We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, clean room, nice breakfast, nice staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe
Ranked #20 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
82 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Good location, clean room, nice breakfast, nice staff.”
Reviewed 30 December 2009

Stayed here Dec. 2009. Hotel is walking distance to shopping, restaurants, Heavenly Lift, Casinos, grocery store etc... We were there during a snowstorm and room was comfortable and I had a feeling of being in a ski lodge. Very nice fireplace in lobby/breakfast area. While in Tahoe--we also walked though Embassy Suites which had no fireplace and seemed like a typical "cookie cutter" Embassy Suites. This Holiday Inn Express had personality. Staff were friendly and room was very clean. Refrigerator and microwave were appreciated. Bathroom in room was huge, clean, and well appointed. Hotel has nice indoor jacuzzi and sauna. I would stay here again and recommend this hotel because it was near the action- yet very quiet.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goo0325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    202
    50
    12
    9
See reviews for
144
149
20
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2009

Great location, in the middle of the action yet quiet. The room is new and clean, spacious, bathroom is roomy and shiny. Just everything you need to spend the night comfortably. Breakfast buffet is just about everything you need before hit the road, simple and fast.

We changed our plan during the trip, the manager gladly refunded us the unused portion. What more can I ask for.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
148 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2009

Went to Lake Tahoe for Thanksgiving weekend and really enjoyed this hotel. The rooms were spacious and beds comfortable. The staff was helpful in suggestions activities around the area. I also noticed how clean they kept the breakfast area. They really strived to make sure everything was filled and all surfaces were constantly cleaned.

The location was great for us. A few blocks to the casinos and the Heavenly Gondola along with several shops in between. It is always nice to stay on the CA side of Lake Tahoe if you are not a smoker. Overall this was a great choice for us with a reasonable price.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blaize76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
284 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2009

We stayed here in September, the location is excellent, the hotel appears to be a motel type building. The rooms are standard for a Holiday Inn Express the casinos are about a 10 minute walk, the Heavenly Gondola is about 5 minutes. There are probably better hotels about but value for money this is a good deal.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davetheaddick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2009

great location. Value for money and staff were friendly. No frills hotel......... but clean and free parking. this hotel is within walking distance of the CASINOS, BARS, HEAVENLY MOUNTAIN & RESTURANTS.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NLBLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Sutton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2009

We loved this place from the first glance,great location.
Check in was fast friendly & efficient,our room was absolutely superb,although I was glad that we were in a ground floor room as the stairs to the first floor rooms looked a bit severe to be hauling 2 large cases up(there was no elevator in our building),we even had a small kitchen area with sink,fride & microwave.
There are indoor & outdoor pools & jackuzzis,we only tried the outside one,it was quite superb with trees providing shade from the sun if required.
Breakfast(hot & cold) is included & was good with quite a variety which was constantly being topped up.
The hotel is close to the state line so that the Casinos are in walking distance,as is the lake & numerous shops & eateries.
Our only complaints were that on our last night thwere was a lot of noise from the room above & that we were not there long enough,we'll hopefully put that right next year!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank a1snaefell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
somerset
Level Contributor
129 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2009

We stayed here beginning of June when it was the 'most beautifull Bike ride in USA' there was quite a lot of noise when we were first given a room when I explained we would like to have somewhere a bit quieter, we were given another room instantly. We need not have worried it was as we wanted and a very good breakfast was included in the price. We stayed here and viewed the beautiful Lake Tahoe area, AWSOME. We managed to leave here leaving our camera behind, yep, having a few senior moments on this trip!!! This was once again found and then Fedex onto our next destination, needless to say Holiday Inn, Kanab Utah. Where does this Hotel chain find its fabulous staff. Many thanks

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosieSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.2 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#4 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
1.2 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#13 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#15 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Station House Inn
Best Western Station House Inn
#11 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe

Property: Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe
Address: 3961 Lake Tahoe Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-8907
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#19 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express, South Lake Tahoe is centrally located on Hwy 50, nestled in the heart of South Lake Tahoe. Getting here is fast and convenient too. We are the ideal place to enjoy fresh mountain air, beautiful scenery and natural landscaping. The Holiday Inn Express is just minutes from Lake Tahoe, Nevada Stateline Casinos, Skiing, Horseback Riding, Shopping, Movie Theaters, Boat Cruises, and so much more! Our facilities include an Seasonal Outdoor Pool and Spa. Our Indoor Spa and Sauna Room is currently being renovated, until June 2016. We are a completely Smoke-Free facility. Our hotel features include Complimentary Express Start Breakfast, Free Wi-Fi Internet Access and Local Phone Calls. You are close to Restaurants and Night Life yet amid graceful Pine Trees. Visit South Lake Tahoe, CA and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, IHG, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Holiday Inn Express Lake Tahoe
Holiday Inn Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing