We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village
Ranked #24 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Reviewed 19 January 2014

This is a nice hotel. It is clean and the staff is wonderful. The breakfast was delicious and the accommodations were clean, clean, clean. My only complaint is the thin windows make the heater necessary all the time which made our allergies a little rough. I would absolutely recommend this place to anyone in the Tahoe area, especially if you have kids. It's a wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smeir0807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dell D, General Manager at Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear Smeri0807,

Thanks for commenting on our amazing location. We definitely agree! We also thank you for recommending it to all and especially families which we pride ourselves in creating activities and additional value for families. We couldn't agree with you more on all of your written survey.

We wish you a great 14' year and warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (776)
There are newer reviews for Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

328 - 334 of 776 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2014

My significant other and I arrived and were immediately greeted by warm, smiling faces. Checking in was quick and easy, no confusion or fuss which was excellent after a four hour drive! They had an up and running hot tub (so relaxing and actually clean--hard to find these days so it seems) and not a bunch of kids in it (double plus!) Breakfast was great too..lots of options even with my food allergies which is a relief! We will be back for a longer stay next time so we can get to the ski runs that are super close by.

Room Tip: Request a room close to your car port--it gets cold having to walk far from your car to the room!
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Camille K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dell D, General Manager at Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear CamilleK,

First and foremost we appreciate your second return to the property as a return guest. We saw you were only in for 2 days and we couldn't agree with you more on staying longer to enjoy all that Tahoe has to offer including some fun skiing. Thanks again and we wish you the best!

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Unsurprising accom at the olde forest suites. No frills, but no bad surprises. All who say the breakfast is good need an MRI scan. Always wondered what bakeries did with their day or two old bagels- now i know. Rooms large enough- no ski storage, but we did have two bathrooms. Air con sounds like sleeping on tarmac of LAX. BTW don't get ski rentals from Heavenly website- plenty cheaper and easier on arrival- at gondola rental as simple as a Colombian Coca Cola franchise. Laundry good and surprisingly uncrowded. Pillows like bricks.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank riddloor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dell D, General Manager at Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear riddloor,

Location, Location, Location! You hit the nail on the head. Your review was funny and refreshing. We like your sense of humor. We wish you a great New Year and look forward to your next visit.

Best-

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We stayed at resort over Veterans Day weekend. We had problems with heater (fan ran all night to maintain heat at 65), TV muted itself - tried to call front desk from the room and no one answered - I even tried calling from my cell without success. We were promised movie snack pack but didn't receive it until 9:30pm, a little late. Room was older, dingy, musty, needs upgrade. Bed frame squeaked. I expressed my concerns at checkout. Resort fee was waived but I was promised a room upgrade at significant discount for a future stay and have not heard from anyone.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
Thank Joan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dell D, General Manager at Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear Joan,

Please feel free to contact me at ddellinger@forestsuites.com when you are back in the area to redeem that offer. It sounds like we veered off the road and never recovered so to speak. Its not how we like any of our guests to experience our property. Next time you are here, you will be my personal guest with that upgrade and discount offer.

Thanks and we look forward to your return,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

This is not a luxury resort but perfect for family. Easy walking distance to village, gondola, lake & casinos. Breakfast included made a big difference in $ value and ease of planning. Friendly accommodating staff. Extras like crafts for kids, free wine & cheese, games room, free wifi, very safe environment, & hot tub made for plenty of variety when we didn't want to go out. I highly recommend the Forest Suites and will stay there again :)

Room Tip: Suite (205) was decent but old - grout in kitchen cracked and no cutting board available making safe...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HeatherinBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dell D, General Manager at Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear HeatherinBC,

Thanks for spending time with us over the December Holiday. We're delighted all of the additional amenities for you and the family was perfect and exceeded your expectations. We are thrilled you would definitely recommend us and stay with us again in the future. We'll be waiting!

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Pros:

- Close to the Heavenly Village and Gondola
- Kitchen with stove, full-size refrigerator, toaster, and microwave
- Close a Raley's supermarket
- Updated furnishings in the rooms
- Free parking, some covered
- Evening activities that are family-centered
- Ecological awareness - LED light bulbs (not CFLs), option to forgo full housekeeping (change of sheets) in exchange for snacks or wine
- Hot breakfast included
- Small ski rental shop in the lobby

Cons:

- The buildings themselves are old and dated
- Minimal cookware in the kitchens
- No dishwasher - wouldn't be a problem but there was also no dish drying rack
- Single-paned windows - rooms lose heat rapidly, causing the furnace to work overtime
- Mediocre breakfast
- Small, cramped elevators
- Infrastructure problems - wall receptacles (outlets) are loose, potentially dangerous
- Poor wi-fi service

Biggest annoyance:

- Upon checking in, we were directed to the concierge desk to receive special discount cards. This was really just a trick to get us roped into a discussion about a timeshare opportunity. Even though we repeatedly and politely told them that we weren't interested in attending a 90 minute talk, even in exchange for additional perks, they persisted.

**************************************************­*******************************

We just got back from a 4 night stay at the Forest Suites Resort. For the price, we knew that we wouldn't be checking into a luxury hotel. Overall, we were very happy with our experience. We were in a top-floor room in a corner, and even though we were close to the stairs we did not hear a lot of foot traffic coming from the stairwell. However, noise from the parking lot below was quite noticeable.

This is a good place for families because of the kitchens. There is limited kid-friendly fare in the Heavenly Village, so being able to walk across the street to the Raley's and prepare food in the comfort of our room was a big plus. The kitchen was stocked with only the barest minimum of cookware and dishware, but it sufficed. It would have been nice to have a cutting board (there's a pull-out board as part of the cabinetry, but it looks about as old as the hotel and did not seem sanitary at all). We asked for a dish drying rack, but they didn't have any. Kind of an odd omission given the fact that there isn't any dishwasher.

This is about as close as you can get to the Heavenly Gondola without paying the higher prices at the Marriott resort. The casinos are close by, if that's something that interests you. There's a park behind the hotel that offers some hiking trails, but these can be difficult to walk on when there's a lot of snow and ice.

The front desk staff was very friendly and responsive. The push by the concierge to attend a timeshare talk was really irritating.

The breakfast is mediocre at best, but it's better than nothing. There's industrial scrambled eggs, potato cubes, bacon and sausage, and an assortment of breads, toaster waffles, and bagels. Could use more fruit. Starbucks coffee, however, is a nice touch and is available in the lobby throughout the day.

This hotel really should upgrade to dual-paned windows. We could feel a draft in the living room, even with the shades drawn. We had to crank the thermostat up to 70 in order to keep the place comfortable, and the furnace would turn on every few minutes. I think they would save a lot of money in the long run if they changed their windows. The hotel itself is moving in an ecologically sound direction, with LED bulbs in all their fixtures, so energy efficient windows would be a logical next step. This would also help reduce the noise problem from outside the building.

We will probably stay at this hotel again on our future ski trips.

Room Tip: Top floor corner room was relatively quiet; if you can request a room away from the main entrance it...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LelHMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dell D, General Manager at Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear LelHMD,

Thank you for the response at the end of December. We appreciate your candid feedback. We want to let you know our partnership with our concierge has been corrected as this is not the approach we our our partner wants to project when assisting our guests. I can assure you this was immediately and 100% taken care of. We hope you do visit us again to see for yourself.

We wish you the best and thank again- Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

The suites at this resort are very big and great for families: a separate bedroom, kitchen, and a small dining room/eating area attached to a large living room with a pullout couch and a T.V. It is conveniently located a couple of minutes walk away from the Gondola. The only other hotel in as good an area is 4 times as expensive, so also a great value. There was a decent complimentary continental breakfast and a decent bar with complimentary appetizers and cocktails in the afternoon. It is a 3 star hotel so we didn't expect it to be beautiful; just a convenient place for our family to stay while skiing at the beautiful Heavenly Resort. We would stay here again if we are at Heavenly.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hydrokarbin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dell D, General Manager at Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear HydroKarbin,

Thanks for staying with us. We are very glad the next time you are in South Lake, you would return to our property. We pride ourselves in being a clean, high value, 3 star property with the best location. We are excited about your next return.

Have a safe start to 2014 and we hope to see you soon?

Best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.2 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#5 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,119 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#8 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
899 reviews
1.5 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#11 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,091 reviews
0.6 mi away
Americana Village
Americana Village
#6 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
396 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#13 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village

Address: 1 Lake Pkwy, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-8834
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#9 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range: £92 - £244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location, Location, Location! Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village is a South Lake Tahoe resort nestled in intimate alpine environment located less than 100 yards away from Heavenly Ski Gondola and Heavenly Village. All of our over sized South Lake Tahoe resort suites sleep 4 to 6 adults. We are a few minute walk to the casinos, and a few blocks to the crystal clear waters of Lake Tahoe. Guests staying at Forest Suites Resort will experience updated rooms & furnishings, new decor & upgraded amenities. Our guests will experience high-speed wireless internet, hot American-style breakfast buffet, mid-week nightly wine and cheese receptions, weekend child activities including arts & crafts, "Green" exercise classes, movie nights, an XBOX game center & events throughout the entire year for the entire family to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forest Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Forest Hotel Lake Tahoe
Forest Resort Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing