We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty nice little hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson South Lake Tahoe
Ranked #58 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Northern California
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Pretty nice little hotel!”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I have never stayed at a "HoJo" and honestly hadn't heard good things about them anyway. This little gem in South Lake Tahoe was a pleasant surprise. The manager was very friendly and even gave me a partial lake view room. The room itself was updated and fairly modern. It's also located near a CVS and many restaurants. The price was very good too. I would stay here again in a heartbeat. Be sure to ask for a room in the back on the second floor... it's a bit quieter.

Room Tip: In the back of the complex on the second floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    121
    124
    84
    109
See reviews for
203
152
49
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Small room and it is an older property, but close to many sights. The advice given by the manger for renting bikes and buying discount tickets for the gondola ride to the top of Heavenly was very helpful. We also used the food discount coupons given at check in. The breakfast room was very small with not enough seating but the food choices were good for only a continental breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Rooms were clean, shower was tiny, could hardly turn around. Front desk clerk was very helpful and nice. Within walking distance to grocery store and restaurants. Continental breakfast was disappointing but there was coffee and juice, beagles, toast and muffins. The Brewery at Lake Tahoe is about a block away.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
Reviewed 6 June 2014

The manager was helpful and sincere. He gave us directions for our family to go to see a good scenic spot of the lake. The place is really beautiful. We really appreciate it. Furthermore, we greatly valued his sincere service for informing us through email that my wife dropped her ATM card in the room we stayed and asked us how to return it to us.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wichian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Valley of California
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

After driving through 6 states, in the desert, it was a pleasant experience to be back among the pines of Lake Tahoe. Everything in South Lake Tahoe seems to be squeezed close together because there is a big demand for services and only a little room to put everything. This hotel actually has another hotel between it and the lake, though we did have a view of some of the lake.

This hotel is easy to access since it's on the main road through town. It's also next door to one of our favorite restaurants in the area, Heidi's Pancake House.

The room was clean, spacious and decorated nicely and seemed to be worth the price.My wife and I are not gamblers, so we don't care about being close to the casinos.

This was a pleasant stay in a very nice area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richansen53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Lake Tahoe
0.1 mi away
Budget Inn South Lake Tahoe
Budget Inn South Lake Tahoe
#75 of 119 in Lake Tahoe (California)
58 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#11 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
995 reviews
1.4 mi away
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
#33 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Americana Village
Americana Village
#7 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
394 reviews
0.8 mi away
Econo Lodge Heavenly Village Area
Econo Lodge Heavenly Village Are...
#53 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
198 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#13 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson South Lake Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson South Lake Tahoe

Property: Howard Johnson South Lake Tahoe
Address: 3489 Lake Tahoe Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-8950
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson South Lake Tahoe 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Howard Johnson South Lake Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Inn s. Lake Tahoe Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Howard Johnson Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing