We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average property, but on the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa
Ranked #18 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Average property, but on the beach”
Reviewed 27 June 2013

The property is average - on the older side, not updated, and very very basic. The rooms are also very basic - no refrigerators in case you're thinking of bringing some food. The rooms are spacious though, and we got a room on the 1st floor, right in front of the beach. They do have direct beach access which is a big plus. The hot tub near the pool is also a big plus!

The beach is very quite and private. No restaurants on the beach near this hotel. There is a water sports company a few meters away, so you're not completely stranded. If you're looking for a busier beach, go to Camp Richardson (Beacon Bar).

This hotel is about 1.6 miles from the stateline/city center. So location wise, its decent and you can get around anywhere.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room on the 1st floor with beach access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stuash82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    168
    60
    21
    17
See reviews for
147
231
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bakersfield, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Our family stayed here for the first time and we loved it! We usually stay in the casinos but our grandkids were with us so we decided to find a place on the lake.

Every room has a beautiful ocean view, the staff were all friendly and helpful.

You can walk to the pier to rent watercraft, walk a block to a Safeway, and there is a CVS in the same parking lot.

We chose a room with a full kitchen. We only used a few of the dishes, the microwave and the refrigerator, but is was great to have!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elk Grove, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed 24 June 2013

The lake view was great and well worth the price. The fireplace and snowy view gave the place a great romantic atmosphere. The location was convenient and easy to find. The staff was very friendly and helpful with places to attend in the area.

Room Tip: Lake view is well worth the price
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

4 night stay here and enjoyed returning to our room every night. There is a little gas flame fire for the evenings which can be quite cold and each room has a balcony. No fridge in the room but the view from the sliding doors makes everything else seem ok. It is decorated in a kind of rustic style and is quite comfortable. The bathroom is small and not terribly nice and the sink is separate in the room. It was good not to be woken early by the housekeeping staff as happens in many other hotels! The pool is warm and there is a hot tub by the pool overlooking the beach. It can be cool by the lake and quite a few people were sitting by the pool fully clothed. The pool can be quite busy at certain times of the day and most rooms overlook the pool. The lake itself is freezing and not many people ventured in. There is a good selection of places to eat nearby and the location is very central and convenient for most things in south Lake Tahoe, including the gondola. Staff were very helpful with check in and suggestions for good places to eat etc. it is not cheap, but if you want a great view of the lake, this is the place to stay. If you aren't too bothered, there are lots of hotels and motels along the lake but they won't necessarily give you a view of the lake from your room.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UkLilac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pollock Pines
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2013

What an awesome stay I had at Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge!!! I live only 1 hour from Tahoe and lived there from 2007-2011 and in all my experiences in the past, I never new of Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge until just this last weekend?? WOW what a great Birthday treat, sits right on the beach with views of the lake from every window!! The Sunset was the best I had ever expirenced without ever having to go anywhere. And what a lot of people would not know is how perfect the location in town is if you haven't lived there. On Bikes you can run down to Stateline for breakfast or out to Camp Richardson on the bike trail for afternoon Rum Runners and music. I can't wait to share my experience with everyone I know and know it will always be where I will want to stay, Oh and the best part I almost forgot, was how wonderful the staff was and how happy and grateful they were at all times....

Room Tip: All rooms appeared to be great. I needed a fridge so I was put in a beautiful 1 bedroom condo with i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, CA
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

They get poor because the great views and clean rooms bring it up a notch, but:
The good reviews must have been written by women or eunuchs. The toilet is so ridiculously tiny and that a man cannot easily use it. You have to hold your package up. Even my small, thin wife thought it was a bit awkward. I can't believe they even make toilets this small. I hadn't even seen one like this until last year at the casino in Susanville--I'm pretty sure it is the same model. It is worse than the typical small round toilet because the front actually is straight across, coming in a couple inches more than it would on a round bowl. The health code shouldn't allow these to be installed--body parts shouldn't be dangling in toilet water or touching inside the front rim. The desk clerk said they had a lot of other complaints, but the owner didn't see fit to put a normal toilet in there. Sorry to go on so long on this issue, but it is really hard to understand why they would use these toilets. I'm sure they lose repeat business and they could replace the toilet for the cost of one night's room rental.
They also allow smoking on the balconies so you might have to close your glass door and stay inside in the stifling heat if your neighbors light up. They said they are soon going to stop allowing smoking on the balconies so that will be an improvement.
We liked the décor but the log furniture may not appeal to some. The floor lamp falls over on you if you move the table that was apparently placed to hold it up. The mattress was way past it's prime, but not bad, just poor. Most of the room was in good shape but the kitchen window and blind were broken and very difficult to use, and the window was very loud to open or close. Cushions on the balcony chairs were worn out and the chairs were uncomfortable. It is surprisingly close to the highway so you will get some noise, but it wasn't real bad. Had idiots honking their horns in the parking lot but can't blame that on the hotel. The elevator, hallways, and other areas outside the room are mostly in bad shape. Yellow caution tape blocked the stairway door nearest us--I guess we had no fire exit. Took a long time to check in even though two people were helping the only person in front of us when we walked in. Took a long time to find a desk clerk the next day to ask questions.
Since it was among the cleanest places we've ever stayed, and the view was awesome, we might consider staying there again if we get a very discounted rate. We would have felt ripped-off at the regular rate. They have a lot of renovations yet to do to make it an average or good hotel. Adding "Spa" to the name implies something much better than what you get. Because of the ridiculous tiny toilet, we are still going to be staying other places at Tahoe to look for someplace better.

Room Tip: Most rooms will have great views, but a couple face off to the side so avoid those.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank westerntravelwizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We did not quite know what to expect when we booked this hotel. As we drove up to the hotel we were a bit disappointed but then when we entered the lobby and then later our room, we were glad we booked this hotel. We had a room (2 queen beds) on the top floor and the view of Lake Tahoe is just fantastic. The toilet/shower was very small but that was ok. The room decor is nice and the beds were very comfortable. The room was clean and the free WiFi worked great. It did not have a microwave but we could use the one in the breakfast area. The balcony had two chairs and as mentioned before, the view was great. A shame we could only stay one night. If in this region, we will return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms are great. We had room no. 402
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Southwest_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.1 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#11 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,003 reviews
1.3 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
889 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#13 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#7 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
468 reviews
1.3 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#5 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,107 reviews
0.7 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa

Property: Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa
Address: 930 Balbijou Rd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-8919
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#8 On the Beach Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#9 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#11 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge & Spa, South Shore’s only all lakefront property, offering hotel and condominium lodging all with an incredible lake view and cozy fireplace. Pamper yourself in our full service day spa or relax by our heated pool and hot tub. Centrally located to area activities, restaurants, casinos and sitting on 500 feet of private beach, you’ll receive a true Tahoe experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tahoe Lakeshore Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Lakeshore Hotel Lake Tahoe
Lakeshore Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing