We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable with unexpected treats like a hot chocolate bar and smores by the firepit.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village
Ranked #23 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable with unexpected treats like a hot chocolate bar and smores by the firepit.”
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We found a gem in the heart of South Lake Tahoe within walking distance to Heavenly's gondola. Our room was perfect for 2 adults (king size bed) and our twins (pull out sofa bed). Full kitchen and large dining table. The breakfast buffet included hot food as well as cold items, and the seating was adequate for all of the guests. The kids enjoyed 'movie night' and popcorn, as well as the hot chocolate bar one afternoon after skiing. We missed making s'mores by the firepit, but I'm sure we'll get a second chance when we return in the future. I would definitely recommend this family friendly resort to anyone who enjoys the extra little things that make our kids smile.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EchoInLafayette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dell D, General Manager at Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear EchoInLafayette,

We strive to do exactly what your review stated. "I would definitely recommend this family friendly resort to anyone who enjoys the extra little things that make our kids smile." byEcholnLafayette
We are always attempting to make this experience and lasting memory with our guests. We know how important additional value is for families and making kids smile is priceless. We really hope to see you and your family very soon. Until then, we wish you a great rest of the year.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    311
    207
    110
    74
    47
See reviews for
340
157
12
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We recently visited South Lake Tahoe and stayed at the Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village. The location is fantastic. Walking distance to everything you could want, restaurants, gondola supermarkets, bars etc. The staff were friendly, and check in was very easy.

We had a two bedroom suite, with lounge and kitchen, and two bathrooms. Great size, although a little old looking, it is clean and tidy and very reasonably priced. Cleaning of the rooms every day was great too. Included is a buffet breakfast, which is great to have before heading out on a days skiing. They have free wifi, and Happy Hour was on most nights whilst we were there. The under cover car parking was also handy when it snowed.

My only comment was that there was not really anywhere to put your ski gear, and dry it...we thought they would have a ski room somewhere on the property. It could also get a little noisy when people in the room above were moving around. But everything was quiet at night.

I certainly would revisit this resort again......its not fancy, but is perfectly priced and the location couldnt be better.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amg181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dell D, General Manager at Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear amg181,

We thank you for giving us a honest and great review. We also appreciate you talking about us being a great location, clean with great service. We have never pretended to be the fanciest but we have always committed to being service driven, clean, with tremendous value with our experience and activities. We have notated the dry room for skis and will not ignore this comment as we further explore an obvious space within the hotel as we have limitations for such a room. Again, we appreciate your business and look forward to your next visit.

Best-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

The location could not be more ideal -- right under the Heavenly gondola. This is an older property, so it isn't the fanciest ... but it is clean and the staff couldn't be more welcoming, friendly and responsive. Lots of extras, too, including hot breakfast buffet, free wifi, free Starbucks coffee (round the clock). They also have free wine-and-cheese at the end of the ski day. Considering the location, this is an outstanding value. One thing I found odd for ski lodging -- no ski room or rubber mats (for the skis) in the suite. The suite was plenty roomy for 2 couples to share, and it was nice to have the kitchen. Any questions I had or anything we needed, the staff was extremely responsive and helpful. Oh, and there is a Powder House ski shop in the lobby, with very knowledgeable and helpful staff. I think there must have been a family with small kids above us -- they sounded like a thundering herd at times -- but thankfully they were quiet at bedtime. The temperature in our suite was odd -- at times either too hot or too cold -- but honestly, this was a small matter, given the outstanding location & value of this property. If you do not need to be in the fanciest resort, I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If sound is an issue for you, you might consider a top-floor room so you don't have the problem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dianawahoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dell D, General Manager at Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear Dianawahoo,

Wow! What a great review! We certainly pride ourselves as being a service oriented, value friendly and clean property. We also thank you for participating in some of our daily activities and experience that differentiate ourselves from most properties in Lake Tahoe. I know it was enjoyable! Until next time, we wish you a great rest of the year!

Thanks again,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

I just spent a week at this resort and skied. I arrived and the hotel was busy receiving all the new guests plus having to deal with two weddings. I must say the staff where polite and professional through out the time it took to get my room. As I enjoyed a complementary beverage I was impressed with how friendly the staff was in dealing with one request after another never missing a beat. My room was spacious, clean and well maintained each day by the house staff. The bed was very comfortable, hot tub kept very cleaned each morning. This resort is a very short walk to the Gondola, I nice well appointed kitchen to keep a few beverages and some snacks in. The buffet breakfast was very nice with lots to choose from each morning. a great stay, will defiantly return.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rjtrask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dell D, General Manager at Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear rjtrask,

We appreciate your patience during your check in. It was also a pleasure to personally meet you that Saturday afternoon as we were attempting to rush a few rooms from a delayed ski group. We wish you and your sister a great spring and hope to have you back very soon.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

I have just returned from California, skiing in Lake Tahoe. During this stay I had a short stay at the Forest Inn and Suites. The hotel is based right at the bottom of the main gondola up to Heavenly ski resort. It’s a short walk from shops, cafes and bars. The rooms are very spacious with good facilities and very clean. I enjoyed the heated hot tub in the evenings. From the hotel you can also walk to the main strip with Hard Rock Café, Casinos etc. I really enjoyed my stay and look forward to returning as soon as possible.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler1664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dell D, General Manager at Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Traveler1664,

Short but sweet! We certainly wish it could have been longer as your timing was impeccable right after a nice snow storm. Thanks for commenting on our spacious and clean rooms and our fantastic location. We hope you come and visit soon!

Best-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Having stayed at the Forest Suites over the New Year's holidays we enjoyed our stay so much that we returned for another week during President's day.
As we have two young boys, having an extra room for them is a great luxury and much appreciated. Their two bed two bath rooms are spacious, functional, and perfect for recovering after a long day on the Heavenly slopes.
Across the street from the charming Village, and from a commercial center with an excellent supermarket, sporting good store, restaurants, and any amenity imaginable, the location is golden.
Others have talked about the condition of the rooms, and yes, it is an older building... but the value, location, and service make this hotel a rare find. Especially for a family looking for some elbow room, the size of the two bedroom unit makes it very pleasant for longer stays, and is very functional. We made good use of the kitchen.
Laundry facilities on site were very helpful.
Convenient covered parking is appreciated as well. We did not take advantage of all the cool activities... there's even a video game room for the kids... because we were too tired after a full day of skiing. On the other hand, the DVD players in the units were great for the kids to relax with their movies rather than plain TV.
The staff was always courteous and helpful. The only wish we have is to live closer so we could come more often!

Room Tip: We liked the higher floor in the front building. The back building may be quieter, as sometimes musi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suiteseek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dell D, General Manager at Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Suiteseek,

It was nice to be able to speak with you last week. We're delighted you have found a home away from home when you are in Lake Tahoe. Thanks for giving a great honest survey on our property. We know we are an older property but we will always remain clean, with great guest services, have tremendous value and unique-fun amenities for families. We absolutely appreciate the return business and look forward to seeing you very soon.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pensacola Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We had stayed at the Forest Inn Suites years ago on a ski club trip and really enjoyed our stay. Not much has changed in the guest suites since our previous stay. And we enjoyed our stay again! The staff is EXTREMELY helpful and nice. The rooms neat and clean. Though our kitchen was missing essentials that would be needed to cook a meal. I'm sure if we had asked we would have been given what we needed, but we did no cooking on our vacation! The morning breakfast was wonderful, eggs, bacon, sausage, waffles, and a variety of other breakfast foods. The Gondola was only few steps away, as were the casinos and restaurants. We would absolutely stay there again!

Room Tip: Ask for a Suite. Worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neely B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.2 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#4 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,070 reviews
1.6 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#12 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
935 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe
Holiday Inn Express South Lake T...
#21 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
447 reviews
0.6 mi away
Americana Village
Americana Village
#7 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
387 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village

Property: Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village
Address: 1 Lake Pkwy, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-8834
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#9 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location, Location, Location! Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village is a South Lake Tahoe resort nestled in intimate alpine environment located less than 100 yards away from Heavenly Ski Gondola and Heavenly Village. All of our over sized South Lake Tahoe resort suites sleep 4 to 6 adults. We are a few minute walk to the casinos, and a few blocks to the crystal clear waters of Lake Tahoe. Guests staying at Forest Suites Resort will experience updated rooms & furnishings, new decor & upgraded amenities. Our guests will experience high-speed wireless internet, hot American-style breakfast buffet, mid-week nightly wine and cheese receptions, weekend child activities including arts & crafts, "Green" exercise classes, movie nights, an XBOX game center & events throughout the entire year for the entire family to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forest Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Forest Hotel Lake Tahoe
Forest Resort Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing