We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You decide”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bluelake Inn at Tahoe
Ranked #22 of 65 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Reviewed 28 December 2012

It was inexpensive. The bed was hard and lumpy, the pillows were hard. The room is heated with a space heater. We needed two space heaters cause one was not warm enough. The second space heater did the trick. The room is large came with microwave and fridge. Breakfast there is eh. Oatmeal packets, fruit, coffee, juice, milk and donuts. This place is about 1/2 block from the gondola to Heavenly. I left my wedding ring in the room the entire time and it remained in the room. Within walking distance to the village, shopping, casinos, groceries. If you can just get past the bed and pillows or bring your own pillows.
Really cheap easy upgrades could be egg crate mattress tops, flannel sheets and change out pillows every 6 months or so. I see pillows for as low as 5.00 at Target.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank maggiedanurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (234)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 234 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2012

My husband and I chose Tahoe for our destination for our anniversary and his birthday trip. We booked at The Blue Lake Inn based on the location and reviews. We used to go to tahoe all the time and know that, with the exception of some of the new, highly priced resort type hotels, all of the older motels are "slighly" outdated and have the motel 6 feel to them. This hotel is no different. When we arrived we were asked if we wanted to upgrade to the suite with the jaccuzzi tub and fireplace. We were so glas we did! That was perfect. It was pretty empty because of the time we went(late September) The rooms all have small fridge and microwave. We brought our ice chest with food and saved a lot on money. The rooms are within walking distance of EVERYTHING! We could walk to Raley's(supermarket), the gondola, the beach and the casino with no issues! Even a child could make it! Don't expect much for the coninental breakfast. Donuts, oatmeal apples and Coffee. Would definately go back!

Room Tip: Book online and if you go during off season see if you can upgrade to a jacuzzi room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shewinders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolnov, Guest Relations Manager at Bluelake Inn at Tahoe, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2012

Thank you so much for your review. We are located in the center of all things fun in Tahoe, which makes it very convienient for our guests. It is especially important now with skiing season approaching. Heavenly ski resort is just a block away and you can walk there in your skiing boots in 3 minutes. No hassle with parking and no fees for parking at the ski resort! We are economy hotel but we really focus on providing value for your money. Our breakfast is very simple but we thought it would just a nice start of your day. Thank you so much for staying with us. We are looking forward to seeing you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

me and my wife arrived at tahoe and didnt have a place to sleep because of the marathon, when we pulled up to blue lake inn, and spoke to Don, Mgr. we knew we were in good hands, he took his time off late at nite to show us the room, the rooms have inside bath tubs which work great, fire place, king bed 2 tvs big spacies room and all in affordable price. guys always come here you will be taken care off. we loved it , it was a delightfull experience and all thanks to Don. thank you Don!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank krowka88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolnov, Guest Relations Manager at Bluelake Inn at Tahoe, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2012

Thank you so much for your review. Indeed you can always count on super deals with us.We want to be affordable so that everybody can experience the beauty of Lake Tahoe. Our rooms are simple but comfortable, we are in center of Tahoe activities and we always offer warm welcome to our guests. We hope to see you again soon. Check with us for the latest bargain.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

We randomly chose this motel from several in the area. We were delighted with the price, and the location. The free access to the private beach was great, the rooms were fine (nothing special) and the staff were friendly.

The breakfast consisted of coffee and donuts. Again, these were fine but nothing special.

The best thing is really the price, it really was a bargain.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Benjy365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

I have stayed here 3 times (June 2011, Sept 2011 and Sept 2012) all 3 visits have been very nice. The rooms are on the plain side, but comfortable. They offer a continental breakfast every morning but there isn't much to choose from. If you don't want to hang at the pool, they have access to a private beach about 3 blocks away. They are also within walking distance of the casinos and Heavenly Village Gondola & shopping. Staff is friendly and helpful. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HeatherT2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

I've stayed here about 5 times in both summer and winter and think it is outstanding value. In winter you are one block from the gondola and in summer three blocks from the beach (they give you a free pass as it is a private beach) People are super-nice. The rooms are pretty basic, but clean and spacious. It's not 4-stars like a Westin but rated high for value.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JWW660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Stayed here early August

This place has a good location
Close to Stateline and free access to a private beach

Issues: This place is very dated, Continental breakfast was very limited with coffee, oatmeal, and year old donuts

Trash dumpsters overflowing, hot tub not working.

Like said before you will not stay long in your room and about 70 % clean.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.1 mi away
Avalon Lodge
Avalon Lodge
#48 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
186 reviews
0.5 mi away
Americana Village
Americana Village
#6 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
405 reviews
1.4 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#11 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#5 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,150 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
#31 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
270 reviews
0.8 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#7 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluelake Inn at Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluelake Inn at Tahoe

Address: 944 Friday Ave, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6925
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#5 Spa Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range: £38 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Bluelake Inn at Tahoe 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your Bluelake Inn at Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blue Lake Inn @ Heavenly Village Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Blue Lake Tahoe
South Lake Tahoe Blue Lake Inn
Lake Tahoe Blue Lake Inn
Blue Lake Inn Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing