We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“STAY AWAY.. this place is a dump!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bluelake Inn at Tahoe
Ranked #23 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Reviewed 9 August 2011

Yeah, the title says it all. The rooms were very bad. Everything was falling apart. The shower curtains had mold all over them. The sink was falling apart. It smelt SOO bad in the room I asked to change rooms after walking in there, but they could not offer me anything else. The service was bad and I did not feel safe there. Id def recommend staying somewhere else.. not worth it at all!

Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
Thank renae l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (228)
There are newer reviews for Bluelake Inn at Tahoe
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 228 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2011

I think we have paid 110 $ on July 4th weekenk and booked 4 days before the vacation... So i feel the price is ok becuase other places were very expensive ... They have 2 queen bed in a room and room is clean and neat...
Walkable distance to Casinos [ 5 mins walk ]
I would suggest better park your car in the hotel itself because very less parking in Lake Tahoe beach.. You can walk in 10 to 15 mins .... If you have small kids better you can drop them and you can walk back..
You have souvenir shop near your hotel and its cheap than buying near lake tahoe.
Gas station is near by ,Rite Aid is near by so you can get your groceries there..
Room has microwave and fridge and TV ...
Breakfast is very little [ Mostly friut ]
Small Swiming pool --better to take a dip in lake tahoe :-) ...

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Srinib20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

If you are looking for a good value for a clean hotel, this is a great place to stay. Staff was very friendly, and room was fairly spacious with both a microwave and a refrigerator. This is a typical old Tahoe Hotel, so if you are looking for something updated and modern, this is probably not the place for you, but be prepared to spend a lot more if that is what you are looking for. If you are looking for something clean, and basically just some place to lay your head for a few hours rest after skiing, gambling, or enjoying the lake, then this may suit you to a T!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank avaryclassylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

I made a last minute decision to take our 4 kids up to Tahoe to be with family that was camping. It was one of the few hotels that had 2 queen beds at a decent rate given the timing. Booking was easy through Hotels.com and I got the price that was quoted.

We arrived late and found our keys in an envelope available to anyone walking by, which was a little scary. Apparently they don't have a night desk person, so you're on your own except in emergencies.

The room was clean, although the bathroom door had a kicked-in hole and gang text scratched in it. The TV was ancient and half the channels were snow (pet-peeve of mine, program it already!). They had lots of extra disposable cups, so that was useful. There was no couch in the room, so sleeping was crowded, but that's what I get for scheduling late.

The beds were not too comfortable at all and I didn't sleep well, but the sheets and linens were clean. One of the front windows was missing a screen and the other was bent. The wireless Internet was nice and seemed to work fine.

The "continental breakfast" was pretty sparse, only offering doughnuts, coffee, hot chocolate, apples, bananas, milk/OJ and oatmeal. The dining room was tiny and many people had to take their food back to their rooms.

It is located very close to the Heavenly shopping area, although we didn't go there on this trip. Parking was a bit tight and full Saturday night, but many folks were probably hitting the casinos, I assume.

Overall, given the price it really wasn't that bad of a stay. In the future, I'd pay a bit more to have some more room and get a little better quality room.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigD_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2011

Location is perfect but this dumpster of a place is an insult to the location!!!! Couldn't find worse customer service anywhere else! Beware of malfunctioning fridges that sound like someone is dying at night (ear plugs highly recommended) and broken jet spas that are not fixed and yet you do not get refunded for the inconvenience after inquiring a million times!!!! All in all I would not recommend you stay here unless the offer is below $60/night!! I paid $159 when the marriot timber lodge had rooms going for $109. I feel robbed!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dr3636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2011

I read the reviews and double check their website before I booked this motel. As a family trip, I always look for continental breakfast and their continental breakfast was disappointing. They served cheap donuts, and old fruits!
I was expecting they could served at least a decent breakfast like with waffles or pancake with fresh fruits, danish instead of donuts, considering their rates are high per night.
I was dissapointed coz some motel my family would stayed in had decent continental breakfast.

One of the reviewed mention about new bathroom.... Ours were old and nasty! Not to mentioned their mattress....were very old and rotten. It was pretty disgusting!

Well, people if you wanna waste your bucks...definitely not in this motel.

Room Tip: not this one!
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank exoticsmurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

This hotel is very basic and could probably use a remodel but at their prices, I will not complain. Room had a refrigerator and microwave which helps save on meals and is within walking distance of the casinos just across the border. Rooms on the bottom floor will hear creaks from the upper floor so stay on the top floor if you can. I have stayed here a few times and was wakened once by the creaking in the upper room but I am a very light sleeper as well. On a night when I had an upper floor room, I slept very well. Room locks worked fine, sheets were clean, good place all around. I stay here when I go through Lake Tahoe. Never had a chance to check out breakfast or the pool. Wireless Internet is free.

Room Tip: Request a room on the top floor.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank RockhopperPenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.1 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#5 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,121 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
#34 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
264 reviews
0.5 mi away
Americana Village
Americana Village
#6 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Avalon Lodge
Avalon Lodge
#44 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
183 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe
Holiday Inn Express South Lake T...
#21 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
459 reviews
0.1 mi away
3 Peaks Resort & Beach Club
3 Peaks Resort & Beach Club
#20 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluelake Inn at Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluelake Inn at Tahoe

Address: 944 Friday Ave, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6925
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#5 Spa Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range: £41 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Bluelake Inn at Tahoe 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Bluelake Inn at Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blue Lake Inn @ Heavenly Village Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Blue Lake Tahoe
South Lake Tahoe Blue Lake Inn
Lake Tahoe Blue Lake Inn
Blue Lake Inn Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing