We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never Again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bluelake Inn at Tahoe
Ranked #28 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
San Bruno, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Never Again”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

My wife and I have been coming to the Blue Lake Inn for over 10 years without any problems, and have always enjoyed our stay and accomodations.
That was up until Last Saturday March 1st. We were charged an extra $150.00 for smoking in our room. We did not smoke in the room. We had an ashtray outside
the room on the porch. We are being told by Randal that there were ashes inside the room and that the room smelled of smoke. Complete BS.... Ashes in a room do not signify that we were smoking in the room. And the room smelled bad upon our arrival. If we had smoked, or damaged the room in anyway, I would have no problem paying thses charges, but that is not the case here. If this is how your hotel wants to conduct its afairs buy ripping off your customers then it's my new goal in life to make sure that everyone knows how we are being treated. Social Media is a powerful tool, and I will use it to make sure everyone who stays there or future customers will know how we were unfairly treated. Heres to Bad reviews and really bad management....

Room Tip: The management treated us like CRAP. Said they had pictures and proof that we smoked in the room but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    84
    57
    20
    12
See reviews for
62
75
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Elk Grove, California, United States
Level Contributor
46 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

I was quite surprised! My room was nice, clean and quiet. The king room had plenty of space and the internet was great. A fridge and microwave was a nice plus. I was greeted by a super friendly host at the front desk and James the manager was very hospitable and gave suggestions on places to see. On the downside though, the a/c, heater units in the rooms are very noisy and the T.V's need an upgrade. The breakfast is simple with doughnuts and coffee. I have driven past this little gem many times and have never stayed. I would say comparing the 20 plus little motels I have stayed at here in village next to Heavenly, I would rate this one a 9 out of ten. I will be staying here again!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daril C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Overall got a great rate and it was very convenient. Stayed here during the summer but I will probably stay here for the ski season as we'll.

My only gripe was the room clearly used to be a smoking room and still smelled like it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jnnaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Clean small room. TV & Internet work fine. Adequate, small bathroom facilities. Space for one at the sink area at a time. Good price through Priceline.com the end of October, 2013. I wish the folks who had the free breakfast yesterday had eaten all the donuts. This morning they were dry & stale. Fresh fruit, coffee, cereal/milk and O.J. were ok.

We would return.

Room Tip: Motel is off Stateline road. Short walk to NV side & all the stuff there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

I Spent only one night with friends. Rooms are clean and comfortable. There is not much to say. Very basic, reasonable price and good location ( close to Casino, ski lift, commerce, restaurants and beach). Rooms offer microwave and minifridge.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andre1502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timber Cove Ca
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

I've stayed at this place a half dozen times, with the exception of last week, all stays have been during peak ski season. We drove in unreserved midday Mon, place was empty save for 3-4 rooms rented. Manager priced the room cheap, $39 for a double queen, room didn't smell, bathroom was clean, all ammenities worked, beds were a little hard but both my wife and I slept well, breakfast was simple as others stated but on time, donuts were fresh, when I went in for seconds on the coffee I noticed they had replaced the donut I'd taken earlier, the decanter ran out mid cup and was replaced immediately. In this day and age of overpriced everything it was the best hotel value I've had in years. As mentioned by other reviews, location is superb.to casinos, restaurants, and Heavenly.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erik O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bochum
Level Contributor
142 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Paid 53$ for a night and it was worth the money. There is no breakfast included or if they say so it is just a coffee and oatmeal.
Rooms are a bit worn and torn but you get what you pay for. Checked in and was told where to find nice restaurants and what to do. You get free access to the beach.
Slept well, took a good shower (old bath room) and enjoyed the free coffee.

I would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tkwetina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.3 mi away
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
#34 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Becket
Hotel Becket
#27 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#4 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe
Big Pines Mountain House of Taho...
#23 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
0.1 mi away
3 Peaks Resort & Beach Club
3 Peaks Resort & Beach Club
#18 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,086 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mark Twain Lodge
Mark Twain Lodge
#32 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluelake Inn at Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluelake Inn at Tahoe

Property: Bluelake Inn at Tahoe
Address: 944 Friday Ave, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6925
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Bluelake Inn at Tahoe 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Bluelake Inn at Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blue Lake Inn @ Heavenly Village Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Blue Lake Tahoe
South Lake Tahoe Blue Lake Inn
Lake Tahoe Blue Lake Inn
Blue Lake Inn Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing