noise from the street, which is a highway, didn't bother us at night at all.

Room Tip: Take the room with lake view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Javil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danmchael, General Manager at Hotel Azure, responded to this review, 4 October 2011
Thank you for sharing your experience. Now through mid December, while it is beauitiful in Lake Tahoe, things do slow down. Space permitting, our Guest Service Represenatives may be able to upgrade you from a standard to a lakeview room. Ask them at check-in.
Best Regards,
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterrey, Mexico
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

My wife and I stayed this wonderful hotel on 9,10 August. It is situated among tall pines about 100 metres back from the lake with the main street running between. The traffic on the road runs so slow though, there is little or no noise from the highway. It has a wonderful pool and jacuzzi, the rooms and grounds are spotless.
Two minor issues, 1. There is no onsite restaurant but the Black Bear Cafe adjoins the property and is open 7am to 9pm. Excellent and friendly staff in there, btw.
2. The rooms are a little dated, especially the bathroom area of the room. We had a King view suite, and while large, it was a little bit dingy. The TV is an old Philips CRT 26" and the toilet bowl seemed a more appropraite size for kids rather than adults!!
However, the view to the lake was awesome, the bed confy, and all in all the stay was most enjoyable. I thouight it was worth the moeny we paid for the two nights, some 480USD.

Room Tip: Ask for the third floor to get the less obstructed view of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveEdmunds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danmchael, General Manager at Hotel Azure, responded to this review, 4 October 2011
Thank you for your kind words and constructive input. Several excellent restaurants are right across the street from the Inn. We are working on the improvements you suggested and will take action when business permits.
Best Regards,
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

We picked a perfect time to go to visit the Lake, and found a lovely Inn to stay! Just before labour day weekend, and pretty much had the lake to ourselves which was great to go on the beach, deserted, hire power boat / jet ski, Lake deserted!

The Inn itself was lovely, the room was clean and comfortable. We were overlooking the car park, which was fine for us as it meant it was peaceful.

The fact that it had a pool, comfy sunbeds and a couple of lovely hot tubs was the best after a day on the Lake, especially as the sun was going down, the warm water was a blessing!

Good location, great amenities nearby too, i would definitely recommend this to anyone.

Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank miche26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danmchael, General Manager at Hotel Azure, responded to this review, 4 October 2011
Thank you so much for your kind comments and vivid description.
Best Regards,
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

I chose to stay at the Inn By the Lake for a family vacation based on TripAdvisor reviews, the superb location and then chatting with its general manager, Dan McHale. Our experience couldn't have been better! Not only is the location perfect -- in town without being overwhelmed by the casino scene -- but the Inn had every amenity of a four-star establishment. We had a suite -- large rooms, super-comfy bed and kitchenette with a balcony and a view of the pool and the lake. The place is impeccably clean. One of the things I liked most was the absence of any "corporate" feel . .no 'nickel and diming' for services, free parking, and, no Muzak in the common areas or hallway (a particular peeve of mine). In other words, we treated the place like home and were left to ourselves to do so. There is free WI-Fi in the rooms -- I had trouble accessing it and the Inn's "I-T Expert," Paulina rushed to my aid and figured it out (THANK YOU, PAULINA). Just minutes away is a public lap-swimming pool, ice skating rink and bowling alley. Plenty of restaurants all around. Many thanks to General Manager, Dan McHale for making us feel so welcome and giving us a vacation to remember in Lake Tahoe! We will definitely return to Inn By the Lake.

Room Tip: Ask the General Manager for tips about any possible construction noise nearby -- he is quick to acco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danmchael, General Manager at Hotel Azure, responded to this review, 5 September 2011
You captured what inn by the Lake is all about. Thank you! Paulina and her fellow Guest Service Reps. represent us so well. Thank you for sharing your experience.
Best Regards,
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

The good: The grounds of the Inn by the Lake are as nice as advertised. The pool/jacuzzi looked nice. Our room was quiet and clean, and appeared freshly painted. The mattress was brand new.

The bad: Very small room. The furnishings were lamentable -- scarred laminate, inexpensive stuff circa 1970s, I'd say. The T.V. was small -- maybe 19" and CRT. The towels were clean but old and worn. The wall-to-wall carpeting was kind of funky.

Bottom line: We didn't come to Tahoe to hang out in our room, so it met our needs. If we'd been there for a longer stay, I think I'd have found the room claustrophobic. The price we got was very reasonable, so all in all we were satisfied.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MAK101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danmchael, General Manager at Hotel Azure, responded to this review, 5 September 2011
Getting what you paid for is always a good start. However, we would like to show you more. Begining in October we will be offering free upgrades from our non-view standard Queen (250 sq. ft.) rooms to our lake view king great (500 sq. ft.) rooms. Please come stay with us again.
Best Regards,
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, Ca
Level Contributor
68 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2011

We went to Tahoe with another couple for a concert nearby. We had a standard room and it overlooked the local mobile home park and the parking lot. It was nice to have a small balcony to get fresh air.

It is an older motel but it is a comfortable place to stay. We walked across the street to the lake and enjoyed the peace and tranquility of the view.

The hotel is close to the strip but far enough away from the chaos. It worked for our needs.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danmchael, General Manager at Hotel Azure, responded to this review, 5 September 2011
Thank you for pointing out that you can not find a better location on the South Shore. This is true even if you are attending one of the great concerts at Stateline.
Best Regards,
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.2 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#13 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
0.9 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#8 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
1.0 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
1.8 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,042 reviews
1.7 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#4 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Azure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Azure

Property: Hotel Azure
Address: 3300 Lake Tahoe Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-7907 (Formerly Inn by the Lake)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Azure 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Azure has undergone an extensive remodel to elevate your stay during your next trip to South Lake Tahoe. Conveniently located across the street from Lake Tahoe's El Dorado Beach, a few minutes away from Heavenly Mountain and providing easy access to all that Tahoe has to offer there is something for everyone at Hotel Azure. We have a fully equipped fitness room, sauna, outdoor swimming pool (seasonal)and bi-level spa. Enjoy our family fun center, Tahoe Bowl - featuring Blue Dog Gourmet Pizza and Lane 17 Sports Bar. Bear Beach Cafe serves breakfast, lunch and dinner for your family dining pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Azure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn By The Lake Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Hotel By The Lake
By The Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing