We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not waste your money”
Review of Travel Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Travel Inn
Ranked #48 of 65 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Reviewed 4 December 2012

Where do i start. Theres so many things wrong with this place that i may not have room to include them all.... i first booked this run down place on line for 33 dollars after taxes. When i got there they charged me 37. I had also traveled with a few people and they were going to check into another hotel as well but instead decided staying therehere was more convenient...bad idea. We asked then decided to get a room with two queens instead thinking it was going to be cheaper. Ya right. Not only did they charged another 37 dollars but they charged an extra 11 for each extra person. When we tried to cancel they refused and said..."thats your problem" no joke. The room was tiny...no microwave no refrigerator. Definately no spa and the pool was empty except for dirt and trash. At 4 in the morning people were knocking at our door and that happened three more times until 7 in the morning. They were probably checking up on us making sure there were no blow up beds so they can charge us a fee for that also. Our toilet didnt work properly and the room was smaller than my master bedroom. There was barely any walking space. I will never come back and i highly recommend you spend your money someplace else. I dont know whether its because of the indian culture or whatever but they need to brush up on their customer service skills. Looks like im not the only people not happy with my experience. I only wish i had taken pictures

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stockton_raised
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (116)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2012

i stayed here two years ago, the room we rented was amazing the king size bed felt like a cloud. me and my husband love the room 104. and would come back every six months.The heart Jacuzzi was a big plus, really set the mood for our anniversary. my husband also loved the beautiful log wood furniture.rooms are kind of small because furniture its outstanding in the suits, but is perfect for winter log cabin feel. and was nice and clean which is the scary thing to worry bout when going to rent a room, we were completely satisfied and the breakfast was great. i love me some danishes. and orange juice, my husbands English muffin and fresh coffee, perfect way to start our day and visit with the beautiful south lake Tahoe.

Room Tip: the suits are the best rooms with jacuzzis or even the two rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamela s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

I've read some of the other's reviews and I think that perspective is very important: we paid $43 for a night at the Travel Inn during a 16 day road trip. By far, this was the cheapest place we could find in the Lake Tahoe area that wasn't a campground.

The room was OK. When we closed the door I could see light entering the room through the door and door frame. There were cobwebs in the corners and so on. However, $43 isn't a lot of money for the room. I'm satisfied with what I got for the price I paid.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chris w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

We booked in for one night and wanted to extend our stay for one more night. First there was no problem to do that if we would have paid his rate (which doubeled for the weekend). We found a cheaper rate online and all of the sudden, the guy at reception was unable to keep us in the same room. He wanted us to check out the current room, wait until all has been cleaned and then move into the new one. Aparently because someone wanted to stay in exactly our room - which hasn't been the case before! He just wanted to show off and was ever so unfriendly and useless.
We cancelled and checked out after one night! Spend your money somewhere else!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Inalein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Check-in was fine, the woman at the front desk was friendly at check-in and it was the only place where 5 rooms were available because of the celebrity golf tournament going on in South Lake Tahoe. That is the sum of nice things I have to say about this motel. Our room smelled, there was no air conditioning, NONE of the showers in our 5 total rooms were clean....they all had hairs in them when we got there, the shower curtains were moldy and some of the rooms even had dirty, used towels hanging on the back of the bathroom doors (when we called the front desk to let them know, they didn't care and actually told us to bring them the dirty towels!). One of the rooms didn't have screens so they couldn't even open the windows for fresh air. To top it off, the next morning I found this strange worm-like creature with legs in the bathroom. GROSS!!! If there were any other motels with occupancy, we would have left.

Room Tip: Pick a completely different motel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Katrina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

I would not stay here again. We got here at 11:15a and our room wasn’t ready. We were told it would be ready at 1p but when we came back at 1:15p, it still wasn’t ready. We were given another room upstairs. Also, the listing on Hotels.com said it had a pool and a spa but when we arrived, neither the pool nor spa were open. The pool was empty and had plastic in it and the spa was covered in plywood. The room did not have a microwave or mini fridge and we had to throw away some left-over pizza from dinner because of that.
As for the room, it was a place to sleep. Like I said, it had no mini-fridge or microwave. If we wanted coffee in the morning, we had to go down to the tiny office. I believe the room was also a safety hazard as it did not have a smoke detector. There was also no clock in the room so we had to rely on my watch or our cell phones for the time. The towels were scratchy and the bathroom faucet leaked, getting the counter wet along with anything that was on it. The shower was small and had nowhere to put anything except on the floor. You couldn’t be too tall and use the shower. My husband is 5’6” and the shower was hitting him in the chest when it was tilted up as far as it would go.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tlkittycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

This is a very convenient motel not far from shops and restaurants with clean rooms and clean beds which have a fridge in some of the rooms . This motel is run by a couple from India who could not have been more pleasant and helpful if they had tried , it was hot when we were there and they even brought us a fan in for us to use . The price is very good for a motel in this location ,

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road , the traffic noise does stop at night but if you want to spend ti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeanette51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.9 mi away
National 9 Inn - South Lake Tahoe
National 9 Inn - South Lake Taho...
#41 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
20 reviews
0.7 mi away
Super 8 South Lake Tahoe
Super 8 South Lake Tahoe
#51 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
211 reviews
0.1 mi away
Howard Johnson South Lake Tahoe
Howard Johnson South Lake Tahoe
#60 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Bluelake Inn at Tahoe
Bluelake Inn at Tahoe
#23 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
234 reviews
2.4 mi away
Motel 6 South Lake Tahoe
Motel 6 South Lake Tahoe
#50 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
166 reviews
0 mi away
Days Inn South Lake Tahoe
Days Inn South Lake Tahoe
#54 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travel Inn

Address: 3536 Lake Tahoe Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-8900
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 65 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range: £31 - £419 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travel Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Travel Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travel Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Travel Hotel Lake Tahoe
Hotel Inn Travel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing