We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village
Nearby Hotels
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe(South Lake Tahoe)(Great Value!)
US$125
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Basecamp South Lake Tahoe(South Lake Tahoe)(Great Value!)
US$137
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
3 Peaks Resort & Beach Club(South Lake Tahoe)(Great Value!)
US$61
US$54
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa(South Lake Tahoe)(Great Value!)
US$141
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aston Lakeland Village Beach & Mountain Resort(South Lake Tahoe)(Great Value!)
US$104
US$89
Official Website
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe(South Lake Tahoe)(Great Value!)
US$147
US$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites(South Lake Tahoe)(Great Value!)
US$96
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Station House Inn(South Lake Tahoe)(Great Value!)
US$112
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Landing Resort & Spa(South Lake Tahoe)
US$360
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel(South Lake Tahoe)(Great Value!)
US$189
US$162
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Reviews (811)
Filter reviews
811 results
Traveller rating
327
226
122
80
56
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
327
226
122
80
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsheavenly villagefull kitchenbedroom suitecovered parkingheavenly gondolawine and cheesegrocery storestarbucks coffeebagelsarts and craftshot breakfastfree breakfastwalking distance to everythinghot tubfamily reunionbit datedresort fee
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
333 - 338 of 811 reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2014

The suites are huge and freshly painted and the kitchen has all the basics. You have your own central heater along with an elegant pseudo fireplace heater under the main TV. Both the main TV and master TV both have DVD plavers. My only 2 complaint for the rooms, oddly enough, is that most of the doors squeak which makes it hard to move around when people are sleeping and there is no fans in the bathrooms - which (I found out) can upset people. The self serve buffet breakfast gets an A. They have the meatiest, best tasting bacon I've ever had, very good breakfast sausages, little pastries, scrambled eggs, cereals, milk, juices, fruit, yogurt, quick oatmeal and lastly hash brown taters that were barely edible in that, I don't know how they cooked them (microwave?), but they need to be browned up (fried). The staff were all helpful and friendly - a great value.

Room Tip: Ask for a Mountain view - not all rooms have any view.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TripEric2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dell D, General Manager at Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear TripEric2014,

First and foremost we want to say thank you for spending time at our resort in South Lake Tahoe. We appreciate the great feedback about our guest room and some of the room amenities. We will be taking a look at those doors to ensure they don't squeak for future guests. We also appreciate the menu and food praises in our breakfast room but we will take a look at the potatoes to ensure they are more crispy. A great value with helpful and friendly staff is always what we strive for and we're excited you experienced this. Have a great spring and come back to see us soon.

Best

The staff were all helpful and friendly - a great value.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

This suites are ideal for traveling with family. They offer great spacious suites with a good breakfast. They are just across the street fro the gondola to go skiing. The offer children´s activities. Their staff is friendly. The only issue is they do not invest much in the property, everything even the phones and TV are more than 20 years old, with in most part gives you a retro experience, the only thing that really bother me is the the sheets were old and ripped, they were only using tops and beds where unfolding at the middle of the night, i asked for a bottom sheet they only had I ripped one of a much smaller size. The obnoxious latin cleaning lady said there whereunto any sheets in the hotel.
So other than bringing your sheets , I will definitely recommend this place for you and your family

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vivcarriles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dell D, General Manager at Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear

"A very good family experience"! What a great title! We certainly appreciate your kind word about much of the resort. You had mentioned that we do not upgrade much in the hotel. In 2012, we did a massive install of new furntitre in every guest room. That includes new headboards, night stands, lamps, art, mirrors, leather couches, leather sofa chairs, coffee tables, ovens, side tables, dining tables/chairs, chandeliers, to name a few of the new furniture items. As of last week, we just installed brand new 32" flat screen LCD's TV's in every master bedroom and next week are installing 48" flat screen LCD TV's in every living rooms as well as our standard hotel rooms. In addition, we are installing brand new screens and screen doors this spring in every room and we just finished re-tiling, adding concrete and brand new plaster to each of our pools and hot tubs as we're getting ready for the Summer season. I can assure you we are always investing back into our hotel and fully understand the importance of this. We wish you a great spring and please come back to stay with us when you are back in the States to see our new TV's.

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Good value and nice location with free buffet breakfast !
Many amenities- free movies, pool, jacuzzi, X-box...
Good Location near heavenly gondola !
Close to the casinos, beach on the lake and shopping/restaurants.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ratan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dell D, General Manager at Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Ratan B,

We thank you for spending time at our resort this past spring. We are thrilled you felt we had good value with many of our amenities, a great location near the gondola and enjoyed the breakfast buffet. We certainly hope that you visit very soon and until then, have a great summer.

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We stayed here over two consecutive weekends in March and the experience is a bit of a mixed bag. We likely wouldn't have come back again if it wasn't for my daughter asking for arts and crafts a really nice lady is offering during weekend mornings for smaller kids.
The first time we went, we stayed in a 1-bedroom.
The decor is dated and we observed quite a few issues that can only be contributed to a lack of attention for detail. The slider into the yard had about a 1/4 inch gap at the bottom portion when closed, providing easy access for cold air during winters. The fridge was jammed in so tightly between wall and countertops that the door had slide marks from where it hit the countertop, I found the door not fully closed on several occasions as you had to push it hard to close all the way.
The kitchen cabinets were very dated and just didn't make this place feel updated at all. The bed was ok, but the sleeper in the living room was way too hard for my taste.

The second room we stayed in was the honeymoon suite, and while the decor was nicer, it only had 1 bed (makes sense I guess :) ).
The thing I missed the most was a fully functional kitchen. No stove was provided in the suite, so you really pay extra for a nicer bathroom and a fireplace than anything else.
Also, bathroom door was jamming, which I again contribute to lack of attention to detail by those responsible.

Breakfast really wasn't anything special, but it was free, so I won't count this as a negative. We did not have hotel-provided breakfast the second time we stayed there as we had knowingly brought better food from home.

The great things about this hotel are:
1. Location - so close to the gondola. Also groceries and the village are walking-distance, so that one is a huge selling-point and really the basis for huge potential for being a great place to stay.
2. Staff - really great people and they have special little things they do for kids, which is something every hotel should learn from. What a great way to make families come back.
3. Free parking - I guess that might be more common in Tahoe but I recently stayed in a few hotels that charged an arm and a leg for parking, so that was a welcome change.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay, but I will check-out other hotels in South-lake Tahoe going forward in the hopes of finding another gem with rooms that are just a bit more updated.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AkkinaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We spent 2 nights at the Forest Suites in a hotel room at the Inn. Room was large and well appointed. Very close to Heavenly Village and sking. Hotel staff were amazing, very friendly and helpful. They had a calendar of events for the month, showing what was available at the hotel, which was great. Great value and would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hdh280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dell D, General Manager at Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear HDH280,

We thank you for spending a couple days with us over the ski season. We will be sharing your kind comments about our team as you stated how amazing they are. The event calendar of fun- property daily events is incredibly popular and we're thrilled you took advantage of all the activities. It sounds like you will be back and we look forward to that next visit.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews