We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa
Ranked #17 of 65 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 May 2012

Thank you Groupon! If not, we may have missed this charming gem. Very friendly and helpful staff. Clean, basic rooms but you cannot beat the views of the lake. Our balcony looked directly upon the private beach and shore. We didn't get the opportunity to enjoy the spa, but it was right below our room and smelled heavenly. Very quiet and relaxing. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a lakeside balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cheyb1129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (525)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

345 - 351 of 525 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2012

As noted by other reviewers, don't be put off by the exterior of the building. This hidden gem was just right for our skiing vacation. Located right on the beach, the view from the outdoor hot tub was wonderful. The rooms are rustic, comfortable, and clean, although our bath could have used a remodeling. Location couldn't be beat, especially for the price. We could walk to several restaurants, grocery, and were minutes away from Heavenly. Although located right in the middle of town, we felt like we were in a more secluded location. Staff is outstanding--very helpful and friendly. Their restaurant recommendations were spot on, especially for the Blue Angel Cafe. A modest continental breakfast is included--breakfast rolls, fruit, and beverages, which we found adequate. If someone wants something more substantial, good options are within walking distance. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tortuga_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

This review is written from the balcony of our beautiful room while enjoying the sound of the shore and a beautiful sunset over Lake Tahoe. This must be one of the most beautiful located accomodations in this part of the world. The room itself is very nice: large, two queen size beds, a kitchen and stunning views in two directions. The bathroom though is small and outdated but clean. The hotel has it's own beach where all kind of sports can be played. Furthermore, there's an outdoor pool and jaccuzi. The staff is very friendly. Highly recommended!

Stayed: May 2012
4  Thank GerardBeerens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Just stayed one night. Had a last minute change of plans and the management were totally cool with this and even helped work with our travel agent to eliminate any charges, and all in a normal friendly way - never felt like I was part of a business plan. They even upgraded our room for the additional trouble. Room was very nice, no complaints. My only advice to the management, our room was very hot when we arrived and it took us a while to cool it down to a comfortable level. Understand they want to show off the fireplaces (every room!), but we never got to use it bcuz it had been preheated for us. The location is about as good as one can get, RIGHT on the lake and located behind a CVS store handy for supplies at night. ONly about a mile from anything. Nice place!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charisse D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

stayed at the lodge with a ski group during 3rd week of march,2012. While it may look a little rundown from the outside (building is all wood and some of it starting to rot),most if not all rooms have been renovated very nicely with rustic pine furniture and all the trimmings.very clean and very good maid service.great views of lake tahoe right on the beach.we really lucked out with a corner unit so we had views on two sides!!! safeway a five minute walk away but you are removed from the center of town,about two miles from casinos and the ski gondola.however you are close to the south end of the ski hills (heavenly) and there is a ski shuttle that picks you up at the hotel door.we would stay there again.

Room Tip: ask for corner unit,third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MontrealCanuck065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

What a little gem. Yes I agree with other comments on TA, which note that from the outside the property does look a little unappealing, but once inside the welcome is warm and atmosphere is genuinely inviting.

We stayed for 2 weeks in early March 2012 and each time we walked into our room during the daylight, we were totally knocked out by the view provided by the patio doors on the balcony.

The room was simple, clean and cozy, and the log effect gas fire is a sweet touch and keeps the room lovely and toasty which is great on the chillier nights.

We didn't have a bathtub in our bathroom, but the shower worked reasonably well, plenty of hot water, but a little more water pressure wouldn't be a bad thing, but that's probably just because of our tired muscles from skiing.

The staff were all truly lovely and I will always remember staying here for the best reasons.

Would we stay here again? In a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 5MichelleP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Stayed in Condo #130,March 2012 as a couple.
Firstly, it is difficult to imagine a resort on the South Lake that has better views than Lakeshore Lodge.
Our condo was on the ground floor, with a balcony that has half a dozen steps that lead directly onto the sand. Waters edge is 20/30ft from the balcony so it's difficult to get any closer to the lake without getting wet.
The views of the lake at all times of day were quite simply stunning.
The condo itself was quite nice. Full kitchen, free wi-fi, huge double bed (very comfortable, pretty firm) TV's in bedroom and living area, sofa, chairs, all you would need. If I had to make any criticism at all it would be that the condo could really do with a bit of minor updating, mainly the kitchen cupboards and bathroom which felt a little dated. All kitchen appliances were excellent, they just need a slightly newer environment to complete the condo. At least that's what I'd do if it were MY condo, and I'm not going to moan about someone elses taste.

All staff were excellent, VERY helpful and polite, even the maids were polite and done a very good job of tidying up my mess.
Breakfast is basically a choice of hot drinks and a few danish pastries and muffins. Not great but not a problem either, as I mentioned the kitchen is fully equipped or there are loads of places within a 3 minute drive to get a great breakfast.

For the costs it offers excellent value for money and I would stay here again without hesitation.

Room Tip: Ground floor condos have direct beach access
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PumiceMin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.1 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#11 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,128 reviews
1.3 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#8 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
912 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#13 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,100 reviews
0.5 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#7 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
507 reviews
1.3 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#5 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa

Address: 930 Balbijou Rd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-8919
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#8 On the Beach Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#9 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#11 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range: £93 - £242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge & Spa, South Shore’s only all lakefront property, offering hotel and condominium lodging all with an incredible lake view and cozy fireplace. Pamper yourself in our full service day spa or relax by our heated pool and hot tub. Centrally located to area activities, restaurants, casinos and sitting on 500 feet of private beach, you’ll receive a true Tahoe experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tahoe Lakeshore Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Lakeshore Hotel Lake Tahoe
Lakeshore Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing