We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what you expect on first sight but a lot better”
Review of Stardust Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Stardust Lodge
Ranked #4 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
newcastle
Level Contributor
105 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Not what you expect on first sight but a lot better”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

On first sight seems like a routine small motel but do not be downhearted it is very good.
The reception was first class and the young man gave us a choice of rooms and we were not disappointed with our room which was on the first floor and overlooked the face the main road.It was far enough away not to be bothered by noise so very peaceful nights followed.The bedroom was a good size and all the amenities well supplied so that it was very easy to prepare own meals when required.The BBQ's on the roof of the main building were also good.
The fruit and donuts supplied for a light breakfast were fine and available but not sure what would happen if it was very busy as it is first come first served so be a careful in the high season.
There were activities on most days if required but we only enjoyed one which was the one man singer on the Thursday who was quite fun.Bring your own fun drink however as that supplied was not the best.
The location is ideal as within walking distance of all the good shops and restaurants as well as the lift to the mountain which we did not get to use as it was closed for maintenance,a shame.
Overall a good base for touring the area and ability to relax at the end of the day.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shakeyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,059 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    819
    165
    48
    12
    15
See reviews for
412
363
41
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed here over the memorial day weekend. The prices were sky highand for the price the rooms were tiny.Good stay for a couple.They provide all utensils for you to cook. I found the place cute.But as other reviewers have mentioned it is tiny but it wasn't much of a big deal. For me cleanliness was of utmost importance and I found it to be very clean.There is no air conditioning but it will not be a prob if you visit at this time of year or during cooler seasons.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aditi30d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 25 May 2014

These people are great! We had a few hiccups during our first night but the helpful, friendly staff fixed everything we needed. Great property location, newly remodeled rooms and very clean. Awesome. Gondola right across the street. Shops and grocery store is right across the street so it it easy to cook simple items in your own room, Table tennis and bicycles available. All good stuff.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

My husband and his niece & her family stayed here last year and enjoyed it so much, he and I decided to stay here this past week. Our room was SO nice - we were in a 1-bedroom with a very comfortable king bed, fully furnished kitchen and flat screen televisions in living room & bedroom. It was beautifully furnished and very clean. All staff, from Jose at the Front Desk who checked us in, to Jesse who was a great tour guide on a walk to the Van Sickle Trail, were friendly and accommodating. They have lots of activities each day, bicycles available to ride as well as a heated pool & spa. The location is perfect for walking to nearby shops & restaurants...and Starbucks! You will NOT be disappointed when you stay at Stardust Lodge!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eculver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Had a 2-week stay here in March, and everything was terrific. The recently renovated rooms are spacious, tasteful décor, have all the mod-cons. I had a 1-bedroom with very comfortable king bed, plenty of cupboards, sofa and table/chairs in living area. TVs in both rooms. The kitchen has large fridge, full dishwasher, microwave, stovetop, large sink, and marble benchtops - similarly, the bathroom is tastefully renovated, again with marble bench, large mirrors, good lighting, excellent shower.

The rooms were very clean, maintained well daily with fluffy white towels, bed made, room cleaned etc. Complimentary washing machines and dryers downstairs were ideal for a longer stay as I had. Breakfast of doughnuts, fruit, hard-boiled eggs, coffee, tea, etc was a quick and easy start to each day.

The location is excellent - central to shops, restaurants, boutiques etc, two blocks from large supermarket - easy walking - and across the road from gondola.

Kenny the manager was wonderful - thanks for helping to make this ski holiday such a memorable and wonderful trip. Hoping to return to the region in a couple of years and plant to return here.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saz Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Cerrito, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Rooms are very clean. Staff is more then helpful. Great continental breakfast and don't have to hunt for a restaurant for breakfast. It was a great stay. There are bicycles available for rides in the area and also an exercise room.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great. Do not hear the road traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sschmeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Desert, California
1 review
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We can not begin to tell you what a wonderful place this was. The property is located in great area and is close to walk to casinos,lake, shopping, Starbucks and restaurants. It was located in a quaint area and we still were able to experience the entire town. They had many activities planned if you would like to participate. The pool was warm and the hot tub was perfect and therefore we were able to enjoy the day time weather and later in the evening under the stars
We felt like this was a 2nd honeymoon for us. The staff was outstanding, Kenny the manager and Jan the CEO made us feel like family. We were surprised that the staff ,Karla,Sydney,Cindy, and Troy always addressed us by our names and asked if we needed anything. We want to thank all of you for your hospitality and helpfulness because this was one of our most memorable vacations in 20 years. Linda and Paul Jones

Room Tip: The entire property was well maintained and they are still working to improve things. Our room was V...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#10 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
871 reviews
1.4 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#13 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
885 reviews
1.1 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#7 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
455 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,070 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#15 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stardust Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stardust Lodge

Property: Stardust Lodge
Address: 4061 Lake Tahoe Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6905
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#2 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#5 Best Value Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stardust Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Stardust Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stardust Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Stardust Hotel Lake Tahoe
Stardust Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing