We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank You for fixing our Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe
Ranked #21 of 65 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We had reservations at a place called " The Landing" and after less than one hour there we left......Went to Holiday Inn Express and they hooked us up for two nights. One night in a very nice room , Where we were very comfortable and able to turn our horrible experience around.....The second night was in a regular room, but still just as homie....Thank you so much to Kim and Indee for being such awesome people.We`ll be back :)

Room Tip: They are all very nice comfortable and homie rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (462)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 462 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights at the end of December, the location was perfect, close to Heavenly, restaurant and shopping. The room was very clean and comfortable, and the housekeeping staff did a great job every day. The staff at the front desk was very nice and accommodating too. Although not fancy, we appreciated the complimentary breakfast daily, it was kept clean and replenished, the staff caring for the dining room was kind and efficient. We also took advantage of the hot tub and sauna, the towels were well supplied, and it was clean, felt amazing after a day of skiing. We also utilized the laundry facility, it too was clean and well maintained. We would definitely return when we make our way back to Tahoe, PS Loved the queen beds, the room was plenty big for the 5 of us.

Room Tip: As for a room in the back building off the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DofSales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We stayed for 3 nights after Xmas. The facility is reasonably basic with rooms opening on to the carpark, the breakfast room was crowded with an adequate if limited selection. The location is great, with only a short walk to the Heavenly Village, with the skifield gondola and lots of restaurants and shops. The staff were helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NZGrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

We are pleased that you had a satisfactory time in South Lake Tahoe. The Holiday Inn Express is located conveniently to Heavenly skiing, shopping and dining. We look forward to a return visit to our hotel. Pete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

We came here after a disastrous first attempt at lodging at the Blue Jay Hotel (see my other review and avoid at all costs).

The Holiday Inn Express was a world apart, the rooms are spacious and very comfortable, tea and coffee making facilities are in the room, there is a spa and laundry onsite and complimentary breakfast also.

Location is great right on the main road close to the Casinos if you enjoy a flutter, but we just opted for the buffet at Harrah's which is excellent and only a short walk away.

This hotel is very close to the Heavenly ski resort and well worth putting in your list of options if coming to Tahoe.

Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: January 2014
Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

We are very happy you found our Holiday Inn Express. We appreciate your comments and will pass them on to our staff. We hope your return visit will soon. Thank you for enjoying South Lake Tahoe and our hotel. Pete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We booked a double king room at the Holiday Inn Express in South Lake Tahoe. We were pleasantly surprised it was actually two rooms. We requested an early check-in and got it. The Front Desk staff was very accommodating and helpful. The housekeeping staff did a great job cleaning the room. The hot tub spa was the perfect temperature, nice & hot. The location was perfect. We were able to walk to the casinos, Heavenly Gondola, spa and restaurants. The price was right too. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TMDCarmelValley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Thank you for your kind comments. We do enjoy meeting the demands of our guests. And, we sincerely hope you will return soon to the Holiday Inn Express. OUr doors will be open for yu and your guests. Pete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We stayed for 2 nights last week in Room 206.

Its on the ground floor facing the main road. As the main building is about 100metres from the road - you hardly hear any noise.

Fair size room - very clean. The A/C and heater works well/quietly.

Coffee/tea available throughout the day at the reception. Their coffee is strong and good. Great receptionists (even though they serve the same roast - it tasted differently from their sister hotel in Santa Clara - that we stayed 2 nights prior).

Self-service Laundry/dryer available on site at minimal cost.

Highly recommended - great value.

Restaurants are about 5 mins walk away (the Japanese Rest outside the hotel unfortunately only served Sushi - no Ramen/Udon).

For Asians who must have their rice/noodles - there are plenty of very good Thai restaurants (The Orchid Thai Cui at 2180 Lake Tahoe Road) served one of the best sticky rice/mango. We ate there 3 times in 2 days. Portions are huge (for Asians).

TJ Max is a good outlet - if you need to must shop (on holidays!!)

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MonacoBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Good Morning Monacoblue, Thank you for your outstanding comments. We are very pleased you enjoyed your recent stay in South Lake Tahoe. We will certainly put the Orchid restaurant on top of our list for Asian foods. We hope you will have another opportunity to visit beautiful lake Tahoe. Thank you again, Pete B

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

You'll find what you expect for a HI Express. It's a basic motor inn layout where you can park near your room. The rooms are clean and standard, but the bathrooms were impressive. You"ll find an outdoor pool, as well as an both indoor and out door spa. Breakfast was better than anticipated and the location is perfect. A couple of blocks to the downtown shopping, chairlifts, waterfront, and casinos. However, since the hotel is not surrounded by those things and its set back from the street, it feels peaceful and quiet. A great choice for winter or summer.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ru P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Hello Ru P,

Thank you for staying with us, sounds like you had a good time. I am happy that you had the opportunity experience the the numerous activities within walking distance from the hotel. Hope to see you again this winter. Have a wonderful day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.2 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#5 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,130 reviews
0.3 mi away
Americana Village
Americana Village
#6 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
404 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#8 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,095 reviews
1.2 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#11 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,117 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#13 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe

Address: 3961 Lake Tahoe Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-8907
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#18 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range: £110 - £241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express, South Lake Tahoe is centrally located on Hwy 50, nestled in the heart of South Lake Tahoe. Getting here is fast and convenient too. We are the ideal place to enjoy fresh mountain air, beautiful scenery and natural landscaping. The Holiday Inn Express is just minutes from Lake Tahoe, Nevada Stateline Casinos, Skiing, Horseback Riding, Shopping, Movie Theaters, Boat Cruises, and so much more! Our facilities include an Seasonal Outdoor Pool and Spa. Our Indoor Spa and Sauna Room is currently being renovated, until June 2016. We are a completely Smoke-Free facility. Our hotel features include Complimentary Express Start Breakfast, Free Wi-Fi Internet Access and Local Phone Calls. You are close to Restaurants and Night Life yet amid graceful Pine Trees. Visit South Lake Tahoe, CA and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Holiday Inn Express Lake Tahoe
Holiday Inn Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing