We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place will definitely be back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village
Ranked #23 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Galt, California
1 review
“Great place will definitely be back”
Reviewed 2 September 2011

We met with several family members and found the place to be much more than we expected. It was quiet, beautiful, large rooms, great service, close to all activities, clean, lovely grounds and terrific mattresses. Couldn't ask for more and the breakfasts were good with lots of choices. Had a great visit and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    310
    206
    110
    74
    47
See reviews for
338
157
12
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sonoma, California
1 review
Reviewed 31 August 2011

Based on prior visit many years ago and TA ratings we tried FSR on a 3 day visit. We were very pleased with our stay. We love to stay where a property fits in with the surroundings and with the beautiful landscaping and pine trees...this definitely fits the bill while still being located near the ' mall ' and casinos. As pointed out by other reviews, the place might be a bit dated but was clean and comfortable, ample breakfast and pleasant friendly service. A real Tahoe experience. We will be back!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlingame
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2011

For the price-you can't beat Forest Suites Resort. It has large one and two bedroom suites with kitchens, pool and jacuzzi and perfect if you come with your family. The rooms are kept clean. Its location is central to everything in South Lake Tahoe and It is next to state line and across from Heavenly.You can cross the street to snow ski or go for a hike in the summer.. The staff is so friendly and in the morning they have a good continental breakfast. We will stay here again

Room Tip: Building 6 is where we always stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kath W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaluma, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

wow you can walk everywhere from this place! Staff was so friendly and helpful and what a great time of year to be at South Lake Tahoe it was really beautiful! Comfortable beds and we loved having a kitchen for snacks. We also really liked the breakfast bar with lots of choices fresh food.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mill Valley, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2011

I had the pleasure of staying at this lovely Resort as my life long companion and I celebrated our anniversary. We stayed in the Presidential Suite and boy did I feel like royalty. The staff was exceptionally friendly and the room is a room everyone should stay in at least once. The resort is centrally located and the suite had everything I ever wanted in a room. I usually stay at Ritz Carlton's and now I have a permanent home in South Lake Tahoe. This is a great hotel/Resort......

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tonys808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deerfield, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

This place has a good location if you'd like to be near the Heavenly gondola. We were here in the summer so it wasn't critical. There are no views of Lake Tahoe and the beach is about a 4 block walk away. The pool and hot tub were nice. The breakfast had a good selection--eggs, toast, waffles, oatmeal, and fresh fruit. However the room was not what I expected for the price. The bathrooms were dirty, the kitchen smelled of cigarette smoke, and the carpets turned our feet black.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ForestManager, General Manager at Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village, responded to this review, 26 August 2011
Dear Travelbun –
Thank you for your recent review and we are sorry you did not have an exceptional experience with us. I’m glad our location and breakfast were to your liking, but I am disappointed in your issues with our rooms. Our entire property is non-smoking indoors, so I’m surprised to hear the kitchen smelled like cigarette smoke. I hope you contacted the front desk upon finding the bathroom not cleaned to your liking, so that we could address your issues and meet your satisfaction. While our rooms are not the newest, making sure they are as clean as possible is a top priority for us. We also know carpet cleanliness is a major issue in the mountains and constantly strive to tackle that problem. Unlike a single story hotel, a lot of our rooms have doors that open to the outside, allowing guests to track in the elements. Therefore, all of our carpets, furniture, and upholstery are deep cleaned twice a year, to combat the dirt and/or snow that are tracked into the rooms each season. We hope you will give us another try in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 21 August 2011

The room was stuffy and moldy. We both woke with headaches. The breakfast was bad, the OJ rotten, and the dishes were dirty. We felt a little unsafe. For a little more we could have stayed at the Embassy Suites. For a lot less, we could have stayed at Vagabond. Either would have been better.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesMtnVw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ForestManager, General Manager at Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village, responded to this review, 26 August 2011
Dear JamesMtnVw –
Thank you for your recent review. Please allow me to comment on the items you addressed. While you may have thought the room stuffy, I can guarantee there was no mold present in the rooms. We are in complete compliance with health and lodging codes and our hotel would not be allowed to function if mold was present. Maybe your headaches were due to the altitude, which is a common occurrence for guests that travel above 6000 feet. I’m sorry you didn’t care for our complimentary breakfast, but I can assure you the Orange Juice was not rotten. Again, we are checked regularly by Food Health Inspectors and are in compliance in all areas. I’m not sure why it is you felt unsafe at Forest Suites, but we would have liked to address your concerns while you were here, rather than commenting about them after the fact on this website. We understand you have a lot of lodging options to choose from when visiting South Lake Tahoe. When comparing our rates and free amenities (parking, wireless internet, daily maid service, etc.) to other places like Embassy Suites, we feel we are the best deal in the Stateline Area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.2 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#4 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,069 reviews
1.6 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#12 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
931 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe
Holiday Inn Express South Lake T...
#21 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
445 reviews
0.6 mi away
Americana Village
Americana Village
#6 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
386 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village

Property: Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village
Address: 1 Lake Pkwy, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-8834
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#9 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location, Location, Location! Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village is a South Lake Tahoe resort nestled in intimate alpine environment located less than 100 yards away from Heavenly Ski Gondola and Heavenly Village. All of our over sized South Lake Tahoe resort suites sleep 4 to 6 adults. We are a few minute walk to the casinos, and a few blocks to the crystal clear waters of Lake Tahoe. Guests staying at Forest Suites Resort will experience updated rooms & furnishings, new decor & upgraded amenities. Our guests will experience high-speed wireless internet, hot American-style breakfast buffet, mid-week nightly wine and cheese receptions, weekend child activities including arts & crafts, "Green" exercise classes, movie nights, an XBOX game center & events throughout the entire year for the entire family to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forest Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Forest Hotel Lake Tahoe
Forest Resort Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing