We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient and Beautiful”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Azure

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Azure
Ranked #15 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
254 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Convenient and Beautiful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012

We visited Lake Tahoe with my husband. We found so many hotels, motels or lodges to choose finally a friend helped us to book this hotel. We were happy to know that the hotel is nice, clean and convenient. The location is not far from restaurants and convenient store it could be reached in 5 minutes drive and you can see directly to the lake. The room is spacious as well as the bath room. They have a fridge, microwave, iron, coffee maker. The price is reasonable even though you can find cheaper accommodation around with the same condition. They have a decent pool too. no regret after all. If you choose a room across the lake the price is higher.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nia01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danmchael, General Manager at Hotel Azure, responded to this review, 26 September 2012
You said it all! Thanks for sharing your experience.
Best Regards,
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    285
    288
    134
    61
    31
See reviews for
261
346
27
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wilbraham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
88 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

Stayed here for a wedding I attended. The location is very central and it's easy to get to Stateline, NV or Emerald Bay on the west side of the lake. An unfortunate consequence of this is that the hotel is located on a very busy stretch of road. If you have a room facing the road and you want to leave your balcony door open, it can get loud. The lake is beautiful. I had a partial view in the pool building, but it's not worth the extra money in my opinion. It's true that the other side of the hotel overlooks a trailer park, so pick your poison. Parking is ample and convenient in the back. Overall, the property is nicely maintained and the rooms are comfortable and clean, if a bit dated.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonmatt4nr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danmchael, General Manager at Hotel Azure, responded to this review, 26 September 2012
We are very proud of our housekeeping and maintenance departments. Thank you for recognizing them.
Best Regards,
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san jose, ca, usa
Level Contributor
82 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

the hotel is pretty old but remodeled a bit that it looks cabiny but if you look closer its really dark and slightly musty but cleaned very well. So as to cleanliness, i rate it 4 stars. As to service, you don't really see anyone so other than checking in/out, nothing to rate. TV is those big box types. The bed is the good part. Its pretty comfortable and high. Water pressure good but water doesn't go down so fast/well. The hot tub great. The location is great, cross the street and you're at the beach. Go sideways and you can have breakfast at the Bear Beach Cafe. They have great burgers.

Room Tip: no need to choose room with a view... there is not much of a view anyways since you are across the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank jangjangjang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danmchael, General Manager at Hotel Azure, responded to this review, 26 September 2012
Thank you for your constructive feed-back. Sorry we failed to impress you.
Best Regards,
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Gatos, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

Been here multiple times over the years. Whether it's summer or winter, this has been a great go-to hotel for us. Close enough to the casinos that you can check them out with ease but still have a nice peaceful smoke-free haven to return to. With Heavenly just minutes away, this hotel clearly has an overall excellent location. The 1 BR Suite and 2 BR Suite with the full kitchen really comes in handy for those traveling with family or friends. The pool/hot tub and exercise room are all well-maintained. Parking is plentiful. Free use of cruiser bikes is a nice way to explore the area. Love the onsite Bear Beach restaurant and the adjacent Tahoe Bowl. We definitely will continue to be back soon again.

Room Tip: Suites are large and have a full kitchen and dining area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danmchael, General Manager at Hotel Azure, responded to this review, 26 September 2012
Thank you so much for your very kind comments. Fall is in the air and we are n the mist of enjoying a change of seasons. Come up to see us again soon.
Best Regards,
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

This hotel is across the street from the beach in South Lake, and we thought the views weren't that great. You see a lot of cars and some trees blocking the view of the lake. The room was good for an older building but for the same price, you can get some nicer places in North Shore where it's quieter. South Lake Tahoe is just too congested and from this hotel you would have to drive in traffic to restaurants (and casinos).

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MountainSky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danmchael, General Manager at Hotel Azure, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
Thanks for your constructive comments. Sorry that we apparently did not provide you with more information on our neighborhood. We have multiple restaurants within a few minute walk of the Inn. This would include Bear Beach Cafe, MacDuff's Pub and the top local favorite in town Freshies. Across the street and 100 yards west of us is Tahoe's newest public beach and ampatheatre - Lakeview Commons. the north shore is great but there is more to do here in Tahoe South as we are closer to Emerald Bay, Valhalla and Sand Harbor. Better yet stay in Tahoe for two or more days and drive around the lake to sample the amazing sights and varied communities.
Best Regards,
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

The hotel is great and very well kept with a nice view from your lake facing balcony. We were barked at by dogs occupying the third floor the first evening and by another in an adjacent room while we were enjoying coffee on the balcony the next morning. I have never seen so many dogs at one hotel. We inquired at the front desk asking if we were in the pet section of the hotel and were informed that they recently opened up all floors to pets. So if you are traveling with your pet you will most likely be pleased.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrianandKristi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danmchael, General Manager at Hotel Azure, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
Thank you for your very nice comments on the Inn. Please accept our sincere apologies for being bothered by sevral of our 4 legged guests. We have always maintained a practiice that one guests activities should not interfere with the enjoyment of another guests. Moving forward we will take steps to insure that this also applies to pets. We appreciate your constructive and helpful feed-back.
Best Regards,
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

We stayed at the Inn by the Lake the weekend prior to July 4th. My husband and I were scouting out a new hotel location. In previous years we spent our nearly all of our Tahoe vacations at a particular hotel that is closer to the Casinos.
The Pros: spacious room. The standard King room had two sinks: one in the bathroom and the other in the sitting/changing area outside the bathroom. Terry robes were provided. No charge for parking. Large chain grocery store was two blocks away. And, of course, the Lake was immediately across the street. The hot tub/spa was also wonderfully relaxing.
The Cons: The rooms facing the Lake are dark (no sun all day). We had a room on the top floor in the area where the pool is located. Additionally I found the continual traffic noise from Lake Tahoe Blvd bothersome. Granted the room’s sliding glass doors mute the sound extremely well. During the day, with the doors open, it’s fairly noisy.
Probably due to the traffic noise alone we’ll continue our search for different lodging in Tahoe.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Californiaperson111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danmchael, General Manager at Hotel Azure, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
Thank you for your very detailed and constructive review. Unfortunately, the lake is located north of us, thus the positioning of our guest room buildings. We were delighted to learn recently that a USA Today readers survey named Lake Tahoe the "Most Beauitiful Lake in Ameerica."
Best Regards,
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.2 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#13 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
0.9 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#8 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
1.0 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
1.8 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,042 reviews
1.7 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#4 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Azure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Azure

Property: Hotel Azure
Address: 3300 Lake Tahoe Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-7907 (Formerly Inn by the Lake)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Azure 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Azure has undergone an extensive remodel to elevate your stay during your next trip to South Lake Tahoe. Conveniently located across the street from Lake Tahoe's El Dorado Beach, a few minutes away from Heavenly Mountain and providing easy access to all that Tahoe has to offer there is something for everyone at Hotel Azure. We have a fully equipped fitness room, sauna, outdoor swimming pool (seasonal)and bi-level spa. Enjoy our family fun center, Tahoe Bowl - featuring Blue Dog Gourmet Pizza and Lane 17 Sports Bar. Bear Beach Cafe serves breakfast, lunch and dinner for your family dining pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Azure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn By The Lake Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Hotel By The Lake
By The Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing