We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great cost/value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe
Ranked #21 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Reviewed 2 April 2012

This is a nice property in South Lake Tahoe very, very close to the Heavenly Ski entrance (4 min walk). Rooms are very cozy and provide all that is needed for a visit to Lake Tahoe. Breakfast was also included - tasted good even though it was mostly industrialized.

Room Tip: I would pick rooms on the ground floor just because they're easier to get to your car.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bernardosw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (459)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

274 - 280 of 459 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2012

Stayed in a two double bed room on ground floor for 4 nights.
The room was well appointed with a large bathroom. Tv was a large flat screen with 30+ channals including HBO.
Breakfast was a hot buffet with a large choice set in an informal comfortable style.
Hot tub and sauna were in a well fitted spa style room, the tub held 9 adults so it is a good place to relax and socialise.
The outdoor pool is only open in the summer, other Tahoe hotel have their pools open in the winter. I will book somewhere else like Park Inn, Marriott or forest suites as their outdoor pools look lovely after a day skiing.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LondonDaytripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2012

We stay at this hotel for 3 nights the first week of January 2012.
The rooms are comfortable and very clean. The staff is friendly and they show they care the hotel has an outdoor swimming pool and a Hot Tub and Sauna. In the morning, the hotel offers a complementary breakfast buffet with enough options to grab a bite and hit the road. Would recommend it and stay there again. Free WI-FI!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank RWluis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

This hotel is within walking distance of shops, restaurants, ski lifts, etc. Room was large, clean, big bathroom, wi-fi and everything I needed. Breakfast was included, free newspaper, a safe was provided at the front desk, and coffee and fruit was available all day.

Room Tip: We had the end room on the 2nd floor way in the back. It was very quiet.
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank EMMA L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2011

Stayed as part of honeymoon in September 2010. Very impressed with our room upgrade for our 2 night stay. Lovely bathroom. Great location.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ArcticRose14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2011

We stayed in Lake Tahoe for a couple of nights and cannot fault the Holiday Inn Express. One of the most important things for us is a room that is spotlessly clean and spacious and this is exactly what our room was. Our only comment would be is that the sound proofing is not brilliant and we could hear the occupants above us very clearly!!!!! A great choice if you want to stay in Lake Tahoe for a short time.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the first floor if you can.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank plodders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

Very nice hotel in a wooded setting, the rooms were large and very clean, the lady at the front desk was so helpful and their "free" breakfast was one of the best I have seen..they even have freshly made pancakes and sausage..the location was great, we walked to heavenly village and to harrah's casino.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank db0380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.2 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#5 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,121 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#8 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
900 reviews
0.3 mi away
Americana Village
Americana Village
#6 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,092 reviews
1.2 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#11 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,087 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#13 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe

Address: 3961 Lake Tahoe Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-8907
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#19 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range: £109 - £221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express, South Lake Tahoe is centrally located on Hwy 50, nestled in the heart of South Lake Tahoe. Getting here is fast and convenient too. We are the ideal place to enjoy fresh mountain air, beautiful scenery and natural landscaping. The Holiday Inn Express is just minutes from Lake Tahoe, Nevada Stateline Casinos, Skiing, Horseback Riding, Shopping, Movie Theaters, Boat Cruises, and so much more! Our facilities include an Seasonal Outdoor Pool and Spa. Our Indoor Spa and Sauna Room is currently being renovated, until June 2016. We are a completely Smoke-Free facility. Our hotel features include Complimentary Express Start Breakfast, Free Wi-Fi Internet Access and Local Phone Calls. You are close to Restaurants and Night Life yet amid graceful Pine Trees. Visit South Lake Tahoe, CA and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Holiday Inn Express Lake Tahoe
Holiday Inn Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing