We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad costumer service” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Howard Johnson South Lake Tahoe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Howard Johnson South Lake Tahoe
Ranked #54 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Elkgrove
1 review
“Bad costumer service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

I booked a room with them using the 800 number talk to the non English speaking person that assured me that the room I wanted was available. It was the three queen in one room. So I went ahead an booked it well like 2 hrs later the management called an said that that room was not available so I called the 800 number back an told them about it they want to put me in a two queen bed with an roll away for $15 dollers less. The three queen room was $230 the two queen was $215. Like really you guys messed up but can't give us a better deal. So they did not give us a better deal so we did not end up going. Very poor costumer service an they need to let American a own these place we can under stand them when we make resavition

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill64ss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    118
    116
    70
    88
See reviews for
184
137
45
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

I have never stayed at a "HoJo" and honestly hadn't heard good things about them anyway. This little gem in South Lake Tahoe was a pleasant surprise. The manager was very friendly and even gave me a partial lake view room. The room itself was updated and fairly modern. It's also located near a CVS and many restaurants. The price was very good too. I would stay here again in a heartbeat. Be sure to ask for a room in the back on the second floor... it's a bit quieter.

Room Tip: In the back of the complex on the second floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

Small room and it is an older property, but close to many sights. The advice given by the manger for renting bikes and buying discount tickets for the gondola ride to the top of Heavenly was very helpful. We also used the food discount coupons given at check in. The breakfast room was very small with not enough seating but the food choices were good for only a continental breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Rooms were clean, shower was tiny, could hardly turn around. Front desk clerk was very helpful and nice. Within walking distance to grocery store and restaurants. Continental breakfast was disappointing but there was coffee and juice, beagles, toast and muffins. The Brewery at Lake Tahoe is about a block away.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

The manager was helpful and sincere. He gave us directions for our family to go to see a good scenic spot of the lake. The place is really beautiful. We really appreciate it. Furthermore, we greatly valued his sincere service for informing us through email that my wife dropped her ATM card in the room we stayed and asked us how to return it to us.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wichian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Lake Tahoe
0.8 mi away
Econo Lodge Heavenly Village Area
Econo Lodge Heavenly Village Are...
#52 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
3.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.1 mi away
Budget Inn South Lake Tahoe
Budget Inn South Lake Tahoe
#74 of 119 in Lake Tahoe (California)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#14 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
#30 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#15 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Trailhead
The Trailhead
#45 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson South Lake Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson South Lake Tahoe

Property: Howard Johnson South Lake Tahoe
Address: 3489 Lake Tahoe Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-8950
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson South Lake Tahoe 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Howard Johnson South Lake Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Inn s. Lake Tahoe Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Howard Johnson Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing