We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Tahoe!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe
Ranked #21 of 65 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Reviewed 16 July 2009

I booked 2 nights here quite late after previous arrangements fell through, and it was an excellent choice. Very well located for actvities round Tahoe, such as kayaking and hiking, also surrounded by a very good variety of restaurants. The rooms were huge, very well equipped, wonderfully comfortable beds. Breakfast was the usual 'continental' but of good quality.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank weberfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (465)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

322 - 328 of 465 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2009

Easy to find as it is right on the main street, close enough to all the gondolas and ski lifts, plus a good selection of local eateries etc. Also 5 mins. from the Nevada border so if gambling is your thing then you are in luck.
Room - Huge, although to put this into perspective we did get a complimentary upgrade due to me being a platinum priority card holder....but as I said the double queen suite is vast, 2 bedrooms, large living area with kitchen, fireplace in the main room, bathroom with tub and 2 showers....so cannot fault the room.
Staff – Very helpful, upgraded us without prompt, also gave advice on places to eat and directions etc.
Food – Breakfast is all there is to comment on but this was what you would expect from this level of hotel. Good selection of hot and cold, pastries, cereals, cinnamon muffins etc plus some mighty fine coffee so no complaints from us.
Overall for the price – all things included a great place to stay whether skiing or not.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Manchester_Couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2009

We stayed at the HI Express in Lake Tahoe for 4 nights while skiing at Heavenly.

The hotel is in a great location for the Gondola and rental places nearby - Heavenly Sports at the base of the gondola are highly recommended with a ski valet service so you do not have to take your skis back to your hotel room.

The room we had was in the newly refurbished wing according to the staff, and was very pleasantly appointed, a very good size, and spotlessly clean throughout our stay.

Breakfast was excellent - the usual fare from HI Express in the the US - good variety of hot and cold options, and well stocked. Reception was open with free tea and coffee also late into the evening.

The hotel also has a free, nice sauna and whirlpool/spa which was great after a day on the slopes. There is an outdoor pool too, but that was closed for the winter season.

We definitely recommend this hotel as a base for skiing in the winter, or in the summer also. The room rate was good value too.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarenandRick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2009

I was pleasantly surprised to see how nice this hotel was. It is in a great location, you can walk to the shops and Heavenly, they have free parking, the rooms are very clean, have new decors, refridgerators, and the front desk people were lovely. I wish that I had stayed here my whole vacation. Plus the price was reasonable. I also travel all over the world, so for me to write a good response means something. :) I would definately recommend this hotel to friends/family.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flygirlpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2009

South Lake Tahoe is a winter holiday resort, lots of ski fields etc. The Holiday Inn was very well located downtown. The room was large and clean. Service was good. Breakfast area small. Good value in an area where it could be quite expensive

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrankRSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2009

Great little hotel. Perfect location within walking distance to the main shopping, dining, casinos and the South Lake Tahoe pier area. The room was very comfortable and more luxurious than most other Holiday Inn Express I've stayed in. We stayed for two nights and made use of the laundry and spa/sauna facilities. The complimentary breakfast was great with a good selection of cereals and hot food with newspapers and tv. We loved Lake Tahoe, and would definitely choose this hotel on our next visit.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank welovetotravel09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2008

I would recommend this hotel. We stayed in the building that sits back from the street. It's newly renovated and quiet enough to sleep with the window open. The only thing I didn't like about the room was that the newly installed ventilation unit gives what can only be described as a tiny draft, not what I am used to getting out of an air conditoning unit. The courteous staff explained that the units had recently been installed in all their rooms. I guess it's a sign of the times. I didn't even bother with the continental breakfast, but the staff was great.

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.2 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#5 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,166 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#13 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
225 reviews
0.3 mi away
Americana Village
Americana Village
#6 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#9 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,103 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#8 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
915 reviews
1.2 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#10 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe

Address: 3961 Lake Tahoe Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-8907
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#16 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range: £108 - £311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express, South Lake Tahoe is centrally located on Hwy 50, nestled in the heart of South Lake Tahoe. Getting here is fast and convenient too. We are the ideal place to enjoy fresh mountain air, beautiful scenery and natural landscaping. The Holiday Inn Express is just minutes from Lake Tahoe, Nevada Stateline Casinos, Skiing, Horseback Riding, Shopping, Movie Theaters, Boat Cruises, and so much more! Our facilities include an Seasonal Outdoor Pool and Spa. Our Indoor Spa and Sauna Room is currently being renovated, until June 2016. We are a completely Smoke-Free facility. Our hotel features include Complimentary Express Start Breakfast, Free Wi-Fi Internet Access and Local Phone Calls. You are close to Restaurants and Night Life yet amid graceful Pine Trees. Visit South Lake Tahoe, CA and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Holiday Inn Express Lake Tahoe
Holiday Inn Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing