We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do not stay here....”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Travel Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Travel Inn
Ranked #55 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Sacramento, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Do not stay here....”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

Check-in was fine, the woman at the front desk was friendly at check-in and it was the only place where 5 rooms were available because of the celebrity golf tournament going on in South Lake Tahoe. That is the sum of nice things I have to say about this motel. Our room smelled, there was no air conditioning, NONE of the showers in our 5 total rooms were clean....they all had hairs in them when we got there, the shower curtains were moldy and some of the rooms even had dirty, used towels hanging on the back of the bathroom doors (when we called the front desk to let them know, they didn't care and actually told us to bring them the dirty towels!). One of the rooms didn't have screens so they couldn't even open the windows for fresh air. To top it off, the next morning I found this strange worm-like creature with legs in the bathroom. GROSS!!! If there were any other motels with occupancy, we would have left.

Room Tip: Pick a completely different motel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Katrina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    21
    23
    8
    42
See reviews for
18
35
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

I would not stay here again. We got here at 11:15a and our room wasn’t ready. We were told it would be ready at 1p but when we came back at 1:15p, it still wasn’t ready. We were given another room upstairs. Also, the listing on Hotels.com said it had a pool and a spa but when we arrived, neither the pool nor spa were open. The pool was empty and had plastic in it and the spa was covered in plywood. The room did not have a microwave or mini fridge and we had to throw away some left-over pizza from dinner because of that.
As for the room, it was a place to sleep. Like I said, it had no mini-fridge or microwave. If we wanted coffee in the morning, we had to go down to the tiny office. I believe the room was also a safety hazard as it did not have a smoke detector. There was also no clock in the room so we had to rely on my watch or our cell phones for the time. The towels were scratchy and the bathroom faucet leaked, getting the counter wet along with anything that was on it. The shower was small and had nowhere to put anything except on the floor. You couldn’t be too tall and use the shower. My husband is 5’6” and the shower was hitting him in the chest when it was tilted up as far as it would go.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tlkittycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these South Lake Tahoe hotels

costa blanca
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

This is a very convenient motel not far from shops and restaurants with clean rooms and clean beds which have a fridge in some of the rooms . This motel is run by a couple from India who could not have been more pleasant and helpful if they had tried , it was hot when we were there and they even brought us a fan in for us to use . The price is very good for a motel in this location ,

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road , the traffic noise does stop at night but if you want to spend ti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeanette51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sf
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

Great deal, great staff, I've stayed here more than three times, and every time the room was very clean! I'm headed back today, so what does that tell you? As far as FL beachaholic's review I think he mixed up motels (maybe he's an alcoholic as well)

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank to c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pelham, Alabama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

For our trip to Lake Tahoe, we found a nice cozy clean place for a cheap rate. We did not find anything less expensive this place. Room with one queen bed was adequate for the price we paid. The money we saved, we used to go sking and take the cruise on the lake, which were both near the motel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sumitra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

The smell of authentic Indian Cuisine was pleasant as me and my friend checked in on this Friday night to start off a weekend trip for our first time in South Lake Tahoe. It was cheap, only 40 bucks a night which of course will only get you the bread and butter hotel room, however it was the definitive reason we were able to make this trip, so I am thankful for that. The attendants were very personable and responded to our room requests curtly. There was coffee in the morning and it seemed that most rooms were full - a good sign. It was irritating however that the pillows were maxi-pad thin, like those airplane pillows, and I used my personal blanket as the pillow of choice at night. The rooms were not necessarily clean - there were dirty tiles and I tip-toed in and out of the shower. I never walked on the carpet without socks on. My friend slept in his clothes. Despite these issues of cleanliness, remember it was only 40 bucks and that's pretty darn cheap. If your on a budget like me and my friend in our mid-twenties are, then its a comparable place to crash after a day on the slopes or a long night at a blackjack table. It was a long night for us, snowing a foot+ the first night there. 3 stars.

Room Tip: Room 19's door sticks...don't worry, it's not you key, its the door. Oh, and so does the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EjC3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redondo Beach, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

Clean room. Friendly staff. Close to Heavenly and the casinos. AND there's a brewery/restaurant right next door so you can stumble home after some good grub without risking a DUI! Hope they fix the spa, tho', could use it after a long day on the mountain.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobboSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Lake Tahoe
0.1 mi away
Budget Inn South Lake Tahoe
Budget Inn South Lake Tahoe
#74 of 119 in Lake Tahoe (California)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.1 mi away
Howard Johnson South Lake Tahoe
Howard Johnson South Lake Tahoe
#56 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
3.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
0.7 mi away
Econo Lodge Heavenly Village Area
Econo Lodge Heavenly Village Are...
#53 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
3.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
No photo provided
National 9 Inn - South Lake Taho...
#45 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
1.3 mi away
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
#34 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Trailhead
The Trailhead
#46 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travel Inn

Property: Travel Inn
Address: 3536 Lake Tahoe Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-8900
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Travel Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travel Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travel Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Travel Hotel Lake Tahoe
Hotel Inn Travel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing