We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly Perfect Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stardust Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Stardust Lodge
Ranked #4 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Friendly Perfect Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

We stayed for a week in July 2012. The staff welcomed us like we were long lost relatives. The one bedroom unit was comfortable with space to spare. Space was not taken up with extras that might not be needed. But if we needed something, we only had to ask for it. Three to four organized activities are available each day for those wanting to take part. Three meals a week are available for $7.00, a real bargain. The food was great. A light breakfast of fruit, donuts, hard boiled eggs and juice/coffee/tea/hot chocolate was available every morning, even though rooms have mini kitchens. The Wednesday evening music with Frabrizio was so great we went to the sister resort to listen to him on Thursday night. Bicycles are available for Free to guests. Beach passes are also free. Finally, the location can't be beat. Startdust is located one block from the Nevada border and casinos, is directly across the street from the gondola to the top of Heavenly, and is within walking distance of "downtown" South Lake Tahoe and many restaurants. A car is not needed unless one plans to travel outside the local bus service area.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JeanOhl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorena4061, Manager at Stardust Lodge, responded to this review, 26 August 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with us! I’m so glad you enjoyed the outdoor entertainment, without having to go to the casinos. Please, call us when you are heading back up to Tahoe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

961 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    730
    160
    45
    12
    14
See reviews for
370
337
34
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2012

Great service and extremely helpful staff. They go out of their way to provide local information and a comfortable stay. Their activities such as BBQs and entertainment events are well done. Both pools and spas are clean and well kept. Our room was a studio and was quite small but I have never seen anything so well done in arranging the available space and room appointments. The wall bed was surprisingly comfortable and all the new fixtures and appointments were first class. It is quiet and we never heard noise from those above or next to us. It is close to the beach, shopping, the gondola and grocery store. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a remodeled room on the back side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ajphoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorena4061, Manager at Stardust Lodge, responded to this review, 26 August 2012
Thank you for staying with us and commenting about how much fun you had. I’m glad you enjoyed the BBQ, and had such a great night sleep; we pride ourselves on the comfort of our beds. We look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cockeysville, Maryland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2012

We stayed July 28-29, 2012 too! We only intended to stay one night, but were enjoying ourselves so much that we decided to stay another night. The room was not available for the 2nd night, so we decided to go ahead and switch rooms. The staff was extremely accomodating our requests. Both rooms were studios and had been recently renovated. The room has a murphy bed -- sofa by day and bed by night which was remarkably comfortable. A kitchenette with a dishwasher, frig and sink. Nice flat screen HD TV. Immaculate. The bathroom in the first room had a beautiful walk-in shower (the 2nd bathroom was smaller). We were amazed at the high quality materials used throughout the room. All of the staff are very friendly and work tirelessly to maintain the property. An easy walk to the casinos. We also visited the free beach and enjoyed lunch at a little cafe there. We borrowed the bikes and took a nice bike ride on the extensive trail systems around South Lake Tahoe. I did a couple of loads of laudry (free -- just purchase soap in the office for 75 cents) I laughed when I read the other review ... my words exactly ... from the street it looked very retro ... but I was pleasantly surprised! An excellent value! I would stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorena4061, Manager at Stardust Lodge, responded to this review, 6 August 2012
Thank you so much for leaving feedback about your stay with us at the Stardust. We would have loved for you to stay longer too! Call us when your ready to come back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chico, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

Stayed July 28-29, 2012. We really enjoyed our room #206. Has a big frig, one big bed and a hide-a-way bed. 2 TV's one in bedroom area and one in main room. Very clean. You can bring your own meats and use the BBQ's on outside patio. They serve free donuts and coffee in mornings, they have a computer in coffee room where you can check emails. Only a five minute walk to casinos (Harvey's). We used the free beach pass, which was a very nice beach area where you can rent paddle boards/boats and has a small restaurant too. You can also rent umbrellas and chairs down at the beach (we brought our own) You can also use the hotels bikes (looks like a nice variety of bikes) and they have free washing machine and dryer (I think it's free?) Across the hotel was a huge shopping area and Heavenly's Gondola is in this shopping area. This hotel is a little retro on first impression, but our room was very modern.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KKAAtrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorena4061, Manager at Stardust Lodge, responded to this review, 26 August 2012
I am so pleased you enjoyed all our free amenities including the breakfast and the computer. Sounds like you truly had a wonderful trip. Hope to see you soon again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, Washington
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012

We arrived on July 15, 2012 and were met by a very friendly staff. We stayed in room 204, and it was a beautiful one bedroom unit with nice furnishings. I really liked the pictures that decorated the rooms. The bathroom had a really nice double cobblestone shower. There was a flat screen tv in the bedroom and the living room. This resort is walking distance to almost everything. We took the Dinner Cruise (took the shuttle), and went to see Alex Ramon in Illusion Fusion (a must see performance). We enjoyed waking up and having the free breakfast that the resort provided. We walked down to Chevy's Mexican restaurant, which was great. We enjoyed the free barbecue that the resort provided one day, and the activities that they provided. They also had free dvds to check out. There is a street market next to the Horizon Casino that was fun shopping at. We enjoyed walking down to the private beach access that the resort provided for Lake Tahoe. We rented a Sea-Doo to get to experience the beautiful clear blue lake. What a fantastic vacation!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smcdonn634
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorena4061, Manager at Stardust Lodge, responded to this review, 6 August 2012
I’m so glad you enjoyed your stay! Look forward to seeing you soon again and don’t hesitate to call us when you are ready to book your next reservation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Lake Tahoe
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

What a disappointment; our small 1 bedroom was filled with 80's decor (brass, dusty rose) and most walls were mirrored! Not like the photos on the website. The staff was friendly.
This place desparately needs an update! Full size refrig should be downsized to counter height to provide more counter space. The second pool was closed for much of our stay; another disappointment. It would have been nice to get away away from the noise of the busy road while being pool side.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank teapotfran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorena4061, Manager at Stardust Lodge, responded to this review, 6 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment about your experience and stay with us at the Stardust. We will look into how to create more counter space but thank you for letting us know. So don’t hesitate to stay with us in the future . Please come back and visit us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

The customer service was awesome. The rooms were clean. The location was perfect. We had a fabulous time. We will definitely returning to this great find.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Teresa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Stardust Lodge, responded to this review, 29 June 2012
Sounds like you had a blast with us! Come back and see us soon in your next visit to Tahoe!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
1.4 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#14 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
0.8 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#7 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
0.5 mi away
Americana Village
Americana Village
#6 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stardust Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stardust Lodge

Property: Stardust Lodge
Address: 4061 Lake Tahoe Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6905
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#2 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#6 Best Value Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stardust Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TravelClick, Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Stardust Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stardust Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Stardust Hotel Lake Tahoe
Stardust Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing