We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you are traveling with children, there are plenty of things for them to do, would rather stay here than Harveys”
Review of Hotel Azure

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Azure
Ranked #13 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 February 2011

There is a bowling alley with pizza shop right there. There is also a resturant right next to the hotel but I would not reccomment it. Food was terrible. The staff is very helpful. The view of the lake was wonderful. Everything was very comfortible & clean. Would highly reccommend this Inn to anyone. I work for an Inn in California so it was such a pleasure to stay it such a great place.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rowenaparnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danmchael, General Manager at Hotel Azure, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2011

You bring up a good point. We have several very nice casino hotels two miles down Lake Tahoe Blvd. at Stateline. So if you come strictly to gamble give one of them a try. Loose enough and you might get a free room! Seriously, the casinos also offer some great shows and fine dining but make the Inn your home base in all seasons.

Consider this, if you are here with the family - especially young children, our mid town, lake view neighborhood offers convenience to the Lake, Heavenly’s California Lodge, Sierra at Tahoe, El Dorado & Regan Beach, recreation center, ice arena, bike paths, local restaurants etcetera. This is in addition to the amenities offered on our six acres.

Delighted you enjoyed a break from your hospitality responsibilities and found the Inn to your liking.


Best Regards,
Dan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (902)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Azure
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

781 - 787 of 902 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2011

My husband, our two younger kids and myself stayed for two nights at the Inn by the Lake.

Pros: Nice hot tub and pool, awesome view--if you stay in the lake building, friendly service quiet, confortable bed.

Cons: Not sure what is so "boutique" about the place--its not!! Older and needs updating, not very fresh and inviting. Tile grout in bathroom was dirty, as were the floors in the hallways--especially the corners--YUCK!!

They have a restaurant on site, bowling alley and pizza place--was afraid to try any of them out! I think with some cleaning and updating, this place could be a gem...but until then, I probably won't return or recommend to a friend.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beansielover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danmchael, General Manager at Hotel Azure, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2011

Good grief, this is the worst review we have received in sometime. Please accept our sincere apologies for the possible housekeeping shortcomings you described. Thanks to abundant snowfall, ski conditions have been outstanding this winter. This does bring with it the challenge of keeping our tiled entryways clear and clean of the slush that is tracked into our buildings. Not sure if this is what you referenced?

May I suggest to you and TripAdvisor readers that should they encounter shortcomings, while staying in a first class lodging facility, bring it to the attention of the Guest Service Representative at the 24/7 front desk. Should you not receive an acceptable reaction ask to speak to a supervisor or manager. Housekeeping complaints are few and far between at Inn by the Lake and we have no record of this being brought (we log everything) to our attention. We are one of the few properties in South Lake Tahoe with interior hallways. Typically, the corridors, like the rest of the Inn are very well maintained. As we demonstrate, from time to time, we are not perfect and sincerely appreciate it when a registered guest lets us know promptly of a problem.

We work hard to maintain and improve upon our high rating on TripAdvisor. However, more important than the rating is what our guests actually say about the Inn. Friendly, responsive service and a high level of cleanliness are of paramount importance. We also suggest perspective guests consider the range of amenities offered by a property and how this lines up with their needs and expectations. For instance, a number of the small properties rated higher than Inn by the Lake are older motels with updated rooms that are apparently exceptionally well managed. On the other hand they offer little more than a parking lot when it comes to other features. If all you require is a bed for the night, by all means consider one of these well run facilities. In other words we strive to be number (5) five when taken in our totality.

If you’re looking for a bit more in features and amenities, give Tahoe’s Boutique Resort a try.

Best Regards,
Dan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2011

First of all this place is not a boutique hotel. It is comfortable, but not a boutique. The staff is absolutely wonderful - extremely friendly and knowledgeable about restaurants and ski/activities in the area. We stayed in the pool building in the back and unless you are coming with alot of people, which warrants a bigger suite in the lake building, I would say save your money and stay in the pool building. The lake building is across the street from the lake and you probably won't have a spectacular view anyway if you are not in one of the few rooms in the front.

The room was pretty hot and we slept with the sliding door open all night and the heat off. The room was very clean. Definitely felt safe and secure here. Free wifi and great having a fridge and microwave in the room.

Really nice that they have a restaurant on the property, but would be great if a breakfast deal was included. They do rent snowshoes for free in the winter and we had fun walking around the lake in them for a bit.

The main reason we chose this place was for the sauna, hot tub, pool, and work out room. They are great facilities, but while we were here they were being miss-used by children and teenagers and it was less than relaxing. I do have to say though, although this was a disappointment, I told the front desk and left a note in the comment card and the hotel manager contacted me personally to say he would be addressing my issue and was taking my concern seriously. Very thankful for the great customer service.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wordofthewise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danmchael, General Manager at Hotel Azure, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2011

It was good to hear from you again and thank you for posting your comprehensive comments on TripAdvisor. Since we have already communicated directly, I will limit this posting to the boutique point you raised for the benefit of other TripAdvisor readers.

We added the phrase “Tahoe’s Boutique Resort” to our monument sign and collateral a little over 6 years ago. It is an attempt to get across the fact that we offer more than rooms & suites, are small in size and unique in our varied offerings. Situated on roughly 6 acres, we offer lake views, pool & bi-level spa, sauna, fitness room, bowling center, sports bar, pizza parlor, restaurant and nice grounds for summer lawn games. Over the years the Boutique Hotel designation has morphed into multiple meanings. I read recently in the LA Times where a new 3000-room hotel in Las Vegas was referred to as a boutique hotel. Go figure? The latest and hottest lodging designation is Lifestyle hotel. Not really sure what this means. So I guess we are not hip enough to move in that direction. Should TripAdvisor readers have suggestions for a new more meaningful Inn by the Lake tag line we would be interested in hearing from you. Trust me, the last thing we wish to do is mislead anyone. We are very proud of what we are and what we offer. Plus, who needs the aggravation?

Best Regards,
Dan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2011

We spent our Christmas Vacation at the Inn by the Lake. We upgraded to the one bedroom suite with a kitchen and found it to be a very well appointed and spacious room.

The location of the hotel is superb. Very easy to find and our room had a wonderful view of the lake. We walked to the bowling alley one day for pizza and bowling (right behind the hotel) and the pub across the street is kid friendly and adult friendly. Great drinks and great people. Kirkwood Village was just a short drive and parking was really easy.

My kids loved the pool, spa and gameroom while I hit the nicely stocked gym once a day.
The hotel service was wonderful and we were not left wanting for anything. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brooksie211211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danmchael, General Manager at Hotel Azure, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2011

Thank you so much for spending your family’s Christmas holiday at Inn by the Lake. Delighted that you enjoyed our location, facilities and services. Glad you mentioned our lake views and mid-town neighborhood. We have some great businesses and facilities on either side of our property. We are very proud of our Tahoe Bowl, which is the basins largest family fun center. Personally, I get a kick out of our clientele which is comprised of locals, second home owners and visitors ranging in age from toddlers to seniors. With our computerized scoring system, if you can spell your name and tie your shoes you are assured of a good time. Lane 17 Sports bar is our answer to the friendly atmosphere portrayed in “Cheers.” Blue Dog Gourmet Pizza is frequently rated the best in town. Now I’m hungry! Think I’ll stroll over to Tahoe Bowl to enjoy the luncheon special.
Best Regards,
Dan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2010

We live in S.F.-CA, I had been in Salt Lake caring for my father for 6 weeks. He passed away on Dec. 9th. On our way back to Cali, my husband surprised me by taking me to Lake Tahoe for a couple of days to unwind. He called ahead & explained to them that he wanted something nice for me. Wow! Our room was beautiful, and had a beautiful view of the Lake. It was very clean, had a terrific little bar are w/a fridge, microwave, and a coffee maker. The bed was SO comfortable & there were robes in the room. The bathroom has a separate vanity outside the toilet/shower area which is very nice. The room was a little too warm when we arrived but that was the only negative. We sat on the balcony & looked at the Lake...it is very quiet & peaceful. The staff was very helpful in recommending restaurants and things to do. We had a 5-star experience at a 3-star price. Superb! Will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mattocksgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danmchael, General Manager at Hotel Azure, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2010

Allow me to begin by conveying my condolences upon the passing of your father. I am pleased that Inn by the Lake served as a pleasant retreat after such a stressful period. Thank you for painting such an accurate description of one of our King Great Rooms. I too never tire of the lake view. It’s interesting that you should mention star ratings. And thank you for mentioning that our team provided a 5-star experience. Caring, friendly and responsive service need not be confined to upscale and pricey facilities. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Inn.
Best Regards,
Dan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2010

Through no fault of the hotel staff my husband and I had to move rooms 3 times on the day we checked in due to various issues. Each time we raised a concern with the front desk, they did their best to accommodate us. We give special thanks to Mallory at the front desk for upgrading us to a far larger and quieter room. We truly appreciate the great service and we are writing this review at the end of our "adventurous" first night. Thank you so much!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MeanderingCows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danmchael, General Manager at Hotel Azure, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2010

Thank you for the wonderful accolade pertaining to our Guest Service Representative. Naturally, we are delighted that Malerie represented Inn by the Lake so well. We do have a variety of guest room types to suit various tastes and budgets. Sorry about the impromptu room tour but glad things worked out to your satisfaction. Thank you again for posting and your kind words.
Best Regards,
Dan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2010

Easy to walk to town and shopping beautiful to have balcony w/view to stree and lake

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharinid1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danmchael, General Manager at Hotel Azure, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2010

Delighted you found our location "awesome" and enjoyed your stay at Inn by the Lake. The major snow storm which opened our ski resorts with a bang in late November will be followed by more fresh powder this week. This bodes well for a White Christmas. Come back up and see for yourself!
Best Regards,
Dan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.3 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#11 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,076 reviews
1.7 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#8 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
900 reviews
1.7 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#5 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#7 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
484 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa
#17 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
515 reviews
1.8 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Azure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Azure

Address: 3300 Lake Tahoe Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-7907 (Formerly Inn by the Lake)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range: £85 - £232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Azure 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Azure has undergone an extensive remodel to elevate your stay during your next trip to South Lake Tahoe. Conveniently located across the street from Lake Tahoe's El Dorado Beach, a few minutes away from Heavenly Mountain and providing easy access to all that Tahoe has to offer there is something for everyone at Hotel Azure. We have a fully equipped fitness room, sauna, outdoor swimming pool (seasonal)and bi-level spa. Enjoy our family fun center, Tahoe Bowl - featuring Blue Dog Gourmet Pizza and Lane 17 Sports Bar. Bear Beach Cafe serves breakfast, lunch and dinner for your family dining pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Azure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn By The Lake Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Hotel By The Lake
By The Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing