We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Budget Place and Friendly Staffs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bluelake Inn at Tahoe
Ranked #23 of 65 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Stayed here for 1 night on our visit to south lake tahoe. Extremely friendly and helpful staff who immediately issued us a private beach pass to enter a private beach a short walk behind the motel. Big room with comfortable beds. The room is basic with no minibar or microwave, not an issue with the price given (you cannot expect arms and legs for the price paid). There's a free breakfast to fill up in the morning. A laundry facility is available. The traffic is great and not crowded at this time in Tahoe. Really enjoyed the sunset over the lake Tahoe. Overall a great place to be in south lake Tahoe!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Boo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (233)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 234 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2013

We stayed here for a early birthday weekend for my G/F of 4 years. We love tahoe and spend very little time in the rooms. But this is a nice spot because I don't mind a little night life and my g/f could care less and wants to be by the water all day long. This hotel made it very easy for both sides. The short walk to the beach and short walk to the casinos was perfect. The staff was friendly and the room was clean. The price was right. Thanks and we will be staying here again.

Room Tip: we usually go for the king bed but booked too late this trip and got the 2 queen beds the night afte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013

We stayed here for two days in very low season and we've got a super nice room for an excellent rate.
The location is perfect,as it's jus three blocks from the lake and next to some of the biggest shopping and restaurants areas.
But definetly,the very best off was Don Diego de la Vega, as a nickname...the receptionist and the one in charge of the place.He was one of that type of person hard to find!Nice personality,friendly and charming.Special thanks to him and the reason to come back!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Climbarock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

We have stayed in various pet friendly places in the South Lake Tahoe area. The Blue Lake Inn did not disappoint! Extremely friendly and helpful staff ! Comfortable and clean!! Will go back and back and back!!! So close to skiing and shops and restaurants! Thank you to a great manager Don!!! See you on our next trip to Tahoe!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PCSully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Stayed here last weekend for 2 nights with my honey. Arrived late and although office was closed, they had left us an envelope with room keys and instructions in the mailbox.

Room was clean and bigger than normal. King bed was perfectly comfortable. Stayed in room 109. No odors and room was totally spotless. We were in a non-smoking room and it did not smell at all like cigarettes, which was great.

Didn't hear any guests or see/hear/smell any pets as this is the non-pet side of the building (the pet side is confined to the other building I think). So, don't worry about the pet issue if you're staying here, you probably won't notice them.

Walked both days and nights into town, and to gondola to ski. Literally this is the closest to town and to the gondola I have ever stayed. It was very nice to be able to just walk a block to the lifts/shops.

TV worked great, we watched a show one night. Room had a microwave and refrigerator. Ammenities included soap, shampoo, conditioner, lotion, a free sample of Tom's of Maine deodorant, plenty of towels of many sizes, hair dryer, coffee maker and coffee items (we made coffee and it worked fine), etc. We did not have maid service but they were prompt to clean in the mornings if you wanted it.

Bed was comfortable - I have had better and worse. It seemed clean enough though and overall the place was cleaner than many many other hotels in the area - it somehow didn't feel as old either. Slept well and didn't hear any neighbors or noise, since this is off the main strip.

Hot tub and pool: we went in the hot tub which was plenty hot but we couldn't get the jets to work. They clearly could improve this area a bit, but since we had a nice soak outside in the late afternoon, I can't really complain.

The lady at the front desk was kind. We didn't go to the breakfast but she said they had donuts and coffee. They also had free granola bars at the front desk at all hours...kind of a nice treat.

Overall highly recommended for budget travelers. Much much better than many of the other properties in the region.

Room Tip: We stayed in 109 - faces the parking lot on the ground floor for easy loading/unloading of gear. No...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Orange_Rusty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

If you're a high maintenance and super luxurious traveler, you might disagree with all the other ratings on this place.

Simply put, the Blue Lake Inn is in an incredible location and offers an economical rate without sacrificing cleanliness.

The best part about this inn is most definitely the location- you're in walking distance to the Gondola and casinos without being on the main road.

The rooms on either side of us were occupied, but noise was not an issue. We were on the first floor close to the office, and probably the only slightly off-thing was either closing the curtains and limiting our light, or noticing all the other guests walking by our window/giving them a peak into our room. But still, not a huge deal.

Yes, the breakfast is minimal. I only went to check it out one day and enjoyed a donut, instant oatmeal, an apple and a cup of hot water.

It's a perfect spot for if you need a place to crash that's in walking distance of the gondola! Don't expect much else.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eelnybor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2013

We stayed at this property in April 2012 and stayed for 2 nights.
On arrival, we were checked in quickly by a very friendly lady. The room had been left with the heating on and this was such a great touch as the weather was freezing at the time!
The room was well equipped and the beds were extremely comfortable, and very welcoming after a long day driving from Las Vegas on our way to San Francisco!!
The whole room was clean and tidy and met our expectations.
The breakfast room is a little on the small side for the amount of people it had in it when we used it, but there was a decent selection of food, hot drinks, pastries, cereal, fruit, all replenished regularly.
Overall we enjoyed our stay here and would certainly recommend it and would use it again ourselves.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danielle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.1 mi away
Avalon Lodge
Avalon Lodge
#48 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
186 reviews
0.5 mi away
Americana Village
Americana Village
#6 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
405 reviews
1.4 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#11 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#5 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,149 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
#31 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
270 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#13 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluelake Inn at Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluelake Inn at Tahoe

Address: 944 Friday Ave, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6925
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#5 Spa Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range: £41 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Bluelake Inn at Tahoe 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Bluelake Inn at Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blue Lake Inn @ Heavenly Village Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Blue Lake Tahoe
South Lake Tahoe Blue Lake Inn
Lake Tahoe Blue Lake Inn
Blue Lake Inn Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing