We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special but good enough”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bluelake Inn at Tahoe
Ranked #23 of 65 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Reviewed 11 October 2013

I Spent only one night with friends. Rooms are clean and comfortable. There is not much to say. Very basic, reasonable price and good location ( close to Casino, ski lift, commerce, restaurants and beach). Rooms offer microwave and minifridge.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andre1502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (234)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 234 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2013

I've stayed at this place a half dozen times, with the exception of last week, all stays have been during peak ski season. We drove in unreserved midday Mon, place was empty save for 3-4 rooms rented. Manager priced the room cheap, $39 for a double queen, room didn't smell, bathroom was clean, all ammenities worked, beds were a little hard but both my wife and I slept well, breakfast was simple as others stated but on time, donuts were fresh, when I went in for seconds on the coffee I noticed they had replaced the donut I'd taken earlier, the decanter ran out mid cup and was replaced immediately. In this day and age of overpriced everything it was the best hotel value I've had in years. As mentioned by other reviews, location is superb.to casinos, restaurants, and Heavenly.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erik O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Paid 53$ for a night and it was worth the money. There is no breakfast included or if they say so it is just a coffee and oatmeal.
Rooms are a bit worn and torn but you get what you pay for. Checked in and was told where to find nice restaurants and what to do. You get free access to the beach.
Slept well, took a good shower (old bath room) and enjoyed the free coffee.

I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tkwetina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

This place was dirt cheap the week we were visiting Lake Tahoe so we couldn't resist booking a couple of nights. I think the location was the best part... this is about 2 blocks off the main drag so you don't have to listen to truck traffic the entire time.

The kids had a great time in the pool and in general everything was fine. Don't stay here for an entire week, but I would definitely recommend it for a 1-2 night stop through at Lake Tahoe.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SpartaKris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

The location was great. Able to walk to the lake easily and quick access to the casinos/nightlife. The room itself was clean. The beds, as many of the other reviews say, are terrible. They are super hard. At least we planned ahead and brought our own pillows. The bathtub was peeling paint and the shower head is super low, but the place was otherwise clean and quiet, so if you can get over the firm beds I would recommend this place. The room had a fridge and a microwave, which were handy.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank em5585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights. The hotel provides access to a private beach section on the lake, but it's a walk to get to it. When they advertise that breakfast is served each morning they fail to provide details - coffee and donuts only, and if you get there in the late morning hours, all the food is gone or has been picked through. So if you want to sleep in and have a healthy breakfast, this is not the dining place for you & your family.
Traffic is horrible in this area because the hotel is located in the most densely populated area with all the hotels and casinos. For example, Google maps states that it take about 15 minutes to get to Emerald Bay (highlight of Tahoe) from the hotel and it actually took over 1 hour!
Rooms are clean but small.

Room Tip: Get a 1st floor room so you do not have to hike up the stairs all the time. Do NOT drive to the lake...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EvelinM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We stayed here for two nights whilst visiting Lake Tahoe and it was a pretty average place. Nothing special but clean and spacious. Towels were a little small and the included breakfast started too late for us and was supposed to be coffee and doughnuts - not my ideal start.
Free access cards to the beach and a small pool ok for a night or two

Room Tip: pick one that doesn't get too much sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.1 mi away
Avalon Lodge
Avalon Lodge
#47 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
186 reviews
1.4 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#11 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,131 reviews
0.5 mi away
Americana Village
Americana Village
#6 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#5 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,166 reviews
0.8 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#7 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
516 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
#30 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluelake Inn at Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluelake Inn at Tahoe

Address: 944 Friday Ave, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6925
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range: £40 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Bluelake Inn at Tahoe 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Bluelake Inn at Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blue Lake Inn @ Heavenly Village Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Blue Lake Tahoe
South Lake Tahoe Blue Lake Inn
Lake Tahoe Blue Lake Inn
Blue Lake Inn Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing