We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“bargain” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bluelake Inn at Tahoe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bluelake Inn at Tahoe
Ranked #28 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“bargain”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012

We randomly chose this motel from several in the area. We were delighted with the price, and the location. The free access to the private beach was great, the rooms were fine (nothing special) and the staff were friendly.

The breakfast consisted of coffee and donuts. Again, these were fine but nothing special.

The best thing is really the price, it really was a bargain.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Benjy365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    82
    57
    20
    12
See reviews for
62
73
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Livermore, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012

I have stayed here 3 times (June 2011, Sept 2011 and Sept 2012) all 3 visits have been very nice. The rooms are on the plain side, but comfortable. They offer a continental breakfast every morning but there isn't much to choose from. If you don't want to hang at the pool, they have access to a private beach about 3 blocks away. They are also within walking distance of the casinos and Heavenly Village Gondola & shopping. Staff is friendly and helpful. Would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HeatherT2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
84 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2012

I've stayed here about 5 times in both summer and winter and think it is outstanding value. In winter you are one block from the gondola and in summer three blocks from the beach (they give you a free pass as it is a private beach) People are super-nice. The rooms are pretty basic, but clean and spacious. It's not 4-stars like a Westin but rated high for value.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JWW660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

Stayed here early August

This place has a good location
Close to Stateline and free access to a private beach

Issues: This place is very dated, Continental breakfast was very limited with coffee, oatmeal, and year old donuts

Trash dumpsters overflowing, hot tub not working.

Like said before you will not stay long in your room and about 70 % clean.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

We stayed at Blue Lake Inn for 2 nights at the end of July while on a two week road trip out west. When we checked in, the older man at the desk was very friendly and helpful, and gave us a pass to get on the beach for free. At breakfast in the morning, the female staff was just tolerant of us, not friendly at all. The rooms seemed clean and the beds were comfortable, but the rooms were in need of some updating. I loved that the hotel is so close to shopping at the Heavenly Village.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank scheidtra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here earlier this year. I guess you can say the best thing about the Blue Lake Inn is it's location- a lot of the attractions are within walking distance. Otherwise, the rooms are pretty basic, nothing special- very dated and I would say 75% clean. I liked that there was a mini-fridge. Also, there was a vanity and sink outside of the bathroom (as opposed to inside the bathroom).

Over all, we had a great time in SLT, but basically, you get what you pay for at the Blue Lake Inn. We stayed on the second floor in the back of the hotel. The shower was if-y... It was clogged, so when I took a shower I was scared that the water was going to overflow onto the bathroom floor...

I would say, book here if you want to be close to everything, but don't expect to be spending most of your time in the room.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
#30 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Choice Inn South Lake Tahoe
Best Choice Inn South Lake Tahoe
#41 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Becket
Hotel Becket
#33 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#4 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
0.1 mi away
Paradice Motel
Paradice Motel
#26 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mark Twain Lodge
Mark Twain Lodge
#31 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluelake Inn at Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluelake Inn at Tahoe

Property: Bluelake Inn at Tahoe
Address: 944 Friday Ave, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6925
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Bluelake Inn at Tahoe 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Bluelake Inn at Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blue Lake Inn @ Heavenly Village Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Blue Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Blue Lake Inn
South Lake Tahoe Blue Lake Inn
Blue Lake Inn Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing