We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location, Fair Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe
Ranked #21 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Location, Fair Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2010

This is actually the second time I've stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in South Lake Tahoe. I spent a few nights there back in 2006 I believe. It was good then and things have not really changed. Last month I stayed there for the second time. I arrived with my girlfriend at the Holiday Inn well before 10am and the hotel manager was nice enough to let us check inn at that time. The room was quite spacious - particularly the bathroom, which took up about 1/4 to 1/3 of the unit. The bed was quite comfortable. The spa/sauna room was decent as well.
As other people have mentioned, the location is exceptional - 5min walk from the Heavenly Gondola and 10-15min walk from the casinos. Breakfast was okay...nothing to write home about. Overall, great place to stay. Sure, one could probably search out a cheaper place, but you can't really beat the location - especially if you decide to consume one or many drinks at the casino(s).

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emanifesto2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    200
    50
    12
    9
See reviews for
143
148
20
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northborough, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
500 reviews
167 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2010

We just finished a 13 day stay. The location is very good, it is a 10 minute walk to and from the gondola with ski boots on, five minutes with regular shoes, Restuarants are two to ten minutes away, casinos are about 10 -15 minutes walk.

The rooms are very nice, very clean, modern and in good repair. Nice grounds.

The free breakfast is very good, Good selection of breads and sweet rolls and donuts. Every day they have eggs, either scrambled or cheese omlets, bacon or sausage patties every day, always biscuits and sausage gravey, yougurt, and fresh fruit..

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BostonSkier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2010

Stayed at this hotel 2 nights and found it very nice. The reception staff were pleasant and willing to help with anything we needed. The room was clean, modern looking and a nice size.

The only thing I did not care for was the breakfast. Nothing really appealed to my wife and I but its rare to find a good breakfast. I would not let that stop anyone from staying there.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy2560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2010

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. It was quite, the room was a decent size and very clean, along with the bathroom which had plenty of room and was very clean. The bed was comfortable and spacious. The room also included a refrigerator and microwave which were nice amenities. The TV could be updated, but the channels were good. The room also included breakfast in the morning to include: cereal, toast, yogurt, sausage, some sort of egg dish, and gravy. Fruit was limited. We didn't stay for the breakfast, but the location is good for choosing other dining options if you choose, not to mention Starbucks across the street. Overall, I recommend this hotel as a nice place to stay for a good price.

  • Stayed January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjohnson73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2010

My family & I stayed here for 3 nights. Perfect location, close to heavenly gondola, shopping, restraunts, and casinos. The breakfast bar had several choices including cereals, toast, donuts, bagels, yogart, scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon, juices, hot chocolate and coffee. The room was nice size, clean and quiet. They also have a large enclosed spa and coin laundry. The staff was very friendly and knowledgeable.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cali51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
82 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2009

Stayed here Dec. 2009. Hotel is walking distance to shopping, restaurants, Heavenly Lift, Casinos, grocery store etc... We were there during a snowstorm and room was comfortable and I had a feeling of being in a ski lodge. Very nice fireplace in lobby/breakfast area. While in Tahoe--we also walked though Embassy Suites which had no fireplace and seemed like a typical "cookie cutter" Embassy Suites. This Holiday Inn Express had personality. Staff were friendly and room was very clean. Refrigerator and microwave were appreciated. Bathroom in room was huge, clean, and well appointed. Hotel has nice indoor jacuzzi and sauna. I would stay here again and recommend this hotel because it was near the action- yet very quiet.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goo0325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2009

Great location, in the middle of the action yet quiet. The room is new and clean, spacious, bathroom is roomy and shiny. Just everything you need to spend the night comfortably. Breakfast buffet is just about everything you need before hit the road, simple and fast.

We changed our plan during the trip, the manager gladly refunded us the unused portion. What more can I ask for.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.2 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#4 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,044 reviews
1.2 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#13 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#15 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Station House Inn
BEST WESTERN Station House Inn
#11 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe

Property: Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe
Address: 3961 Lake Tahoe Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-8907
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#19 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express, South Lake Tahoe is centrally located on Hwy 50, nestled in the heart of South Lake Tahoe. Getting here is fast and convenient too. We are the ideal place to enjoy fresh mountain air, beautiful scenery and natural landscaping. The Holiday Inn Express is just minutes from Lake Tahoe, Nevada Stateline Casinos, Skiing, Horseback Riding, Shopping, Movie Theaters, Boat Cruises, and so much more! Our facilities include an Seasonal Outdoor Pool and Spa. Our Indoor Spa and Sauna Room is currently being renovated, until June 2016. We are a completely Smoke-Free facility. Our hotel features include Complimentary Express Start Breakfast, Free Wi-Fi Internet Access and Local Phone Calls. You are close to Restaurants and Night Life yet amid graceful Pine Trees. Visit South Lake Tahoe, CA and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, IHG, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Holiday Inn Express Lake Tahoe
Holiday Inn Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing