We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Ok" for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson South Lake Tahoe
Ranked #60 of 65 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Reviewed 21 August 2012

We stayed one night on a summer/August Friday. The difference in 3 vs. 2 stars is the friendly service & good intentions (facility itself is a 2). This is ok for the price (we paid $102 on a Fri. for a 2-Queen room, not bad for summertime rate).
Breakfast was never offered /mentioned to us, though I thought was supposed to be included.
Heidi's in the same parking lot a HUGE plus, but unlike other reviewers we weren't offered a discount coupon.
The spa was covered when we were there, and the pool was very very dirty (to be fair, it was windy & lots of tress around, but still...). The pool tools were broken or not usable, pool umbrellas also broken. Pool furniture and surrounding pool area extremely dirty - - just expected the pool & deck area to be clean & usable on a hot summer weekend.
The hotel was quiet - so that's a big plus.
One light fixture didn't work - and the hubby killed a small cockroach in the bathroom - yuck.
Had to show a web printout to get a web price match, even then I had to check my receipt. We got charged a $1.50 "safe charge" even tho we didn't use it & I requested ahead of time the charge be removed. Then she forgot & had to run a whole separate credit for $1.50, and transposed the numbers so it was only $1.05 credit....I know this seems picky but I couldn't tell if this is their way of tacking on extra bucks here & there, or if these are honest mistakes.
The walk to the beach was through a hot, dirty parking lot, up a side street - not exactly conveniently out the back door but not too awful either. Our room view was the back service entrance to Heidi's, where there seemed to always be a disheveled man sitting on a crate outside the back door smoking by the trash dumpster.
I suppose in a pinch we'd stay there again, if the price was right, but probably not more than 1 or 2 nights if needed.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jafrju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (556)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

497 - 503 of 556 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2012

I stayed 5 nights. The room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast and WiFi were great. The owners are friendly and very accommodating. Only a short walk to the beach. Very reasonably priced for S. Lake Tahoe.

Room Tip: Rooms on north side don't get afternoon sun.
See more room tips
Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

We had early school to go to all week and the managers made it a point to have breakfast ready 45 minutes early all week. Bravo! We will stay here again in the future. Thank you so much for all you did to make this enjoyable!

Room Tip: Sleep quality was down only from noisey all night construction in the area, not their fault at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oceanrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

The hotel is clean and the beds are comfy. We had a room with 2 queens, and there was enough room to set up the playpen for our baby. The room had a small sitting area, along with a desk, tv armoire and small fridge. The only downside to this hotel is no elevator. We had to lug all the luggage and baby stuff upstairs. The breakfast provided was small, mainly toast/pastry and coffee. However, both times we went in to get something the food and coffee were gone. Heidi's is in the same parking lot. It is local breakfast institution! The hotel has a 20% off coupon that is valid before 9:00 am, so we used that and had a great breakfast. The front desk staff was very efficient, and the housekeepers were flexible with our son's nap schedule.

Room Tip: There is no elevator, so ask for a ground floor room. Also, our 2 queen room was much larger than th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

We arrived for a 2 night stay on 20/21july. We drove from San Francisco and arrived fairly late in the evening.

Check in was fast and friendly. I asked about the wifi and the lady moved us to a stronger reception room for better signal which was a nice touch as I was planning on FaceTime my family back home in the uk.

The room was clean and spacious. Yes as other people are saying the too the rooms are a little dated with wallpaper and carpet. However, the room was more than acceptable. Bathroom was clean and shower worked great. A nice wardrobe with a room safe kept our valuables and iPad safe. Tv was good and had a fridge and coffee maker in.

Wifi reception was fantastic. Nice view of the car park but could see mountains in the distance.

Breakfast was acceptable. Doughnuts and cereals were more than adequate. Car park was safe and lit up well.

A short walk took you to a nice beach and area of the lake. We drove round most of the time but we were very impressed with this hotel and would recommend it to anyone thinking of staying.

Very pleased.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Dockers D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

We are a family of 5 with young children and we don't often get to travel and stay at hotels, too expensive. We came to Tahoe for a wedding and booked a room at HoJo because it was 3 queen beds in one room. I read the reviews and they seemed to rate this hotel ok, over a lot of other ones in the area. When we arrived, the entry way floor was wet. We figured maybe they cleaned the carpet there or something but I don't think so. The housekeeping would never have known it was wet because they don't walk around barefooted, so we let that one go. The room is not upgraded to the present. Although it looks clean, the plugs are all old fashioned. There are no wall plugs that have 3 prong. On our last morning there, we heard arching of one of the plugs, my husband said this was probably because of the wet floor and the fact that an adapter was used in the plug and so many things had to be plugged into one plug. There were only 2 plugs that were able to really be used. That was inconvenient for a family with electronic items that need to be charged, etc. Over all this place could use a real remodal. The owners are nice enough and the stay wasn't horrible. For the money, I guess you get what you pay for. It is close to a public beach but not ON the beach. Close to a restaurant, Heidi's, that has a overpriced menu.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank busymom3too
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Our recent trip was to South Lake Tahoe for the American Century Championship Golf Tournament. EVERY, EVERY accommodation in the area at least doubles their rates during this event. Howard Johnson's had what we considered affordable for the days we were staying. The G.M. Chuan was the most helpful and accommodating front desk person ever. She went out of her way to make sure things were "right" for us. We had two separate rooms and needed a pet friendly space for at least one night. NOT a problem. And contrary to others reviews, our stay was very quiet. The beach is a mere stroll away, the casinos, either a shuttle ride or a short car ride away. Yes, the place could use some updating, but somehow South Lake Tahoe gets away with solid bookings without having to do much.

Room Tip: Look at a few and then pick your favorite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coqui_coqui_jet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Lake Tahoe
1.2 mi away
Bluelake Inn at Tahoe
Bluelake Inn at Tahoe
#23 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
234 reviews
1.3 mi away
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
#32 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
271 reviews
0.1 mi away
Budget Inn South Lake Tahoe
Budget Inn South Lake Tahoe
#78 of 118 in Lake Tahoe (California)
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
National 9 Inn - South Lake Tahoe
National 9 Inn - South Lake Taho...
#41 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
20 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Trailhead
The Trailhead
#43 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
48 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn South Lake Tahoe
Days Inn South Lake Tahoe
#54 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson South Lake Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson South Lake Tahoe

Address: 3489 Lake Tahoe Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-8950
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range: £40 - £269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson South Lake Tahoe 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson South Lake Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Inn s. Lake Tahoe Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Howard Johnson Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing