We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe
Ranked #21 of 65 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Reviewed 4 October 2012

We are fans of holiday inn express and have stayed in them all across the USA this one is quite old and in need of some upgrading, that said the room was clean and well presented, the staff are exceptional, the receptionists were helpful, happy and obliging the breakfast was up to HIE standard, there is no fitness room which we look for, all that aside the inn is well situated close to restaraunts and most of the sights... It represents great value, Would we stay again? Yes, if you do you won't be disappointed, alan and Penny

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank AlanT113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (463)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

252 - 258 of 463 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2012

Stayed 2 nights here. Great base for South Lake Tahoe. Compact room but all the facilities and very clean. Free wifi. Just offset from main road but did not notice noise at Night Good pool . Used Laundry - washer and drier, $2 including powder. Just across the road from Raleys supermarket, short walk from ski-lift and shops, and easy walk to Casino at stateline. Friendly staff and good breakfast. Thoroughly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikepr59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Arrived with a group of 5 at 3pm, one king, one double and a king with jacuzzi and fire place.My room was not ready until about 4 pm,not a good start after a long drive.Went down to reception at about 5 pm with some questions,the young lady was busy while the other lady was outside the front door sitting on the seat having a smoke .Things did get better from there, a handy location,clean and tidy rooms , all three and a chance to catch up on laundry. The ladies who made up our room everyday were pleasent and well worth the tip we left. Apart from our shakey start i would recommend this inn, but check out prices of all hotels close bye

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lowewalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

We were welcomed with a friendly smile and were pleasantly surprised by the spaciousness of the room. The room was clean and had a very nice compact kitchenette. I thought it was a great idea that the pillowcases are embroidered with the firmness of the pillows they contained. No guessing if the pillow is just right! We requested a ground floor room and found that the walkways were lined with slip and snow resistant mats. We were given a map of the grounds so we could easily find the spa and ice and soda machines. Breakfast was included however since we were so close to other restaurants we opted to explore the area instead. This hotel is in a great location with all the amenities. We would stay here again and recommend it to anyone who is particular about a clean and comfortable room.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SgtWife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2012

This hotel is situated near ski lift, shops and Lake, rooms are a good size and clean. The staff are good and helpful, and plenty of resturants close to the hotel within walking distance.It is made to look more like a motel type accomidation and parking, but in a good way.The block we stayed in on the second floor had no lift, so if you have heavy suitcases I would reccomend when booking you either get a block that has a lift or go ground floor. The continental break fast was as per standard HIXP and the area although small was clean and tidy. A trip on the Lake is a must plus a walk on the top after stopping off the cable car is well worth while.

Room Tip: Make sure ground floor room or block with lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vic f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012 via mobile

In a good location in South Tahoe on the main street in CA but close to the Nevada section. Buildings look fairly new and are well designed and set amidst Pine Trees.
Standard HIE breakfast.
Stayed on Priority Club points as I'm a Platinum member. Received no upgrade or any kind of recognition from the hotel which is both unusual and extremely unwelcome. My rating reflects this.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AJO_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2012

Dear AJO_UK,

Thank you for being a Priority Club Rewards Member and taking the time to leave a review of our hotel. I am glad that you liked our location. Please accept my sincerest apology for any inconvenience you experienced at check in. I appreciate you bringing this matter into our attention as this is our best resource of improving guest services.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012 via mobile

Stayed here 2 nights, lovely hotel and well designed. Rooms spacious and comfortable, reception was modern and breakfast area pleasant. Used the indoor spa which was fine, sauna seemed to take ages to warm up and in the end switched it off. Great laundry facilities for us travelling Brits getting laundry washed and dried for $2. Happily stay here again

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TRAVELBAG40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.2 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#5 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,139 reviews
0.3 mi away
Americana Village
Americana Village
#6 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
404 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,095 reviews
1.2 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#11 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,118 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#13 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe

Address: 3961 Lake Tahoe Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-8907
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#18 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range: £110 - £254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express, South Lake Tahoe is centrally located on Hwy 50, nestled in the heart of South Lake Tahoe. Getting here is fast and convenient too. We are the ideal place to enjoy fresh mountain air, beautiful scenery and natural landscaping. The Holiday Inn Express is just minutes from Lake Tahoe, Nevada Stateline Casinos, Skiing, Horseback Riding, Shopping, Movie Theaters, Boat Cruises, and so much more! Our facilities include an Seasonal Outdoor Pool and Spa. Our Indoor Spa and Sauna Room is currently being renovated, until June 2016. We are a completely Smoke-Free facility. Our hotel features include Complimentary Express Start Breakfast, Free Wi-Fi Internet Access and Local Phone Calls. You are close to Restaurants and Night Life yet amid graceful Pine Trees. Visit South Lake Tahoe, CA and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Holiday Inn Express Lake Tahoe
Holiday Inn Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing