We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short but sweet!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village
Ranked #24 of 65 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Reviewed 27 February 2014

I have just returned from California, skiing in Lake Tahoe. During this stay I had a short stay at the Forest Inn and Suites. The hotel is based right at the bottom of the main gondola up to Heavenly ski resort. It’s a short walk from shops, cafes and bars. The rooms are very spacious with good facilities and very clean. I enjoyed the heated hot tub in the evenings. From the hotel you can also walk to the main strip with Hard Rock Café, Casinos etc. I really enjoyed my stay and look forward to returning as soon as possible.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveler1664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dell D, General Manager at Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear Traveler1664,

Short but sweet! We certainly wish it could have been longer as your timing was impeccable right after a nice snow storm. Thanks for commenting on our spacious and clean rooms and our fantastic location. We hope you come and visit soon!

Best-

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (781)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

322 - 328 of 781 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2014

Having stayed at the Forest Suites over the New Year's holidays we enjoyed our stay so much that we returned for another week during President's day.
As we have two young boys, having an extra room for them is a great luxury and much appreciated. Their two bed two bath rooms are spacious, functional, and perfect for recovering after a long day on the Heavenly slopes.
Across the street from the charming Village, and from a commercial center with an excellent supermarket, sporting good store, restaurants, and any amenity imaginable, the location is golden.
Others have talked about the condition of the rooms, and yes, it is an older building... but the value, location, and service make this hotel a rare find. Especially for a family looking for some elbow room, the size of the two bedroom unit makes it very pleasant for longer stays, and is very functional. We made good use of the kitchen.
Laundry facilities on site were very helpful.
Convenient covered parking is appreciated as well. We did not take advantage of all the cool activities... there's even a video game room for the kids... because we were too tired after a full day of skiing. On the other hand, the DVD players in the units were great for the kids to relax with their movies rather than plain TV.
The staff was always courteous and helpful. The only wish we have is to live closer so we could come more often!

Room Tip: We liked the higher floor in the front building. The back building may be quieter, as sometimes musi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suiteseek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dell D, General Manager at Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear Suiteseek,

It was nice to be able to speak with you last week. We're delighted you have found a home away from home when you are in Lake Tahoe. Thanks for giving a great honest survey on our property. We know we are an older property but we will always remain clean, with great guest services, have tremendous value and unique-fun amenities for families. We absolutely appreciate the return business and look forward to seeing you very soon.

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We had stayed at the Forest Inn Suites years ago on a ski club trip and really enjoyed our stay. Not much has changed in the guest suites since our previous stay. And we enjoyed our stay again! The staff is EXTREMELY helpful and nice. The rooms neat and clean. Though our kitchen was missing essentials that would be needed to cook a meal. I'm sure if we had asked we would have been given what we needed, but we did no cooking on our vacation! The morning breakfast was wonderful, eggs, bacon, sausage, waffles, and a variety of other breakfast foods. The Gondola was only few steps away, as were the casinos and restaurants. We would absolutely stay there again!

Room Tip: Ask for a Suite. Worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neely B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Location is great! This is less than 100 yards from the Gondola to Heavenly. It's very small but it's all you need since you shouldn't be spending any time in the hotel. There is so much to do around heavenly village and the mountain is so close that you will not need any cabins or large rooms.

The service is great, very helpful folks. The pool and hot tub are small but worth it after a long day of riding. They provide breakfast and some times cheese/wine in the afternoons. The rooms are clean but minimal. If you are looking to spend money or impress someone, this isn't the place for you. If you are looking for a friendly clean place to crash, this is a great spot. I will be returning next season (as long as there is some snow!).

Room Tip: All seem pretty close to everything. You can walk to the Heavenly village and there are two hot tub...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We checked in on 2/15/14. My only expectation was to have a clean place to stay. After check in we went to our room. The room was filthy carpet stains with crusted food spots, wall stains, dirty towels with visible stuff on them hanging in the bathroom, the refrigerator was not cleaned, splatters on the toilet, some substance crusted and running down the door jam of master bed room. A staff member ran to the room to pick up the towels and insisted the room was clean. They wouldn't send someone to clean the room, they wouldn't give me another room. When my son and his friend pulled out the sofa bed and pulled back the sheet there was a women's false finger nail in the bed. Because I made such a stink they called me 4 hours after checking in that we could leave and not be charged for the night. Well by that time my husband was already asleep. My son and his friend slept sitting up on the couch not too comfortable two 14 year olds. My daughter and her friend slept on the double bed luckily we brought our own sleeping bags. This literally ruined our ski weekend and we left for home Sunday instead of Monday because we didn't want to stay there and tahoe was sold out. The night in a filthy room cost $357 no discount or comp for the inconvenience. I have pictures of the condition of he room.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JAMATorres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

My family stayed at Forest Suites Resort over the busy President's Day Weekend. The service exceeded my expectations as the check-in staff and dining staff were friendly and efficient. Because the staff was well organized, we never had to stand in any long lines during check-in/check-out or for breakfast even though the hotel was sold out. In addition to the great service, we absolutely loved our room. We stayed in the two bedroom suite and were pleasantly surprised to have a second bathroom. With two small children, the second bedroom and second bathroom were life savers. The suite itself was decorated in a rustic mountain motif which we loved. The room totally complimented our mountain vacation stay. To make our stay even better, we didn’t have to move our car. The resort is within walking distance to Heavenly Village so we were able to dine, shop and ride the gondola with no worry at all. Like I said, we couldn’t have asked for more. We will definitely stay here again when we vacation in South Lake Tahoe.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
Thank Heen1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

A group of 25-30 of us just got back from a 7 night stay. The location is about 200 yards from the Heavenly Gondola and Village which was perfect. Walking distance to grocery store, restaurants, bars, casinos, rental cars, etc. The service excelled over the quality of accommodations.
The free breakfast was wonderful and saved us a lot of money and time. After staying 7 nights I got a little tired of having the same thing over and over but the hotel did offer something for everyone (eggs, bacon, sausage, salsa, cheese, bagels, not so good waffles, toast, cheese (shredded and cream), cereal (raisin brand, fruit loops), yogurt, peanut butter, Starbucks coffee, juices, tea, and water.
Forest Suites offers some cool events too. Especially if you have kids. S'more making, wine and cheese night, games for kids, movies, and hot chocolate.
The lobby is nice and has a big fireplace with leather couches for hanging out. The grounds were nicely maintained but the hot tubs were very small compared to previous places we stayed. The pools were closed due to winter. We stayed in a 2 bedroom to bath. Like the other reviews, these are not luxury accommodations. The buildings (other than the lobby) are in need of some tlc and the kitchens were not very well equip. No dishwasher and minimal kitchen utensils. The beds and pillows were the quality of a 4 star hotel.
The only real hiccup was that our room was not ready when we tried to check in around 2pm. This was a huge let down especially after traveling since 4am EST. The lady was friendly at the front desk but could not even give us a time when the room would ready. We got checked in around 430pm.
I would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to anyone looking to stay in south Lake Tahoe.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Blankenboat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#8 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
904 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#5 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,129 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#11 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,117 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#13 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
201 reviews
0.6 mi away
Americana Village
Americana Village
#6 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village

Address: 1 Lake Pkwy, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-8834
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#9 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range: £85 - £260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location, Location, Location! Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village is a South Lake Tahoe resort nestled in intimate alpine environment located less than 100 yards away from Heavenly Ski Gondola and Heavenly Village. All of our over sized South Lake Tahoe resort suites sleep 4 to 6 adults. We are a few minute walk to the casinos, and a few blocks to the crystal clear waters of Lake Tahoe. Guests staying at Forest Suites Resort will experience updated rooms & furnishings, new decor & upgraded amenities. Our guests will experience high-speed wireless internet, hot American-style breakfast buffet, mid-week nightly wine and cheese receptions, weekend child activities including arts & crafts, "Green" exercise classes, movie nights, an XBOX game center & events throughout the entire year for the entire family to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forest Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Forest Hotel Lake Tahoe
Forest Resort Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing