We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“LivingSocial prompted visit paid off in a great stay and memories” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village
Ranked #22 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“LivingSocial prompted visit paid off in a great stay and memories”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

We took advantage of a LivingSocial promotion where we received a 2 room suite at a discount. The suite consisted of 2 queen beds, with one of the rooms also having a twin bed. There was also a sofa bed in the living room. The suite comfortable housed us and the kids. The bathrooms were a bit dated. The service in the hotel was great as were the activities for the kids (roasting marshmallows, crafts in the morning, etc.). We happened to check in at the time of the wine/cheese party, so that was a nice greeting. Breakfast consisted of coffee, juices, cereals, bagels, eggs (powdered?), bacon and potatoes. While a bit busy, there were plenty of places to sit for our family of 5. They have a "green" program which lets you receive a bottle of wine or snack package in lieu of housekeeping. I'm not sure how this is green as opposed to labor cost savings, but we did not mind as we don't swap out linens/towels during our stays. The hotel is located right behind Heavenly Village, so its in walking distance to the bars/restaurants in the village as well as the casinos. The hotel staff recommended visits to local beaches and the Taylor Creek Visitor Center, both of which were hits the kids. We enjoyed our stay and will be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank capturedplanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ForestManager, General Manager at Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear Capturedplanet,

Thanks so much for finding us through our fall promo that took place in September. Its always great to show our property to new guests. It sounds like you and your family absolutely took advantage of all the great amenities we have on property like the free bottle of wine option, arts/crafts, roasting marshmallows, wine and cheese mixers, etc.... We certainly hope you make our resort your home away from home while in South Lake Tahoe. We hope to see you this Winter!

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    300
    194
    108
    71
    40
See reviews for
318
149
12
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Half Moon Bay
Level Contributor
116 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

The retreat is just enough off the traffic path to be quiet and serene. There is a doorway in the lobby to the stairs of the Gondolas for Heavenly Valley Ski area. (runs summer and winter).
Our experience was good from the telephone call to check on availability prior to buying a fabulous Travel Zoo package through our checkout following our 2 night stay.

2 Bedroom suites are huge. King in one, full plus twin or queen in the other, plus queen pullout in living room. Two baths, both large. Full kitchen, equipped with dishes, silverware, pots/pans and utensils. Bring your food (Raleys just down the street) and make a full meal if you are so inclined. Dining table seats 6. Two TVs, good internet reception(free). Four could stay here for months and not be crowded. Leather chairs/sofa, plenty of lamps so you don't need to feel your way around the unit. And, re Onepinoy's review - yes, the decor is older, but primarily it is "lodge type" not high tech new plastic -- the dining table is actually wood). This is a summer in the woods/mountains and ski resort area, you know.

Full breakfast, quite good with scrambled eggs, bacon/sausage, juices, cereals, toast/bagles, etc.

It was too chilly to use the pool or hot tub but they looked nice, clean and well cared for.

We'd come back in an NY minute.

Room Tip: Suites are probably the best deal. We asked for mountain view for the quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank patiD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

We got a package deal car/hotel/flight which comes with the hotel style room (not a suite) even though the name is Forest Suites Resort. Great location, good breakfast. Separate from the main resort, the basic hotel rooms are along an alley which faces the mountain looking up, and an alley with the maintenance garage & laundry room looking down. The basic room was cramped, a table and lamp on one side of the bed, and a loveseat on my wife's side which made it almost impossible for her to get in & out of the bed. The door wouldn't close without putting your whole body into it until it clicked, and it squeeked so bad I'm sure we woke up the neighbors. No central air but a little window a/c unit below the sink that was too small for the hole in the wall, so there was a 1 1/2 x 14 inch of space around the whole unit open for any & all critters to come in to the room. The common balcony was so old we were tripping on floor boards that were literally warped & sticking up a good 3 inches with paint peeling off everywhere. Not worth the money. If you go here, make sure you get a suite.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foxlake50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minden, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

Excellent stay, excellent location to Heavenly Village and Casinos, great price value for location and full kitchen amenities. Rooms are clean and nice. CD players in rooms. Excellent staff and customer service. Location is great to Heavenly Village Cinema, Restaurants including Base Camp Pizza Company, Gunbarrel Tavern, Driftwood Cafe, Burger King, and Kalanis in very short walking distance. Also, adjacent to the Heavenly Village 8 Plex Cinema and Heavenly Village Ice Rink and Miniature Golf course. Heavenly Gondola is within very short walking distance. Great location and dining/enterainment options.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 174Gary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

A major disappointment in quality of the facility. We happened to get there when a storm was passing through and had to wait to check into our room (May 2013).

Cheeky 70's "tree wood like" dining furniture; 70's kitchen and bathroom fixtures; the place looks like it has not been updated, nor consistently maintained.

Benign neglect would be a nice thing to say. It is a discount tourist venue. I got the coupon for discounted room rates (Sun-Thurs), bring low expectations --so you won't get disappointed.

Room Tip: See your room first before signing off on it. You could find yourself next to a busy intersection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Onepinoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garden Grove
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

The hotel was very accommodating to my needs. Nice place to stay. Very reasonably priced. Bring your own pillow though. They are as flat as a pancake. Very close proximity to the Heavenly village. Close enough to walk to the lake, next to the casinos. They have lots of activities like a marshmallow roast and wine and cheese parties.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelplady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ForestManager, General Manager at Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Dear Kelplady,

I want to thank you for staying with us over this last holiday weekend. We certainly appreciate the business. We are in the process of purchasing all new pillows this fall & we are targeting a firmer style. Thanks also for commenting on some of the great activities we have for all of our guests as well as our perfect location. We certainly hope for you to stay with us next time you are in South Lake and we wish you the best this fall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

My husband surprised me with a trip to Lake Tahoe for our honeymoon. Originally we were supposed to go to Ireland but due to work related reasons we decided to stay closer to home (Reno). Upon arrival I didn't quite know what to think. The property looked a bit worn on the outside but I quickly changed my mind when my husband showed me to our room, a one bedroom suite with a full kitchen and rustic cabin decor. The room was spotless. It was so clean and comfortable I could totally see a family spending a week here on there ski vacation. A nice perk was a free bottle of wine for not needing to have our room cleaned one day. It is the perfect property for families because the hotel has arranged fun activities for every age. We enjoyed the wine and cheese social in the evening and the breakfast in the morning. We also enjoyed the pool and spa. I would like to come back and bring our son so he could take part in the arts and crafts activities the hotel offers, pony rides, ice cream socials, and evening story time and marshmallow roast around the campfire. There is also a fitness center on site, massage therapy available, family movie nights and fitness classes during certain times of the week. We had a great stay and urge customers to get back the initial facade because this place has everything! Loved it. Will be back! Thank you Forest Suites for a perfect honeymoon.

Room Tip: We like the suites best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Crissy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ForestManager, General Manager at Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Dear Crissy J,

What a great review! It sounds like a trip to Ireland was re-routed to our property for more of a stay-cation. I am delighted you felt the room was clean and spotless and perfect for a honeymoon. We appreciate the cute picture that was posted and delighted you were able to take advantage of the many amenities we offer. We wish you a successful marriage and look forward to you spending more trips from Reno in South Lake Tahoe.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,033 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#4 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#15 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
1.6 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#14 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
0.9 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#7 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village

Property: Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village
Address: 1 Lake Pkwy, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-8834
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#9 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location, Location, Location! Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village is a South Lake Tahoe resort nestled in intimate alpine environment located less than 100 yards away from Heavenly Ski Gondola and Heavenly Village. All of our over sized South Lake Tahoe resort suites sleep 4 to 6 adults. We are a few minute walk to the casinos, and a few blocks to the crystal clear waters of Lake Tahoe. Guests staying at Forest Suites Resort will experience updated rooms & furnishings, new decor & upgraded amenities. Our guests will experience high-speed wireless internet, hot American-style breakfast buffet, mid-week nightly wine and cheese receptions, weekend child activities including arts & crafts, "Green" exercise classes, movie nights, an XBOX game center & events throughout the entire year for the entire family to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forest Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Forest Hotel Lake Tahoe
Forest Resort Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing