We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you don't expect the Ritz, the location itself is enough”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa
Ranked #18 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“If you don't expect the Ritz, the location itself is enough”
Reviewed 6 January 2010

I have stayed here many times. It's my favorite place in Tahoe. You are out of the way enough to be out of the hustle and bustle of state line, but you are close enough that it's not much of a journey to get there.

First of all, EVERY room in the entire hotel has a whole side of it that opens directly onto the beach. That's alone is enough to keep me coming back. The staff has always been extremely helpful and hospitable, which can make a big difference in your opinion of a place.

It is true that the building is old, and has some cosmetic issues, but that is reflected in the fact that you are paying $89 a night to stay RIGHT ON THE BEACH. If you are expecting the Ritz right on the water for <$100 a night, then YOU are the one with the issues, not the hotel.

The Jacuzzi is open, rain, snow or shine. That's always a plus for me, as well.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laceyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TahoeLakeshore, Manager at Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa, responded to this review, 12 February 2010
Thank you for sharing your thoughts and for your continued patronage. We do agree that Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge is a great value with a priceless view. The Ritz we are not, cozy lodge on the lake we are! During the slower seasons our rates can start as low as only $89 night! In the higher season such as summer rates are usually higher and can vary depending on room type and availability.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    168
    60
    21
    17
See reviews for
147
231
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lakehead, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2010

I have been reading many of the reviews for this hotel and I must say I think people might be a little critical.Where else can you get a reasonable rate on a hotel with a private beach?The facility could use a lot of up dating and cleaning but if it was remodeled then guess what, the price would go way up.So if you are looking for a nice private beach with excellent lake views I suggest you book one of the private condos.Sure it's a little small but the only time you are in the room is when you are mixing your drink or grabbing a beer.These condos are well worth the money I guarantee it.I also noticed someone said you need to have a car to get to the casinos that is not true if you can handle a 20 minute walk with beautiful views you can make it to the casino.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pabstlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TahoeLakeshore, Manager at Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa, responded to this review, 12 February 2010
We appreciate your comments and thank you for sharing them. Again, we also feel that Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge offers a great value with an incredible view. From our hotel rooms to our condominiums we offer a variety of room types and sizes to suite all kinds of needs. As far as we know there is nowhere else you can find such affordable lodging located right on the shores of beautiful Lake Tahoe with a view from every room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballymena
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2009

Myself and three friends stayed in one of the condo's which had a view of Lake Tahoe from the window. It was a fully furnished, clean, comfortable and well looked after. Breakfast was continental in the hotel but we chose to take it back to the condo. The location is very central to all the local attractions. Hotel staff more than happy to give directions and lots of maps available.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoseBallymena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tahoetravelor, Manager at Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa, responded to this review, 19 November 2009
We are so glad that you enjoyed your recent stay at Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Altos, CA
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2009

Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge
Hotel Review
October, 2009

A friend and I spent two nights at the Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and overall enjoyed our stay. As others have noted, this hotel offers a variety of rooms, which are right on the beach at Lake Tahoe, and which offer spectacular views of the mountains and the lake. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful, going out of their way to upgrade us and to give great local information.

As other have also noted, the rooms are dated, and the hotel is in real need of renovation, especially given the price which is charged for the rooms.

Old style thermostats make for some fickle settings on the electric heat. There is also no air conditioning, which could make for a stuffy room during the heat of the summer. I did appreciate the room darkening curtains in the bedroom, which allowed for a nice sleep-in. There was a musty smell in the room.

Despite the above, I would recommend this hotel for a visit to Lake Tahoe. The chance to sit on your balcony enjoy a glass of wine, and watch the sun set over the lake and mountains, without a road between you and the lake, is worth the drawbacks. The Spa also offers some very nice massages, and has a very friendly staff.

If you enjoy a good/large breakfast then visit Heidi’s. This is a two minute walk from the hotel.

I hope the hotel owners see the consistent thread in these reviews, and decide to invest in some renovations to the hotel rooms including: changing the furniture and décor, adding air conditioning, and changing the carpets.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Smokeyham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tahoetravelor, Manager at Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa, responded to this review, 19 November 2009
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and do thank you for letting us know your concerns. Our condominiums have electric heat while our Lodge rooms have a gas fireplace for heating. Being right on the water, we seldom get complaints about air conditioning and do not have plans to add that at this time. Most guests just leave the windows open and enjoy the cool evening mountain breeze. We are sorry about the musty smell. That usually only happens when a rooms has not been rented for several days.

Thank you again for your comments and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
houston
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 September 2009

After a very busy week at a conference a long weekend at Lakeshore Lodge was just what we needed. The staff is wonderful: friendly, good advice, and responsive.

We were given information on crosscountry skiing that was superb. The lodge was a warm and welcoming spot to return to with our bumps and bruises! Morning proved to be a pleasant treat of big muffins and coffee.

The lodge is older - but I've never been a "Holiday Inn" person. I want a place with character and pleasant people.

We'll be back next year.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peasolson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tahoetravelor, Manager at Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa, responded to this review, 14 October 2009
Thank you for your positive feedback. Our staff takes great pride in recommending area restaurants and activities that we like to enjoy as well. We hope that our reviews do represent what to expect and what we are and are not. Thanks again and we hope to see you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2009

We celebrated my 60th birthday here - with about 25 -35 other family members and friends and had a fabulous, relaxing, rockin' and memorable time! They helped organize the events and were very helpful and accommodating when people called in to make their own reservations for various dates and ;odging types (it was so easy to organize the gathering because of this). The staff was friendly and responded quickly to our every need throughout the week. Our condo had plenty of space, everyone in the group loved their condo or lodge room and the views are wonderful. We loved being able to have BBQ's right on the beach, the music in the evening was quite a bonus and the location is the best - right on the beach! We walked to meals and shopping and it's a 5 min drive to the casinos. The pool, beachfront, access to boating and lots of other activities was great. Yes, it's older but it's warm, friendly and really easy to have a great time here. Everyone in our party (couples, families, singles) really enjoyed the Lakeshore - in fact, everyone wants to make this "our" place for annual events.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shewolfe49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tahoetravelor, Manager at Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa, responded to this review, 14 October 2009
Thank you for sharing your kind comments. We are glad that you and your group had a great time. We do strive to make group reservations and events easy for our guests and are happy to hear that we are. We would love to host your group again and look forward to seeing you all next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eureka
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2009

Celebrating our anniversary, my wife and I were lured in by the website for the Lakefront Lodge and Spa. Keep in mind that the website shows all the best shots. I had read other reviews but felt that some of them were highly critical. Having stayed and paid, this is my take. The Staff were certainly nice and helpful. The Lodge itself has one of the best lakefront locations in all of lake tahoe, the problem is that it is an old and tired building that should have been torn down and rebuilt. floors are squeeky, smells old, up close it looks old..it is old. If you are looking for something upscale you will be disappointed, stay some where else. If you relate to "Getter Done" and are not picky..the lakefront location will make you happy. The rooms were clean..Bathrooms small, Shower tall.the lodge is old!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Calhelitack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tahoetravelor, Manager at Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa, responded to this review, 14 October 2009
We are so sorry that we did not meet your expectations. Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge is an older building however tearing down and rebuilding during these tough economic times is not an option. So we try to focus on what we do have, a relaxed atmosphere right on the beach with beautiful views, great personal service, and a clean well kept facility. Certainly, if you are looking for higher end resort than we might not be the place for you. If you want a casual atmosphere at a great value offering a true Tahoe experience than give us a shot.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.1 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#11 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,001 reviews
1.3 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
888 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#13 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#6 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
468 reviews
1.3 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#5 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,107 reviews
0.7 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa

Property: Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa
Address: 930 Balbijou Rd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-8919
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#8 On the Beach Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#9 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#11 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge & Spa, South Shore’s only all lakefront property, offering hotel and condominium lodging all with an incredible lake view and cozy fireplace. Pamper yourself in our full service day spa or relax by our heated pool and hot tub. Centrally located to area activities, restaurants, casinos and sitting on 500 feet of private beach, you’ll receive a true Tahoe experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tahoe Lakeshore Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Lakeshore Hotel Lake Tahoe
Lakeshore Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing