We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view and peaceful hotel right on the beach in the heart of Tahoe”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa
Ranked #17 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 April 2009

Yes what everyone says about the hotel being old and unhip is true. But it was clean with good service and the location can't be beat. All the rooms are right on the beach, which is very hard to find in Lake Tahoe (yes, many hotels have a view, but a balcony/patio right on the beach you won't find). We could see both water and mountains from our room and could step right onto the beach and into the water. Nice walk along the beach or the main drag to get to the Heavenly shops/lift. There was a nice pool, volleyball court, and grills. Also had a good and affordable massage. A great summertime hotel for singles, couples, or families.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yolandael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (515)
There are newer reviews for Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

421 - 427 of 515 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2009

Don't let the words "lodge and spa" give you the wrong idea--this is anything but. This hotel has neither a lodge nor a spa feel to it. Yes, the views are fabulous, and you are right on the lake. However, the hotel (really, it's more of a motel) is in desperate need of some updating.

Prior to our stay, I had read some reviews of the hotel on this website and really had some serious reservations about staying there. I knew not to expect The Ritz and therefore knew it was not going to have a luxurious spa feel to it. Some people described the place as rustic, and I can see why. The furniture definitely has that Adirondack mountain feel to it. Rustic, however, implies a certain charm, which I felt this place was lacking.

Although others described their rooms as dirty, ours was actually very clean, and I think the hotel staff did a great job each day of cleaning the room, providing us with fresh linens, etc. That being said, the hotel is OLD. The bedding is extremely outdated--no high thread count sheets here! The bathroom fixtures date back a couple of decades, and the wallpaper and drapes are somewhat dreary. Finally, there was that smell in the carpets which I had read about. They didn't smell dirty, but definitely musty. The corner unit we stayed in provided us with wonderful sunlight, which I was glad for because otherwise I think the rooms would be rather dreary and depressing.

We stayed on the third floor, and out unit included a kitchenette which we enjoyed having so we didn't have to go out to breakfast each morning. We didn't have problems with noise, but again, we were on the third floor. Having the stove in our room was a bonus, and the room was definitely large, which we appreciated. Regarding the building's "amenities", the pool was never open and was small. Additionally, the hot tub was also quite small, and it was FILTHY when we were there. We were in for about five minutes, noticed the ring of filth on the tile surround, and hot-stepped it out of there

Overall, we were disappointed and wouldn't go back. There were too many minuses for us to want to return. There are literally TONS of placed to stay in Tahoe at various price points, so next time we go back to Tahoe to ski, we will definitely check out another hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Szegway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2009

I always wanted to stay on the lake and place is the perfect place for this. Even in the winter the beach is fantastic. We would walk out with our coffee and muffins each morning in aw of the extreme beauty of the lake. The views from the room were equally perfect. We stayed in one of the condos and our friends we in the hotel part. The condo was really nice with a screen TV and leather couch. The hotel had a nice wood feel to it and made you feel like you were in... well Tahoe. Breakfast a Hiedi's each morning was perfect, just a 50 yard walk away. And Longs was next door for other things. Casinos less than a mile away and all sorts of food places. The staff was extremely nice and the hotel was safe and clean.
With views and location as well as a more than fair price, I would recommend this place to anyone who enjoys life and doesn't want to spend a bunch.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank toddSFBAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2009

I just want to say that I booked my stay not really knowing anything about the lodge, but I was throughly please with my stay at Lakeshore! I have only been home/back to work one day and have already recommended the lodge to several of my clients. The people that work at the lodge were extremely kind and helpful. I was given great recommendations of local places to go. Great rooms, great view, great service, great staff! Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Cali-Giggles79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2008

We arrived at the Lakeshore Lodge on a beautiful Saturday on Sept. 13, 2008. There were no problems and were able to check in early. The room was on the top floor, 403 and the only thing I would want anyone to know is the walls are pretty thin. We had no complaints as it was very quiet but were advised through this site to pick a top floor room. The hotel is located within walking distance of a Longs Drug Store and across the street is a Safeway Grocery Store. What more could you ask for? There are plenty of things to do and the front desk can fill you in on that. We are not skiers so this was the perfect time to go for us. The view from our room was amazing and were able to leave the curtains open to see the mountains from morning to night. We will definitely come back. Thanks to Blanca for making our stay the best! Guy and Julie Johnson, Michigan

    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank johnmcalski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2008

Very nice location on the beach. The young woman at the front desk was very nice and helpful. Every room has a lake view, although because the hotel is L-shaped, it appears the views are better from some rooms than others. As the photo shows, the building has a wing that goes toward the beach, so a couple of rooms have an view looking more down the beach than at the lake. Our room was on the third floor just before that wing so we had a nice view of the lake but the wing cut off our view of the September sunset. So, we went down to the beach, where the hotel provided chairs. The hotel has an elevator, so getting the luggage up to the room wasn't bad. The room was furnished with sort of a national park lodge decor, which their website shows well. Nice semi-private balcony with a couple chairs. The beds are queen only and were reasonably comfortable, but the pillows were old and quite thin. There is a gas stove in the room for heat (not needed during our stay). There is no A/C, and it was rather warm our first night, but we found an electric fan in the closet. Between the fan and the slightly open balcony door, we were fine. It gets quite cool at night (near freezing in early September) so the room cooled off nicely. The bathroom was functional--nothing special. My wife and I were both happy with our choice. It's hard to beat the view!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jcd016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2008

We began our one week, first ever vist to Lake Tahoe at Lakeland Village. We moved to Lakeshore Lodge because this unit was on the sand. This unit looked like it was just remodeled. The furnishings looked newer and definitely upscale. This is a one bedroom unit, which is privately owned and decorated. The sofa and chair were plush, the flat screen tv was a treat. The kitchen is upgraded with tile granite countertops and new appliances, which was clean and free of leftover food products, found in other vacation rentals we have been in. The bathroom was large and nicely decorated. All windows have beautiful lake views. Sit on the private deck and watch the lake and sand traffic. Very relaxing! We did tour other rooms, kindly allowed by the front desk clerk. Yes, other units seem to be dated, but the units we saw were in good condition. Unit #134 was definitely superior to any other unit we looked at. However, when making reservations you cannot reserve a particular unit. You can request this unit only when you check in. Too bad! I'm not sure I'd take the chance of getting another unit. Lake Tahoe is so beautiful, and surprisingly not overly crowded. There is so much to see, including smaller lakes such as Fallen Leaf lake and Echo lake - all with a big "wow" factor! The cool summer weather and chilly summer nights are a bonus! Don't tell anyone. Let's just keep it between us!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ia2az
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.1 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#11 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,076 reviews
1.3 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#8 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
900 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#13 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#5 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,119 reviews
0.5 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#7 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
484 reviews
1.4 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa

Address: 930 Balbijou Rd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-8919
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#8 On the Beach Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#9 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#11 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range: £105 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge & Spa, South Shore’s only all lakefront property, offering hotel and condominium lodging all with an incredible lake view and cozy fireplace. Pamper yourself in our full service day spa or relax by our heated pool and hot tub. Centrally located to area activities, restaurants, casinos and sitting on 500 feet of private beach, you’ll receive a true Tahoe experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tahoe Lakeshore Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Lakeshore Hotel Lake Tahoe
Lakeshore Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing