We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two weeks in Heaven”
Review of Stardust Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Stardust Lodge
Ranked #5 of 65 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We spent the last four weeks in our time share at the Stardust. This is our 7th year in a row to vacation there and we absolutely love the resort.
In addition to the incredible location across from the Heavenly lift and the ability to walk to all the entertainment venues what makes this place TOP is the staff.
Starting with the manger Kenny, the desk crew: Kate, Emily, Montse, Maria, and Jose, the reservation manager Delores, the maintenance crew: Ernulfo Sr. And Ernulfo Jr. and the cleaning crew. These people are excellent at welcoming you and making you feel at home.
We have the option to trade our weeks and go to another location; but over the last seven years we have never done so.
We love the Stardust and can't wait to come back next year.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Camille T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,150)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

847 - 853 of 1,150 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2014

We were extremely surprised by this hotel. Obviously remodeled and tastefully done, the room had a comfortable feel. We had just got married the night before and decided to stay one more night. We found this hotel and immediately felt welcome. The Activity Center (Victor!) set us up with beach chairs, an umbrella, free beach pass, a complimentary bottle of wine and bikes. We wished we had found it sooner. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Char F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Our first family vacation was so much fun at this motel. The staff was amazing. Yes the rooms are warm, but the fans and ceiling fans helped a lot. And it is tahoe so we didn't spend that much time in the room. The pools were fun and our family had a great time. We will be back!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank staciefo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

I have to say the decor and cleaniness of the rooms are great but unfortunately thats where it stops. The lodge advertises itself as having temperature control which you would assume meant A/C but no it meant fans. You cannot control the temperature by using fans? The room was seriously uncomfortable at night and we didn't sleep a wink due to the heat. Secondly there was meant to be free wifi. When we tried to sign up it wouldn't work. We went to reception and they told us that WE needed to ring an external provider in order to fix it. We did so and were promised that it would be fixed the following morning at 8am, this did not happen. The only area we had wifi was in the courtyard but for the duration of the holiday we had no wifi in our room which made it difficult when we wanted to go somewhere we would have to go up to courtyard in order to get some coverage. Lastly we tried to speak to a manger from the second day and left a message with staff to get in contact with us when he came in. This never happened after several attempts during our stay approaching the front desk to speak with someone. We are never coming back again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank 673Karen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Thanks to TA for changing its three dot designation from "good" to "average". Otherwise I would have had to give this "two". It's really about 2 1/2, but it's not "poor". I still think two should be "fair" and one "poor." What's the difference between poor and terrible, anyway? The lack of a/c is a major problem. Our upstairs, west facing room must have been about the same temp as the air outside when we checked in late in the afternoon, over 85 for sure. The fans did no good. I had stayed there before in one of the few rooms with a/c. For two hundred bucks (including tax) for a one bedroom "luxury suite" (more on that later) it's reasonable to expect a/c. They were prepared to offer us a refund but also gave us the option of taking a comparable room downstairs that had been earmarked for someone else. (My sympathies to whoever that was). Since we didn't feel like packing the car back up and driving two hours back home, we accepted. The wall a/c cooled off this room, which wasn't as hot to begin with, fairly quickly. The unit was quite clean. They do the best with what they have. But don't be fooled by the pix on line, which make the rooms look much larger than they are. The "living room" was about 180 sf, not including the serviceable two burner stove, microwave, decent sized refrig and sink. The one bedroom was smaller than a large closet. Nice bathroom, large shower but no tub. Some of the other guests were a bit loud but not too bad; not like others have commented on. If you can insist on and receive a back facing unit with a/c, I guess it's not too bad a deal but don't be misled by the stellar reviews.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dscgolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

I stayed at the stardust lodge with my 8 year old daughter and the staff was amazing. Knorval went above and beyond with keeping the kids entertained and erin and kate were great coordinators on keeping everything runnung smoothly great place and i would highly recommend them.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mindiac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We came up to Lake Tahoe during the high season without a reservation anywhere. We walked into the Stardust and met Kenny and it was the beginning of a great vacation!

The entire staff could not have been nicer or more accommodating. The first night we were lucky enough to stay in a beautiful 2 bedroom - 2 bath suite. It included 2 full bathrooms, one has a huge jacuzzi tub. It also had a gorgeous fully updated kitchen along with a fireplace, living room, and a huge porch with BBQ.
The second night we stayed in two separate room equally just as nice.
The lodge gave us free bikes to use, a bottle of wine for a friend's birthday along with some warm delicious cookies! Breakfast is also on the house!
There are two really nice pools and lots of fun activities. The location can not be beat! You can walk everywhere! The staff is so friendly. They even helped us get discount tickets for activities like boat rides etc.

We can not recommend this place high enough!! We will definitely be back. Thanks Kenny, Jacob, Jose and the rest of the staff for a great time!

Room Tip: All of the rooms we stayed in were updated and clean. If you are traveling with 4 or more people I w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 146barbaraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#8 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
913 reviews
0.5 mi away
Americana Village
Americana Village
#6 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
405 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#9 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#11 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,128 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#13 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
219 reviews
1.1 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stardust Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stardust Lodge

Address: 4061 Lake Tahoe Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6905
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#2 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#4 Best Value Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range: £100 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stardust Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Stardust Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stardust Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Stardust Hotel Lake Tahoe
Stardust Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing