We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Forest Suites Resort - perfect for a family getaway!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village
Ranked #23 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Sebastopol
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Forest Suites Resort - perfect for a family getaway!”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

I've been here twice this year as I feel it is the best value and comfort for a stay in Heavenly Village. Everything is within walking distance and parking and breakfast is included in the very reasonable prices. A full kitchen, clean rooms and accommodations make this the perfect place to stay for a family getaway. Also, I must mention the staff. They are super nice and helpful and really went out of their way to make us feel at home. I can't say enough about how great the customer service is at Forest Suites. The only thing they need to do is upgrade those elevators, but otherwise, a perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leeann43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dell D, General Manager at Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear leeann43,

Thanks for traveling up from Sonoma County and taking a short trip at our resort. We are delighted our property exceeded your expectations with the great service, clean guest rooms and the best location. We do understand the elevator is older and smaller than others at hotels but perfectly usable. We are looking forward to your families next vacation.

Thanks again,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

766 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    215
    112
    78
    49
See reviews for
351
159
12
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Johns, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We arrived in SLT as a family of four that have NEVER been skiing. Three days alter, we're all hooked on it, and we can't wait to go back to Heavenly! The Forest Suites absolutely delivered on the accommodations and along with the fantastic experience skiing made the trip memorable. Every staff member we encountered was friendly and enthusiastic. The ONLY reason I'm giving it 4 instead of 5 is the units could use a little updating - the age is really starting to show in particular areas. But you shouldn't be spending much time in your suite anyway!
Our kids had a great time "renting" (they call it renting at the desk, but there's no charge) - XBox games and met some new friends in the gaming area. To take advantage of the kitchen in your suite, you can walk to the grocery store across the street and stock up - it's full service and has everything. As many others have noted, the wine and cheese in the afternoon is a nice wind down coasting into evening. The breakfast is solid, with plenty to choose from and the staff there works hard at making that go smoothly. During the breakfast hours we noticed it can be quite the scene as people are trying to grab something quick on their way out - all geared up and ready to go skiing - there was a lot of rapid table turnover - and the staff was on it. We didn't use the hot tub but we could see folks relaxing in it every afternoon - it looked nice and well maintained. The carports are nice as well - we didn't get snowed on while there, but covered parking is a total plus for when it does.
To sum up our experience in SLT : with such friendly staff, the natural beauty of the area, the hotel's location to the village/gondola and the overall vibe going on - if you're not having a blast at Heavenly, the problem is most likely you!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sd_fan92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dell D, General Manager at Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear sdfans92,

We know you traveled far to come us during your winter/ski getaway and we thank you for that. We love to hear our guests comment on a "Memorable Experience" which is always what our team and staff strive for. It sounds like many of the addl. value adds we offer was perfect for your family and we love that. We certainly hope you come back and stay with us when you are thinking of another Lake Tahoe experience.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite. Here with 2 teenagers for week skiing at Heavenly. Biggest ever rooms/condo we've stayed in for skiing, great location very close to heavenly village and gondola. Decor and furnishings a bit old and tired but clean and comfortable with plenty storage, undercover parking and free breakfast. Great value for money.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank kimborob30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dell D, General Manager at Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear kimborob30,

We thank you for staying at the resort for the first time during your ski vacation. We thank you for commenting on the size of our over-sized suites as they are very big and a huge advantage that we have. Thanks also for commenting on our clean hotel even though our property is older. We hope our value fits you and your family perfectly next winter for another ski vacation otherwise, the Lake is a whole lot of fun to come up for a spring/summer getaway.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We found a gem in the heart of South Lake Tahoe within walking distance to Heavenly's gondola. Our room was perfect for 2 adults (king size bed) and our twins (pull out sofa bed). Full kitchen and large dining table. The breakfast buffet included hot food as well as cold items, and the seating was adequate for all of the guests. The kids enjoyed 'movie night' and popcorn, as well as the hot chocolate bar one afternoon after skiing. We missed making s'mores by the firepit, but I'm sure we'll get a second chance when we return in the future. I would definitely recommend this family friendly resort to anyone who enjoys the extra little things that make our kids smile.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EchoInLafayette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dell D, General Manager at Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear EchoInLafayette,

We strive to do exactly what your review stated. "I would definitely recommend this family friendly resort to anyone who enjoys the extra little things that make our kids smile." byEcholnLafayette
We are always attempting to make this experience and lasting memory with our guests. We know how important additional value is for families and making kids smile is priceless. We really hope to see you and your family very soon. Until then, we wish you a great rest of the year.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We recently visited South Lake Tahoe and stayed at the Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village. The location is fantastic. Walking distance to everything you could want, restaurants, gondola supermarkets, bars etc. The staff were friendly, and check in was very easy.

We had a two bedroom suite, with lounge and kitchen, and two bathrooms. Great size, although a little old looking, it is clean and tidy and very reasonably priced. Cleaning of the rooms every day was great too. Included is a buffet breakfast, which is great to have before heading out on a days skiing. They have free wifi, and Happy Hour was on most nights whilst we were there. The under cover car parking was also handy when it snowed.

My only comment was that there was not really anywhere to put your ski gear, and dry it...we thought they would have a ski room somewhere on the property. It could also get a little noisy when people in the room above were moving around. But everything was quiet at night.

I certainly would revisit this resort again......its not fancy, but is perfectly priced and the location couldnt be better.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amg181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dell D, General Manager at Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear amg181,

We thank you for giving us a honest and great review. We also appreciate you talking about us being a great location, clean with great service. We have never pretended to be the fanciest but we have always committed to being service driven, clean, with tremendous value with our experience and activities. We have notated the dry room for skis and will not ignore this comment as we further explore an obvious space within the hotel as we have limitations for such a room. Again, we appreciate your business and look forward to your next visit.

Best-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

The location could not be more ideal -- right under the Heavenly gondola. This is an older property, so it isn't the fanciest ... but it is clean and the staff couldn't be more welcoming, friendly and responsive. Lots of extras, too, including hot breakfast buffet, free wifi, free Starbucks coffee (round the clock). They also have free wine-and-cheese at the end of the ski day. Considering the location, this is an outstanding value. One thing I found odd for ski lodging -- no ski room or rubber mats (for the skis) in the suite. The suite was plenty roomy for 2 couples to share, and it was nice to have the kitchen. Any questions I had or anything we needed, the staff was extremely responsive and helpful. Oh, and there is a Powder House ski shop in the lobby, with very knowledgeable and helpful staff. I think there must have been a family with small kids above us -- they sounded like a thundering herd at times -- but thankfully they were quiet at bedtime. The temperature in our suite was odd -- at times either too hot or too cold -- but honestly, this was a small matter, given the outstanding location & value of this property. If you do not need to be in the fanciest resort, I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If sound is an issue for you, you might consider a top-floor room so you don't have the problem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dianawahoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dell D, General Manager at Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear Dianawahoo,

Wow! What a great review! We certainly pride ourselves as being a service oriented, value friendly and clean property. We also thank you for participating in some of our daily activities and experience that differentiate ourselves from most properties in Lake Tahoe. I know it was enjoyable! Until next time, we wish you a great rest of the year!

Thanks again,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

I just spent a week at this resort and skied. I arrived and the hotel was busy receiving all the new guests plus having to deal with two weddings. I must say the staff where polite and professional through out the time it took to get my room. As I enjoyed a complementary beverage I was impressed with how friendly the staff was in dealing with one request after another never missing a beat. My room was spacious, clean and well maintained each day by the house staff. The bed was very comfortable, hot tub kept very cleaned each morning. This resort is a very short walk to the Gondola, I nice well appointed kitchen to keep a few beverages and some snacks in. The buffet breakfast was very nice with lots to choose from each morning. a great stay, will defiantly return.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rjtrask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dell D, General Manager at Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear rjtrask,

We appreciate your patience during your check in. It was also a pleasure to personally meet you that Saturday afternoon as we were attempting to rush a few rooms from a delayed ski group. We wish you and your sister a great spring and hope to have you back very soon.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.2 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#5 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,107 reviews
1.6 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#11 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,003 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Americana Village
Americana Village
#6 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
395 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,084 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe
Holiday Inn Express South Lake T...
#21 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village

Property: Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village
Address: 1 Lake Pkwy, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-8834
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#9 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location, Location, Location! Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village is a South Lake Tahoe resort nestled in intimate alpine environment located less than 100 yards away from Heavenly Ski Gondola and Heavenly Village. All of our over sized South Lake Tahoe resort suites sleep 4 to 6 adults. We are a few minute walk to the casinos, and a few blocks to the crystal clear waters of Lake Tahoe. Guests staying at Forest Suites Resort will experience updated rooms & furnishings, new decor & upgraded amenities. Our guests will experience high-speed wireless internet, hot American-style breakfast buffet, mid-week nightly wine and cheese receptions, weekend child activities including arts & crafts, "Green" exercise classes, movie nights, an XBOX game center & events throughout the entire year for the entire family to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forest Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Forest Hotel Lake Tahoe
Forest Resort Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing