We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Location But....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa
Ranked #19 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
Tarpon Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
159 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Good Location But....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

We chose this hotel because of the location right on the Lake. The view from the deck was beautiful. Other than that the hotel is very ho-hum. It is showing its age and in need of updating. One night stay was enough.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Italy4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    156
    58
    20
    17
See reviews for
145
218
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing
Level Contributor
86 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Our family (2 adults and 2 teenagers) spent four nights at the Lakeside Lodge at the end of July. While the lodge itself probably merits a "3" rather than a "4" (comfortable and clean, but rather basic), I opted to give it the latter for a number of reason. First, is the location right on the Lake is great to wake up to and simply walk out the door to be on the beach. Second, the location is in walking distance of a number of great eateries: A Cup of Cherries, The Boathouse on the Pier, La Promessa, Heidi's, Big Daddy's Burgers, etc. (it is also next to a CVS and walking distance to the Safeway if you want to get picnic or BBQ supplies). Third, in the summer it has free live music concerts on the beach every Thursday night. Fourth, it has a nice, small swimming pool and a jacuzzi which is fun on chilly evenings. Fifth, the staff are all friendly and helpful. Sixth, it is just next door to two watersports (kayaks, jet skis, etc) rental site. So overall it is a super convenient place to stay while exploring Tahoe or simply relaxing by the lake.

Room Tip: All rooms are facing the water. We had a ground floor room which was convenient, but less private th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tmmahony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berwick-upon-Tweed, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

A hotel right on the shore of the lake with amazing views every morning of the lake. Only a lawn separated us from the water. The room was a very good size with a very large but comfortable bed and a patio door that opened almost directly onto the beach. We did enjoy the coffee percolator in the room so fresh coffee always available and the fresh coffee and chocolate the hotel provided. The only disappointment. There was no catering facilities in the hotel. The hotel was well situated for water sports activities, the Tahoe Queen, an old paddle steamer that cruised around the lake and local restaurants.

Room Tip: No need for a tip all rooms have lake views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanie U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

This was our second trip to SLT and the Lakeshore Lodge. We loved SLT so much the first time that we decided to have our wedding there this June (at Zephyr Cove)..and the Lakeshore Lodge was the first place we called for accommodations. Stacy, Lori, Pat and the whole Lakeshore staff could not have been more hospitable and made it very easy to coordinate our bookings! Everyone in our group was very happy with their room. You can’t beat the location and the views, and the beachside setup is perfect for large groups. We’ll continue to stay at the Lakeshore Lodge and can’t wait for our next getaway to SLT!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Evan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

We attended the the destination wedding of our son in Lake Tahoe. While we were there, both families of the bride and groom along with many friends stayed at the Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa. The beachfront accommodations were lovely and the view of Lake Tahoe incredible. Our rooms were well serviced during our stay and the staff very friendly.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JudyMartin2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mammoth Lakes, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

Somewhat funky, old style hotel that just happens to be right on a white sand beach with a fantastic view of the lake. While it's only a block from the very busy highway, all rooms face the lake and the highway is forgotten. It seems that all rooms have private balconies/patios. A decent sized pool and jacuzzi on the beach. Friendly staff. There are restaurants a short walk along the beach in either direction, although some of the rooms have a kitchen. Oddly, even though my room had a "full kitchen," with oven, there were no baking pans of any kind. The staff tried to find me one, but apparently there are none anywhere in the hotel...so I cooked my chicken in a fry pan. The hotel would be average but for the five star location and view. I'll never stay anywhere else in south shore.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SierraWanderer2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ypsilanti, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

We wanted to rent a private home, cottage or condo on the shore of Lake Tahoe, or at least with an unobstructed view and access to the lake. Unfortunately, we could only stay in Tahoe for three nights and pretty much everyone (especially in Incline) has a 5-night minimum. When we found Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa we thought it was our last resort, but it turned out to be a great opportunity. Our 2-bdrm unit was right on the sandy beach and we had a gorgeous panoramic view of the lake and mountains. The interior is quite narrow and pretty dated, but there was just two of us and we weren't there much during the day anyway. It is right in South Tahoe so you have great access to casinos, restaurants, golf, boat rentals and various tourist traps. We were very grateful to find such a nice place with no minimum night requirement. Additionally, we recommended it to friends and they seemed to love it, also.

Room Tip: Always specify "beachfront" if that's what you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.2 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#14 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#15 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
0.5 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#7 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
1.3 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
1.4 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa

Property: Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa
Address: 930 Balbijou Rd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-8919
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#8 On the Beach Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#9 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#11 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge & Spa, South Shore’s only all lakefront property, offering hotel and condominium lodging all with an incredible lake view and cozy fireplace. Pamper yourself in our full service day spa or relax by our heated pool and hot tub. Centrally located to area activities, restaurants, casinos and sitting on 500 feet of private beach, you’ll receive a true Tahoe experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tahoe Lakeshore Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Lakeshore Hotel Lake Tahoe
Lakeshore Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing