We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Stardust Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe(South Lake Tahoe)(Great Value!)
US$125
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Basecamp South Lake Tahoe(South Lake Tahoe)(Great Value!)
US$137
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel(South Lake Tahoe)(Great Value!)
US$189
US$158
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
3 Peaks Resort & Beach Club(South Lake Tahoe)(Great Value!)
US$61
US$54
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa(South Lake Tahoe)(Great Value!)
US$141
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aston Lakeland Village Beach & Mountain Resort(South Lake Tahoe)(Great Value!)
US$104
US$89
Official Website
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe(South Lake Tahoe)(Great Value!)
US$147
US$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites(South Lake Tahoe)(Great Value!)
US$96
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village(South Lake Tahoe)(Great Value!)
US$131
US$81
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Landing Resort & Spa(South Lake Tahoe)
US$360
US$338
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,228)
Filter reviews
1,228 results
Traveller rating
964
180
50
17
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
964
180
50
17
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmurphy beddonutsheavenly gondolakenny suttonthe resort managerdaily activitiesactivity centerfree popcornhard boiled eggsdirectly across the streetpools and hot tubsactivity roombike rentalsyear roundfun activitieswithin walking distanceour home away from home
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,190 - 1,195 of 1,228 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2007

We stayed here towards the end of July. Well we've stayed here several times before in the winter & it's a much nicer stay in the winter. They have no A/C & it gets really hot in the rooms. The fans just didn't cut it at night, it was awful. The pools & hot tubs are really nice. They do have an exercise room. The rooms are clean & do come with a kitchenette, but they need A/C. I will not stay here in the summer again. Even the really cheap motels have an A/C. Also this time around I had a little problem with the front desk. The room we were told we would be given was given away. They made up for the problem the next day but not until a scene was made, but for the most part I will say the staff has always been accomodating there. One bad time out of I don't how many visits isn't so bad. They have a lot of activities for children if you have kids. You can walk to everything, no problem. I still love this place for the winter but I don't recommend it for the summer or anytime during the year where it's hot enough to need an A/C.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank SanFrancisco6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2007

My boyfriend and I spent springbreak (4/1 to 4/8) in S. Lake Tahoe at the Stardust, which was an adorable and convient place! It was an eventful, enjoyable vacation! For those who want to stay in, the hotel offers a great pool, hot tub, small exercise room, and planned activities everyday....such as crafts and a spaghetti dinner! We were upgraded to a one-bedroom efficiency (which was small) that contained a small kitchenette, a tiny dining area, and a small living room. I was amazed they fit so much furniture into the tiny 1 bedroom!! Overall, the room was immaculate and adorable.
Although it was a bit warm to ski the entire week, there was plenty to do and the hotel was the perfect location to do it! You name it, we did it: Walked across the street, took the gondola to the top, and skiied Heavenly for a few hours; walked 5 minutes to the Nevada border to visit the casinoes; drove the 4 hours around the lake to see the MANY breathtaking views, as well as took drives to Virginia City and Reno; went horsebackriding; drove 3 hours to San Francisco; Drove 1 hour to the 1960 Olympic village (Squaw Valley) to ski and ice skate; and took the Mx Dixie paddleboat cruise. It was a lot to do in a vacation...of which I recommend it ALL to everyone!!

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2007

Just stayed at the Stardust for a week over New Years. I was expecting the usual dumpy motel and half dead staff. Boy was I surprised. This place has perhaps the best location in town, right accross the street from the Village and Gondola, and was only a short walk to the casinos.

The rooms were nicely furnished and super clean. The staff is the best ever and it was obvious that they really care about this place. They went overboard to ensure we enjoyed our stay.

The two jacuzzis were clean and working at all times. We had a great time sitting in the jacuzzi watching the snow fall and the people walk down the street on New Years.

I usually stay at the casinos or at the Marriott. After staying at the Stardust I will never stay anywhere else. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

PS- Say hi to Dusty

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank BigAl818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2006

This lodge is a gem. Very well maintained and very clean. We enjoyed the karoke and free bike rental. Great place and close to the casinos. Directly across from the gondola.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Travelers-2-plus-2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2006

I've stayed there often due primarily to it's prime location and For the money, it can't be beat. The styling of the rooms are slightly outdated. There is no A/C and that comes into play during the very few hot days that Tahoe has, but most of the time this is an irrelevant issue as there are ceiling fans and large front windows AND Tahoe is almost always cool, particularly in the evening.
The staff is great!
I've stayed nearby at other places and have had comparitively bad experiences unless I spent much, much more or were comped by one of the casinos.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank kf2424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews