We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great mountain escape”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa
Ranked #19 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great mountain escape”
Reviewed 29 June 2012

Needed a break from the heat and went up to the mountains. Stayed at this lodge on the lake. Looked a little rough from the outside, but we kinda wanted that. Inside had all the feel of a mountaion lodge should have, wood bed post, fire place (gas) etc. The view was everything we needed and the weather was perfect. Even the wirlpool at 9pm was perfect with the mountain air. The lake was clear and cold, just what we needed. I saw that they had a spa there, but didn't try it. Will next time as a couple next to us at the pool said it was great

Room Tip: Most of the rooms I think face the lake, so really not a bad room from a view point.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mac R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    159
    58
    21
    17
See reviews for
145
223
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hoppers Crossing, Australia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

The hotel is situated right on the
Lake. Every view from the rooms is of the Lake. Each room has a balcony with chairs and table, so last night we watched the sun set across the water and mountains.
The room has an electric fireplace, which looks real. Very romantic !
Last night we slept with the balcony door open and fell asleep listening to the water break against the shore. This is a must stay hotel!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

This is the second time I have stayed here. This first time was in late spring and the weather was iffy - now snow, but not warm. Nonetheless, the staff put me in a beachside room with a deck, kitchenette and incredible lakeside views from two banks of plate glass windows. At the time, some 20+ years ago, the decor could have used a little refreshing. Having driven through South Lake a few times subsequently, I always checked to see that the beachside resort was still there. It is after all literally right on the beach. So, for a birthday getaway earlier in June (2012), I reviewed their website and it appeared the facility had undergone a pleasant facelift, so I booked a room. All face the lake. But, the day before, I called the Lodge and requested a room from the tier where I had stayed before. The desk agent confirmed that one was available for a small additional charge. I snapped it up. When we arrived and checked in (mid-week) not only did the staff waive the upcharge, they put us in the first floor room which not only had a balcony but steps for quick access to the beach. The drive around the lake is a lazy couple of hours, Emerald Bay is very close, all the outdoor rec you can think of is everywhere, and the NV casinos are just a short drive - if that's your thing.

This place is definitely on my ":will always stay there " list. The staff is very friendly, and for a lakeside/beachfront room, it can't be beat. Oh, and you have your choice of a room in the main lodge - or in one of the time-share condos which share the property.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

WOW WOW WOW. This place is awesome. We stayed Friday and Saturday night in this hotel. I'm just home and had to write a review straight away. The views are absolutely amazing. We stayed in room 205 and it was peaceful and gorgeous. We had 2 large queen beds in a huge room. It was spotless and comfortable. The balcony with the lake views were amazing we could sip wine while watching the activity at the pool and on the lake. The pool was heated and the spa was hot. The lodge itself had a strict quiet time policy and we didn't hear a thing after 10pm or before 7am. The staff were lovely (especially jason)and accommodating. It's about 2 miles to casinos but hey the front desk can get you a cab within 10 mins. It's near Safeway and cvs. Definately recommend to other sits fantastic and romantic. Enjoy guys :)

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank ATHBOY1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

I agree with the other reviews. Good value for the waterfront .I had an amazing balcony view and my friends were downstairs on the beach. Huge rooms. No AC but there was a large fan in the closet. It was a little stuffy when I arrived, but not after I opened the balcony door. Nice to have a screen door as well.
Lovely towels, full-size coffee pot and hair dryer.
Large closet. Lots of tables, dressers, lights.
Wished there was a fridge and micro in the room.
Lobby has free coffee and hot chocolate available.
Very thin walls. I was on the 2nd floor and had a tribe of toddlers shaking my room from
above. BUT ...
I liked the quiet time policy and other "spelled out" policies and helpful tips about
the facility ... including a layout map.
The flatscreen TV had good reception.
Could not get internet to work when I arrived, but a phone number is provided if there are wifi issues. The man who answered first tried to tell me it was my laptop, but I told him my phone couldn't connect either. He coordinated with the front desk to get the wifi working again. Smooth sailing after that.
I would have given 5 stars for service except for this Internet issue, and the guy seeming a bit annoyed having to deal with it.
I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Just returned from our anniversary trip to South Lake Tahoe staying at the Lakeshore Lodge. What a perfect location with a beautiful beach just steps from the hotel. We spent most of the time sitting on our covered bacony enjoying the view. Did get noisy from all the children at the pool, but everyone was well supervised. And since everyone had a bacony, you could hear the neighbors' talking. It is a private beach, and we witessed the management making some people on the beach leave the area because they were not staying at the lodge. The rooms were comfortable and updated. Enjoyed the room with the kitchen, although all kitchen units were at the pool area, and that was reason for more noise. When we closed our doors to the balcony, we couldn't hear a thing. We will return with the family.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mabowles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hudson, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

We were so pleased when we checked in and asked for a room with a view and we were told every room had a view. The room has a queen bed and the decore is very nice. The sunset views on Lake Tahoe are spectacular from the balcony. The staff is very friendly and helpful. There is free wi fi in every room and a computer in a lounge off the lobby for your use. They also have complimentary coffee, tea and hot chocolate in the lounge. We found this on Groupon and were very pleased overall.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GiGisGrammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.1 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#13 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
882 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#15 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
831 reviews
1.3 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#7 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
454 reviews
0.7 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
394 reviews
1.3 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#4 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa

Property: Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa
Address: 930 Balbijou Rd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-8919
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#8 On the Beach Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#9 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#11 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge & Spa, South Shore’s only all lakefront property, offering hotel and condominium lodging all with an incredible lake view and cozy fireplace. Pamper yourself in our full service day spa or relax by our heated pool and hot tub. Centrally located to area activities, restaurants, casinos and sitting on 500 feet of private beach, you’ll receive a true Tahoe experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tahoe Lakeshore Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Lakeshore Hotel Lake Tahoe
Lakeshore Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing