We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, excellent resort, mediocre rooms”
Review of Stardust Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Stardust Lodge
Ranked #4 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Perfect location, excellent resort, mediocre rooms”
Reviewed 22 February 2009

I LOVED the Stardust!! From the amazing 50's-era sign to the perfect location (you walk across the street to the chair lift for Heavenly ski resort) to the ultra-friendly staff, this place is unbelievable. It is in the heart of Lake Tahoe, within walking distance to shopping, eating, and drinking -- but with everything the Stardust has to offer, there's really not much reason to leave the facility. The staff has activities (ie: karoake, etc.) planned every night, or, if you prefer, you can borrow movies from the office and watch them in your room. There is a popcorn machine and candy in the lobby if you need a midday snack, and in the morning there were donuts, hot chocolate, coffee, boiled eggs, and fruit to get you started on your day of skiing. There is a great outdoor jacuzzi in which to rest your weary limbs after a hard day on the trails. I can't say enough good about the Stardust. The rooms, however, are a little old and tired. With people coming in and out day after day with dirty snow boots on, it's to be expected that the carpets in the rooms would not be the cleanest -- but there are ski racks provided in each room. The bed was a Murphy bed (which I thought was totally cool), so there was plenty of space in our little "apartment" when it was folded up. We had a kitchenette, a kitchen table, and a couch. The bathroom was roomy enough and plenty clean. If you need a place to stay that's not too fancy but has ample friendliness and a perfect location, choose the Stardust. I would definitely return every time I go to Lake Tahoe. The sign is what attracted me in the first place, but the staff is what will draw me back.

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elizarenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,069 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    828
    165
    49
    12
    15
See reviews for
416
366
41
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, California
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 324 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2009

This is our new favorite place in Tahoe. The location, the staff, the accomodations..and, oh yeah, the cat, Dusty!

Upon check-in, we were greeted by the friendly staff. With our keys, we were given information packets of Tahoe happenings, along with razors, gum, etc. Fun!

The lobby has popcorn, donuts, coffee and fruit all day, or at least while it lasts. In the morning, continental breakfast is held in activity room next to front pool: included hard boiled eggs, fruit, donuts, coffee, yum!

We had a studio with a Murphy bed pulldown. The room was immaculate. Small "kitchen" with microwave, blender, toaster, fridge, dishes.

The bathroom had a 2 person shower which we loved! Plenty of nice towels as well.

Plenty of storage for clothes as well. Had a small little table and chairs, along with a sleeper couch for a possible 3rd person.

The office loans out DVD's for your use, huge library to pick from. Got movies with some popcorn, yeah!

Directly across from Heavenly Gondola, the location is absolutely prime. Can walk to casinos, shopping, the Gondola (even in ski boots, it's an easy walk).

Got a great deal on Expedia for Super Bowl weekend which made this little gem even sweeter. It is an vacation-owner facility, but no purchase speel was given to us. We left wanting to be an owner.

2 hot tubs and 2 pools, both heated (back pool being worked on, so not open). Even have "adult only" times for hot tubs and pool, which is nice for parents on a weekend getaway.

Last, but not least, Dusty the cat! What a cutie. Just cruises around the place, will come into your room if the door is open. Sleeps on his bed in the office. Gives the place such a homey feel.

Do not hesitate to stay here. We had a blast!

  • Liked — The location, the staff, the room, everything!
  • Disliked — Having to leave.
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BabsSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 January 2009

We stayed at the Stardust during the holiday week between x-mas and new years 2008. The room rate we paid was $175/nt which is higher than the average but was to be expected given the holiday season.

The main objective for our trip was a snowboarding vacation in South Lake Tahoe. This little hotel was in a great location on the main drag though south lake tahoe and into stateline Nevada close to the casino's.

The location of the Stardust was the main selling point for us. This place is within walking distance to all the shopping and dining options you can ask for in South Lake Tahoe (souvineers, groceries, fast food, sit down dining are all within a 5 minute walk of this place!) Also, the location of the Stardus is directly accross the street from the Heavenly resort Gondola. This make is very easy to put on all our gear and within 2 to 3 minutes you are riding up the mountain gondola to the slopes.

The staff at the Stardust was extremely friendly and very helpful with all our questions. The gave us a discount on their wireless internet (only paid $10 for the entire week instead of the quoted $10 per day!!) and they sold discounted lift tickets to all the ski resorts we hit during the week (Heavenly, Sierra, Kirkwood).

The Stardust does offer a modest contentinental style breakfast each morning with a variety of fuit, donuts, juice and coffee. The outdoor heated hot tub and pool were open each evening but not many people braved the 20 degree tempratures at night to enjoy.

The rooms at the Stardust are not you typical hotel rooms. First, there is a kitchenette with a microwave, sink, full complement of utensils and flatware along with a toaster, coffee maker and fridge. Also, the rooms come standard with a Murphy bed that folds out of the wall. With the bed down, there walking space in the room is tight, but with the bed up, there is plenty of room to move about. Additionally, there was a small dining table with two chairs and one small sofa near the door. Ths size was just right for the two of us, however I could see it getting crowded for more than two people.

The only negative comment we have about the room is the bathroom shower drain was very slow and we reported it to the front desk upon our exit from the hotel. Also, the parking situation is very tight in the main hotel area in front of the rooms. There were a couple nights we had to park on the backside of the building which was not a big deal as it only took a minute to walk around the building to our front door.

All in all, given the great location and friendly staff, we would definately stay at Stardust again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Slow bathroom drain
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jryder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clarksville
1 review
Reviewed 10 December 2008

The Stardust Lodge was the perfect place for us to stay during our visit to South Lake Tahoe. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful throughout the stay and check-in.
We had an updated 1 bedroom suite which was beautifully decorated with all upgraded appliances and furniture.
It was conveniently located within walking distance of a grocery store, shops, Heavenly Ski Resort, and multiple casinos. My husband hates walking, so when I say conveniently...I mean within minutes on foot.
The continental breakfast lacked some essentials, such as breads but there was a variety of tasty donuts and limited fruits to choose from.
Overall, I would recommend this resort to other families visiting South Lake Tahoe.

  • Liked — Convenient Location
  • Disliked — No Indoor Pool
  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank crystalsfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2008

We were booked at Americanna, the Stardusts sister property. When we arrived we were told that our rooms ceiling had collapsed, and since we were the last booking (7months earlier) we were the ones to be moved. At this point I was rather discusted but had no choice but to try the Stardust. What a wonderful surprise when we arrived there, they were very accommodating. We had 5 people in our party, the rooms were very small, so they gave us 2 rooms for the same price. The staff couldn;t have been more friendly. They are about 5 blocks from the beach, and they give you an access card to the beach. They have bikes and games,books,puzzles all to borrow. They also serve a nice meal each night for only $6.00 per night. Nothing fancy but plenty of good food. They have barbeque grills for use, and nice kitchenettes. I would highly recommend this lodge for couples, or a family of 3. They said their rooms are really set up for 2 comfortably, and I agree with that. Good location too, however I did like the west side of Lake Tahoe a little better.

  • Liked — The friendly staff
  • Disliked — small rooms
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dinkybaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawaii
1 review
Reviewed 31 March 2008

We stayed in the two bedroom Moongate unit. The unit and location were outstanding. Staff is very friendly and willing to help. Can't say enough about this property. Well worth it.

  • Liked — Location, staff and cleanliness
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank gschmitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2008

We found this lodging through a friend who had stayed there at Christmas. We stayed in the 2 bedroom condo-type room in the back of the property. The decor is a little different, (there's a heart-shaped bathtub/spa) but it was in good shape and I have to say it is one of the cleanest places I have ever stayed in. All tile floors and marble, which is great when you're there for skiing. The full kitchen was very nice. Flat screen TV's in the rooms. The location can't be beat, right across the street from the Heavenly Gondola. The staff is very, very effiecent and friendly. We used the hot tubs, and one of the pools was open for swimming. The price for a group of 7 was great!! The only draw-back was that the "recreation" room was rather drab. In total, a great value.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, great staff, great price, location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank sls1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
879 reviews
1.4 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#12 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
931 reviews
1.1 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#7 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
459 reviews
0.5 mi away
Americana Village
Americana Village
#6 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
386 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stardust Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stardust Lodge

Property: Stardust Lodge
Address: 4061 Lake Tahoe Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6905
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#2 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#5 Best Value Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stardust Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Stardust Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stardust Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Stardust Hotel Lake Tahoe
Stardust Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing