We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wasn't all it was cracked up to be!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bluelake Inn at Tahoe
Ranked #27 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Sacramento, California
1 review
“Wasn't all it was cracked up to be!”
Reviewed 20 September 2011

I went with my team just a little while ago and completely hated it, their site said free tv got there and the thing was missing the power button, free continental breakfast consited of coffee and donuts(about the quality you'd get at a 7-11), when i got in the shower there after a 4 hour hike ready to relax brown water came out of the spout!!!! and just over all the same typical rude service i get every year on my teams retreat to Tahoe

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cody_m_v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    85
    57
    20
    12
See reviews for
63
76
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Yuba City, California
1 review
Reviewed 29 August 2011

Great room for the price. A/C worked good, clean room, little coffee maker in room, super cold refrig., hot shower, hair dryer in room. Walking distance to Stateline activities, and gondolas. We made a reservation the day before travel for 2 rooms, and then for another room. They made accomadations for all 3 to be very close together after finding out we were together.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jscotthuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

It's a simple little lodge type of place! All we needed for our one-night stay! Rooms were clean and very close to the casinos (about 3 blocks from Horizon)! When the room door was open, you could see Heavenly mountain! I'd definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHX
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

I stayed at the Blue Lake Inn in August 2011 for several nights. The hotel location is pretty darn good. You are walking distance to the lake, the Heavenly area and the Stateline casinos. Parking was sometimes very tight, as the hotel seemed full during my stay. I had a room which seemed like it had been recently "partially" renovated. Other people in our group had a room which had clearly not been renovated and was in very poor condition. I guess it really matters which room you get. The room itself is pretty standard and basic. An old style tube TV, but it worked fine. The bed was confortable and the mattress appeared new, however, the pillows were the absolute worst i have ever experienced at a hotel. I cannot stress enough how terrible the pillows are and they seemed very old and cheap. The hotel, at least my room, seemed clean. The included breakfast consisted of a bowl of fruit, instant oatmeal packets and donuts. Pretty weak, except the donuts were some of the best I have ever had. Down side is you really cant, and shouldnt, eat donuts for breakfast every day. I found the staff to be generally ok, but they could not immediately fix some of the issues I had. The included wi-fi is very hit and miss. It did not work the first few days of my stay, but worked intermittently for the last few days. Overall, I thought this hotel was OK for the price. If you get a very good rate, I would say give it a chance. My wife advised me the place is a complete dump and "we" will never be staying there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a rennovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joefromphx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
329 reviews
238 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 728 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

I stayed here with a friend on the last week-end of July on a Saturday when South Lake Tahoe prices are 3X what they are during the week. This place seems to have gotten a worse ranking than it deserves thanks to a lot of questionable first-time reviewers. The place is not AAA rated, probably because they're not staffed at night (a AAA requirement, and admittedly this place's big weak point). If it weren't for that, this would be a perfectly decent 2* property. Everything is clean and well kept-up, from the exterior and the pool/hot tub to the combo bathtub and shower. There's no flat-screen or HD TV, but there was a full spectrum of channels which all came through clearly. The mattress, while firm for some (fine for me), was at least new and not sagging. The outside sink was a blessing for those of us who like to shave while their friend showers. No parking problems. Best of all is the location, within easy walking distance of the Stateline casinos and the Heavenly gondola. You're going to have a hard time finding a clean, well-kept up place for $120 on a peak night at a similar location (I can tell you I've seen worse in that area). If you can deal with no real breakfast to speak of (go to the Forrest buffet!), and almost no service (nobody there at 10 AM, and locked up around 10 PM I believe), you should be happy here. You shouldn't have to pay much more than $40 on a typical Sunday-Thursday, though (look around).

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lebelgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sacramento
1 review
Reviewed 9 August 2011

Yeah, the title says it all. The rooms were very bad. Everything was falling apart. The shower curtains had mold all over them. The sink was falling apart. It smelt SOO bad in the room I asked to change rooms after walking in there, but they could not offer me anything else. The service was bad and I did not feel safe there. Id def recommend staying somewhere else.. not worth it at all!

Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank renae l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these South Lake Tahoe hotels

Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2011

I think we have paid 110 $ on July 4th weekenk and booked 4 days before the vacation... So i feel the price is ok becuase other places were very expensive ... They have 2 queen bed in a room and room is clean and neat...
Walkable distance to Casinos [ 5 mins walk ]
I would suggest better park your car in the hotel itself because very less parking in Lake Tahoe beach.. You can walk in 10 to 15 mins .... If you have small kids better you can drop them and you can walk back..
You have souvenir shop near your hotel and its cheap than buying near lake tahoe.
Gas station is near by ,Rite Aid is near by so you can get your groceries there..
Room has microwave and fridge and TV ...
Breakfast is very little [ Mostly friut ]
Small Swiming pool --better to take a dip in lake tahoe :-) ...

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Srinib20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.3 mi away
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
#35 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
254 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#4 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,059 reviews
1.4 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#13 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe
Big Pines Mountain House of Taho...
#23 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
467 reviews
0.1 mi away
3 Peaks Resort & Beach Club
3 Peaks Resort & Beach Club
#18 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,089 reviews
0.1 mi away
Paradice Motel
Paradice Motel
#26 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluelake Inn at Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluelake Inn at Tahoe

Property: Bluelake Inn at Tahoe
Address: 944 Friday Ave, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6925
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Bluelake Inn at Tahoe 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Bluelake Inn at Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blue Lake Inn @ Heavenly Village Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Blue Lake Tahoe
South Lake Tahoe Blue Lake Inn
Lake Tahoe Blue Lake Inn
Blue Lake Inn Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing