We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quick getaway”
Review of Hotel Azure

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Azure
Ranked #15 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Sonoma County
1 review
“Quick getaway”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Location is nice and across the street from the lake. The rooms and decorations are really dated as is the furniture in the room. We had a lake view room and it was very spacious. I choose this place because it was dog friendly and because we could see the lake. I would probably stay at another location because this place isn't memorable, or memorable for the wrong reason(s). The shower head was very powerful, almost uncomfortable really. The smell was very strong in the hallways of cleaning products. Not sure what smell they were trying to hide but it was a bit overpowering. The website didn't mention that the hot tub was not open during this time of year..

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darcy707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danmchael, General Manager at Hotel Azure, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
I am very sorry that an apparent oder from our fall heavy cleaning program caucsed you concern. We try to schedule this around and away from occupied rooms each day. We work hard to keep our very popular bi-level spa open year round but we had to replace an underwater bulb and did not get it back to full tempature by night fall. We apologize on both accounts.
Best Regards,
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

816 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    291
    296
    136
    62
    31
See reviews for
266
353
29
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

This hotel was a little bit of a letdown. We paid for a "lake view" room, but lake view meant looking over a parking lot, over a low 1-story building, over a busy road, and through the trees. It's true that we could see blue water, but it was an obstructed view and nothing special.

We were also disappointed in the comfort of the room. The air conditioning wasn't turned on (our stay was in October), so the room was warm and stuffy even when we set the fan to the coldest setting. We could open the windows to let in fresh cool air, but then cigarette smoke and noise from the hot tub area, not to mention the expected road noise, would filter in.

We paid $250 a night; seems like this room should have been more in the $100 range.

On the positive side, the room was large, the hotel is nicely located for driving around the Tahoe area, and it was nice to walk to the Bear Beach Cafe for breakfast.

All in all, it was ok but nothing special. With so many other hotel options in the area, I don't think I'd stay here again.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank CE55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danmchael, General Manager at Hotel Azure, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
See posting which follows. This appears to be a duplicate. Again, we wish to apologize for the apprent shortcomings you experienced.
Best Regards,
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
135 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Wife and I stayed here recently for our anniversary weekend. It was a last minute change. We had been booked to go to Yosemite but thanks to the government shutdown we had to change our plans. Inn by the Lake seemed to be one of the better options available on short notice. It was OK, but not as nice as we had expected for the price.

First, when they say "suite" they reall mean a full 1BR apartment with living room, dining area, kitchen, etc. That may have been my bad on reading the description. I assumed a "suite" would be more like a regular hotel suite not a full apartment. That part was OK. Just more than we really expected or needed. Second, when they say "lake view" it means you can see the lake across the parking lot and over the roof of another building and across a busy road and between some trees. Yes, it is definitely a lake view and it is pretty, but not quite as nice as the photos. We were in the "pool building" so further back from the road. There is also a "lake building" which is closer to the lake and presumably has better views, but those rooms would also be right on the very busy main drag road running through SLT, so I would expect them to be much noisier. Our room was noisy enough in the front room. Thankfully the bedroom was toward the back so it didn't get road noise. It wasn't exactly quiet though.

The windows to our suite looked over the parking lot/lake, etc. But the balcony and patio doors and the bedroom windows were right above the hot tub. Thankfully the pool was closed for the season. The hot tub was very popular, though, seemingly all day and into the night with kids having splash parties early on and then adults drinking and reveling at night. Probably could've lived with that except for the fact that the room was also very hot and stuffy. A/C apparently had been turned off for the season so our options were heat (it wasn't cold enough yet for that) or nothing. We tried opening the window to let cool air in but then had to listen to the hot tub crowd and smell their cigarette (and other) smoke wafting in to our bedroom. I would definitely avoid the rooms/suites facing the rear of the hotel away from the lake. Those have a view of nothing but a parking lot and an eyesore trailer park right next door. I would've been really unhappy with that view if the view mattered to me.

Aside from that, it was an OK hotel. The decor is a little dated, but it did have a nice kitchen and a decent bathroom with a big jacuzzi tub. It was clean and comfortable for the most part. We didn't spend a lot of time in the room. Otherwise, I think I would've been more disappointed. All in all, it was just OK. But for $250 a night, I expected more than just OK. Probably wouldn't stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the lake have decent views, but lots of road noise. Avoid rooms overlooking the pool or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElliottCooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danmchael, General Manager at Hotel Azure, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Thanks for taking the time to post your detailed comments. Sorry you missed an opportunity to visit Yosimite. Many of our guests go on to this natural wonder after staying with us in Lake Tahoe. It is worth a second effort. Yes, our deluxe suites do feature complete kitchens and we regret that this aparently caused you concern. Thank you again for sharing your perspective.
Best regards,
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nokomis, Florida
Level Contributor
88 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Nice size room. Need more pillows on the bed. The room had a mini frig and microwave.
Hallways and elevator was musty smelling.
We had a room on the third floor overlooking the pool and a great view of the
Lake

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rockystheman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danmchael, General Manager at Hotel Azure, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Thank you for your very kind comments and we are of course pleased that you enjoyed your stay. While we have cleaning programs going on continually, our hallway carpets are professionally steam cleaned in the spring and fall. Sorry for any residual oder. We look forward to your next visit.
Best Regards,
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kmclifford
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

My husband and I went to Tahoe for a wedding and stayed at Inn by the Lake for 1 night. The staff at the front desk were EXCELLENT. I cannot say enough about their kind and helpful attitudes.

The room was very large, we had a king room with a lake view. The view was excellent, overlooking beautiful lake Tahoe. The amenities were also good, our room had a microwave, fridge and coffee maker. There was a nice flat screen TV as well. We also had robes which were excellent when we wanted to go the hot tub.

We would stay here again!

Room Tip: Try and get the "lake building" it is closer to the street with clearer views of the Lake...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmclifford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danmchael, General Manager at Hotel Azure, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Thank you for sharing your very nice comments on the Inn and our staff. Glad you enjoyed our new flat screen TVs. Yesterday Charter installed boxes for improved digital reception along with a host of new channels. While most of our guests enjoy the great outdoors during the day, it is our goal to provide the same level of programing you have at home for your evenings viewing enjoyment.
Best Regards,
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa FL
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We stayed here our first two nights of our two week trip. Landing in Reno made this location an easy and scenic drive. Our room was great. It was in the building with the pool and hot tub outside. It was very clean and cheerful. We would stop by the office and get a coffee and then cross the street for a morning walk at the beach and then eat at the Bear Cafe next door where the food is great.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelBugTampaFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danmchael, General Manager at Hotel Azure, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Loved your comments stright to the important points and yet inviting. Please come again.
Best Regards,
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 September 2013

The staff was delightful and very helpful. We had 1-1/2 days for our first visit to Tahoe, and they directed us to a perfect hiking spot, an amazing breakfast institution, gave us bikes, helmets and locks to take a beautiful bike ride and signed us up for a great dinner boat cruise. The rooms were large, clean and comfortable. We didn't have time to use the pool but it looked nice. Good location. While not luxurious, it was perfect for us and great value for the money. We would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Because it was a holiday weekend. no rooms with views were available. As we were not in our room lon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StarfishLeslie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danmchael, General Manager at Hotel Azure, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Thanks for posting. We have nearly completed a very busy and rewarding summer. If you thought we were a great value then, please try us in value (most of October & November) season. Typically the weather remains very nice.
Best Regards,
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.2 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#13 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 867 reviews
0.9 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#7 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
1.0 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
1.8 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,057 reviews
1.7 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#4 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Azure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Azure

Property: Hotel Azure
Address: 3300 Lake Tahoe Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-7907 (Formerly Inn by the Lake)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Azure 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Azure has undergone an extensive remodel to elevate your stay during your next trip to South Lake Tahoe. Conveniently located across the street from Lake Tahoe's El Dorado Beach, a few minutes away from Heavenly Mountain and providing easy access to all that Tahoe has to offer there is something for everyone at Hotel Azure. We have a fully equipped fitness room, sauna, outdoor swimming pool (seasonal)and bi-level spa. Enjoy our family fun center, Tahoe Bowl - featuring Blue Dog Gourmet Pizza and Lane 17 Sports Bar. Bear Beach Cafe serves breakfast, lunch and dinner for your family dining pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Azure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn By The Lake Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Hotel By The Lake
By The Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing