We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly decent for the price--clean and w/good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bluelake Inn at Tahoe
Ranked #27 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
328 reviews
237 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 727 helpful votes
“Perfectly decent for the price--clean and w/good location”
Reviewed 14 August 2011

I stayed here with a friend on the last week-end of July on a Saturday when South Lake Tahoe prices are 3X what they are during the week. This place seems to have gotten a worse ranking than it deserves thanks to a lot of questionable first-time reviewers. The place is not AAA rated, probably because they're not staffed at night (a AAA requirement, and admittedly this place's big weak point). If it weren't for that, this would be a perfectly decent 2* property. Everything is clean and well kept-up, from the exterior and the pool/hot tub to the combo bathtub and shower. There's no flat-screen or HD TV, but there was a full spectrum of channels which all came through clearly. The mattress, while firm for some (fine for me), was at least new and not sagging. The outside sink was a blessing for those of us who like to shave while their friend showers. No parking problems. Best of all is the location, within easy walking distance of the Stateline casinos and the Heavenly gondola. You're going to have a hard time finding a clean, well-kept up place for $120 on a peak night at a similar location (I can tell you I've seen worse in that area). If you can deal with no real breakfast to speak of (go to the Forrest buffet!), and almost no service (nobody there at 10 AM, and locked up around 10 PM I believe), you should be happy here. You shouldn't have to pay much more than $40 on a typical Sunday-Thursday, though (look around).

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lebelgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    85
    57
    20
    12
See reviews for
63
76
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
sacramento
1 review
Reviewed 9 August 2011

Yeah, the title says it all. The rooms were very bad. Everything was falling apart. The shower curtains had mold all over them. The sink was falling apart. It smelt SOO bad in the room I asked to change rooms after walking in there, but they could not offer me anything else. The service was bad and I did not feel safe there. Id def recommend staying somewhere else.. not worth it at all!

Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank renae l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these South Lake Tahoe hotels

Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2011

I think we have paid 110 $ on July 4th weekenk and booked 4 days before the vacation... So i feel the price is ok becuase other places were very expensive ... They have 2 queen bed in a room and room is clean and neat...
Walkable distance to Casinos [ 5 mins walk ]
I would suggest better park your car in the hotel itself because very less parking in Lake Tahoe beach.. You can walk in 10 to 15 mins .... If you have small kids better you can drop them and you can walk back..
You have souvenir shop near your hotel and its cheap than buying near lake tahoe.
Gas station is near by ,Rite Aid is near by so you can get your groceries there..
Room has microwave and fridge and TV ...
Breakfast is very little [ Mostly friut ]
Small Swiming pool --better to take a dip in lake tahoe :-) ...

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Srinib20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

If you are looking for a good value for a clean hotel, this is a great place to stay. Staff was very friendly, and room was fairly spacious with both a microwave and a refrigerator. This is a typical old Tahoe Hotel, so if you are looking for something updated and modern, this is probably not the place for you, but be prepared to spend a lot more if that is what you are looking for. If you are looking for something clean, and basically just some place to lay your head for a few hours rest after skiing, gambling, or enjoying the lake, then this may suit you to a T!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avaryclassylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern California
Level Contributor
221 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

I made a last minute decision to take our 4 kids up to Tahoe to be with family that was camping. It was one of the few hotels that had 2 queen beds at a decent rate given the timing. Booking was easy through Hotels.com and I got the price that was quoted.

We arrived late and found our keys in an envelope available to anyone walking by, which was a little scary. Apparently they don't have a night desk person, so you're on your own except in emergencies.

The room was clean, although the bathroom door had a kicked-in hole and gang text scratched in it. The TV was ancient and half the channels were snow (pet-peeve of mine, program it already!). They had lots of extra disposable cups, so that was useful. There was no couch in the room, so sleeping was crowded, but that's what I get for scheduling late.

The beds were not too comfortable at all and I didn't sleep well, but the sheets and linens were clean. One of the front windows was missing a screen and the other was bent. The wireless Internet was nice and seemed to work fine.

The "continental breakfast" was pretty sparse, only offering doughnuts, coffee, hot chocolate, apples, bananas, milk/OJ and oatmeal. The dining room was tiny and many people had to take their food back to their rooms.

It is located very close to the Heavenly shopping area, although we didn't go there on this trip. Parking was a bit tight and full Saturday night, but many folks were probably hitting the casinos, I assume.

Overall, given the price it really wasn't that bad of a stay. In the future, I'd pay a bit more to have some more room and get a little better quality room.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigD_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2011

Location is perfect but this dumpster of a place is an insult to the location!!!! Couldn't find worse customer service anywhere else! Beware of malfunctioning fridges that sound like someone is dying at night (ear plugs highly recommended) and broken jet spas that are not fixed and yet you do not get refunded for the inconvenience after inquiring a million times!!!! All in all I would not recommend you stay here unless the offer is below $60/night!! I paid $159 when the marriot timber lodge had rooms going for $109. I feel robbed!!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dr3636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed 2 July 2011

I read the reviews and double check their website before I booked this motel. As a family trip, I always look for continental breakfast and their continental breakfast was disappointing. They served cheap donuts, and old fruits!
I was expecting they could served at least a decent breakfast like with waffles or pancake with fresh fruits, danish instead of donuts, considering their rates are high per night.
I was dissapointed coz some motel my family would stayed in had decent continental breakfast.

One of the reviewed mention about new bathroom.... Ours were old and nasty! Not to mentioned their mattress....were very old and rotten. It was pretty disgusting!

Well, people if you wanna waste your bucks...definitely not in this motel.

Room Tip: not this one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank exoticsmurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.3 mi away
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
#35 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
254 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#4 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,059 reviews
0.5 mi away
Americana Village
Americana Village
#6 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Trailhead
The Trailhead
#41 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
45 reviews
0.1 mi away
Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe
Big Pines Mountain House of Taho...
#23 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
470 reviews
0.1 mi away
3 Peaks Resort & Beach Club
3 Peaks Resort & Beach Club
#19 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluelake Inn at Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluelake Inn at Tahoe

Property: Bluelake Inn at Tahoe
Address: 944 Friday Ave, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6925
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Bluelake Inn at Tahoe 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Bluelake Inn at Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blue Lake Inn @ Heavenly Village Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Blue Lake Tahoe
South Lake Tahoe Blue Lake Inn
Lake Tahoe Blue Lake Inn
Blue Lake Inn Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing